We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Luxury” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallery Hotel Art

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gallery Hotel Art
Ranked #36 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location and Luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Gallery Hotel Art is spitting distance from the Ponte Vecchio in the heart of historic Florence. It features modern decor in a quiet courtyard within easy walking distance to all the major tourist sites. Our room on the top floor had a cozy seating area with high ceilings and a beautiful bathroom with separate stall shower and deep soaking tub. On the main floor is a beautiful lounge with comfortable white couches and a breakfast room. We loved our stay at this friendly hotel which always features an interesting art exhibit both inside and outside the building.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing Gallery Hotel Art for your stay in Florence.

We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay in our establishment, and we would like to thank you for sharing this experience in TripAdvisor.

We indeed appreciate all your comments, in particular those about our spacious rooms and common areas.
Of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to a future occasion to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    276
    72
    29
    4
See reviews for
139
461
35
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel has all the makings of a 5 star except for the public areas. They are nice and well appointed but not classy enough for 5 star. They staff is very nice and the rooms delightful and roomy. This hotel is 30 steps from the bridge and really convenient to the sights.

Room Tip: It is located in a quiet area so street noise was not a problem. I found the rooms a little pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judylaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank You for sharing Your experience with other Tripadvisor’s readers and we thank You for comparing with 5 star hotels.
We are always glad to help our guests and know that our efforts not only are appreciated but have also made Your stay even more pleasant.
The staff thank You for the beautiful words and hope to have the possibility to see You again in our city.

With Kind Regards,

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Gallery Hotel Art is a perfect location for walking anywhere in city center Florence. Located near the Arno River between Ponte Vecchio and Ponte Trinita this location is only a few blocks from the Uffizi Gallery and the Piazza della Signoria. Some fasinating art -- cycling theme when I was there during the UCI World Road Cycling race. A concierge promptly organized 4 dinner reservations when I learned that the race would coincide with my visit and compete with our party for restaurant and sight seeing venues. Beautifully furnished with simple modern pieces, comfortable beds with good sheets, nice sized bathrooms for Italian hotel, brisk air conditioning, good room service, and very good concierge service. And I have to add that the breakfast is wonderful: fresh fruits and juices, yummy breads and pastries, pecorino, tomatoes, scrambled eggs, cereals, and more. The breakfast is included. I would definitely choose it and recommend it for a future visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank You very much for sharing Your experience on Tripadvisor; we are glad You appreciated our hospitality and that You congratulated with us for the attention to the details, the beauty of the room, and the perfect location of which we benefit.

We are always glad to know that our guests appreciated the efforts we do each day in order to make their holiday unforgettable!

We hope we will have the possibility to welcome You again in Florence, and we will always do our best to reserve You our best service,

Best Regards,

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel with very good breakfast selection. Lovely location just beside Ponte Vecchio and 10min from Uffizi. Hotel's even has Ferregamo body lotions and shampoo. Such a lovely hotel for honeymooners or looking for a convenient location. Definitely staying there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hustla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the splendid review! We greatly look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florence!

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four days while exploring Florence and Tuscany. This was one of our favorite hotels in Italy. The changing gallery is great to look at. The hotel staff was helpful. Rooms were clean with a good size bathroom. Beds comfortable. Toiletries included shampoo, conditioner, lotion, body wash, soap, etc.

Location is great. It is super close to the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchia. It is also a short walk from the Duomo. Great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suie0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We greatly appreciate your positive feedback! We greatly pride ourselves on our location as well as our friendly staff and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel grew on us over the 3 days we stayed. Given the amazing location and overall value for money we felt a 4 rating just trumped 3.

Initially, the check in was a bit of a let down. The guy at the desk barely looked up as he checked us in, and rattled off the minimum possible information. Oh dear we thought. But things did improve. Other staff were pleasant enough, but never overly friendly at Gallery Hotel Art itself.

The bell boy helped us with our bags immediately. The tiny elevator was not a problem, and our room, while small, was very well appointed and, clean with a fresh smell. Bed was also very comfortable. We stupidly left our iPad at reception, but it was put aside (phew!) and returned to us quickly.

Breakfast was in our view great quality. You can use 2 sister hotels, one is across the Arno (it's 4-5 star hotel - Lungarno, I think.) and the small but perfectly formed terrace looks out onto the river and Ponte Vecchio. We were early, and not aware of the terrace at first, sitting as close to the main dining room windows as we could to get a view. The staff kindly asked us if we prefer to be outside - and on moving, we realised why!

The other hotel was just across the street, and the breakfast a little less formal, but the breakfast staff were even more friendly. We felt very welcome here too!

The only issue we had with the room itself was the very thin walls, but to be honest we did not encounter problems very late at night, or very early morning, so our sleep quality was not affected.
The concierge helped us get some advance museum tickets on the second day - there was a small charge, but the service was very efficient and so we felt it was worth it.

While Gallery Hotel Art does feel a little "lost" between the other two hotels in terms of service, I would still recommend it, and if I ever get a chance, would love to stay at Hotel Lungarno (where we had the great breakfast)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigutime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Gallery Hotel Arts is a solid hotel in a great location but too many missteps keep us from highly recommending it. Let’s start with the negatives. Upon check-in, guests are treated to the smell of what can best be described as raw sewage. This smell persisted on the lower level for our entire stay and was incredibly strong. The other major problem was the AC. Our room stayed at a sweltering 26 C (roughly 80 F) for the first day and a half of our visit. The staff was friendly and tried to fix the problem on several occasions (they finally fixed the AC on our second day) but it really did make our stay uncomfortable. Even though we are well aware that air conditioning in Europe is not the same as it is in America, we would expect a hotel such as this to have better AC. Our last issue was that our room was more “tired” looking than the online pictures made it appear. The carpet was worn, the walls were marked up, the bathroom tub had a big crack it in - the online pictures make this hotel look bright, modern and new, but our room did not feel like that at all.

On the bright side, our room was a nice size for European hotel, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is located close to many of the popular tourist attractions in Florence (right by the Ponte Vecchio). And despite our numerous complaints about the air conditioning, the staff was very friendly and also assisted in making several dinner reservations.
For more of my recommendations in Florence, visit my blog entry, http://chezcateylou.com/2013/07/31/florence-italy/

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel Art

Property: Gallery Hotel Art
Address: Vicolo Dell'Oro 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
#59 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are invited to vernissages of exhibitions which take place in the public areas of the hotel.Gli Ospiti sono inviati ai vernissage delle mostre allestite nelle aree comuni dell'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Fastbooking so you can book your Gallery Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Art
Gallery Hotel Florence
Gallery Hotel Art Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing