We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savoy Florence Delivered”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #26 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Savoy Florence Delivered”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I recently led a small group of travelers on a trip through Italy and we had the fortunate 'misfortune' of having to be rebooked at the Rocca Forte Hotel Savoy in Florence. The public areas, breakfast area, staff and rooms were stellar. They live up to the 5 Star rating both in quality and service. My only criticism of the property was the worn marble (I'm guessing it's marble, truly not an expert here) in the hallway, and the very dirty carpet/rug in the stairwell. One minor complaint (but this is the norm in Italy) is the way all the hotels configure their two doubles into a queen/king. I can always fill the middle dividing "line," but what can one do? Other than this, everything was truly tops. I take my virtual hat off to the Savoy and their excellent staff. My group raved about their rooms and their views located right on Piazza della Repubblica. Grazie and Good Job Savoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkStoryLandSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    210
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
207
475
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I loved the hotel. The room was nicely sized- CLEAN- and the bath lovely-- all of it being marble. The staff--no pretentiousness and very helpful and persistent in contacting the airlines to find my lost luggage. In fact, when the luggage arrived at the hotel--6 A.M. on a Sunday morning --2 days after I arrived--they waited until we arrived at the outdoor cafe for breakfast to tell us it was there. The staff were concerned we were sleeping in and did not want to wake us. I would stay there again and again. Oh yes, the location was absolutely ideal for walking the city. Just a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Rocco Forte Savoy Hotel in Piazza Repubblica, Florence is a very comfortable and extremely centrally located hotel. Ideal for exploring the amazing city of Florence.

The hotel is genuinely comfortable and boasts all amenities without being pretentious or ostentatious. The walk in wardrobe, the amazing marble bathroom and the superbly comfortable bed make staying at this hotel a true pleasure and indulgence. Understated luxury!

The service too is truly exemplary. Being a well seasoned traveller I tend to observe certain things which others might not notice and in the Savoy Hotel's case I noticed a lot of attention to detail by all staff - an eagerness to make one's stay comfortable, and this is truly commendable.

The only gripe that I have really and truly does not concern the hotel itself but the environs. Unfortunately breakfast on the outside terrace of the hotel was a bit of a noisy affair during our stay and this simply because of the strange fact that in the square where the hotel is located the city council seems to conduct some sort of operation of centralizing the collection of cardboard and paper to have them compressed into some sort of disposal vehicle, right in the middle of the square!

Unfortunately this is quite a noisy operation and I found it disturbing when trying to have a relaxed breakfast only after having just woken up.

Other than this nuisance, which, I repeat, has absolutely nothing to do with the hotel management, the rest of our stay at the Savoy was indeed a pleasure and, just like other travelers whose reviews I have read, I will be more than glad to stay here again!

Room Tip: A higher floor room guarantees that you don't hear the hustle and bustle in the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank issibni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just come back from three nights here. The excellent location means that once the heat starts to make you flag mid afternoon you can pop back for a much needed air conditioned siesta prior to venturing out for for more sightseeing. Excellent breakfasts and very friendly staff. I booked the
top restaurant in Florence weeks ahead with the concierge for our first night which he confirmed on my arrival. What he failed to do was confirm this the day before with the restaurant so when we arrived at Enoteca Pinchiorri on Saturday night we were not on there table plan which was quite irritating . The restaurant phoned the hotel whilst we were there to ascertain that it was not there own fault and fortunately found us a table . I received no apology from the concierge even though I spoke to him on another matter although amazingly a birthday cake arrived in the middle of our meal and the only way the restaurant could have known that my birthday fell during the following week was via passport details held by the hotel so maybe this was his subtle way of redemption !!
All in all a class act however.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank col1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel on four different occasions--and each and every experience was excellent. The location is unparalleled; the rooms are spot-on. Great walk-in closet with safe, and wonderful marble bathroom with soaking tub in most rooms. Comfy beds and linens. Great atmosphere. Like an oasis after a long day of shopping in touring in Florence. Chic and classy clientele.

Without a doubt, the BEST hotel and the BEST location in Florence. You will not regret staying at the Savoy--regardless of price. It will 'make' (instead of 'break'!) your Florence experience.

TWO thumbs up!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is recommended by American Express Platinum. The location is great with good walking access to sight seeing and shopping in Florence. You can take a good walk around, and come back to hotel for a bath then watch people walking at the square. Go out for a shot of espresso, and gelato.

Don't forget to try a unique hot chocolate here with your breakfast. I love it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturalmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here as a family July 2011.
You could not ask for a more central deluxe hotel.
The staff were great and it has the addition of having the bar and restaurant right on the Piazza della Republica. Definately tyhe pklace to see and be seen in Florence.
Everything is in walking distance. Brilliant.
Would definately stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms on far side of the poazza can be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#31 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#138 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing