We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, stylish interior, great bar”
Review of Gallery Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gallery Hotel Art
Ranked #37 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location, stylish interior, great bar”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Right on the River Arno, next to the Ponte Vecchio, Gallery Art is close by to all the great sights of Florence. Our room was spacious with a large bathroom. Free wifi throughout the hotel, a trendy, well used, lively bar with great cocktails and free bar snacks.
Lack of English TV stations and avoid the expensive breakfast at 25 euros.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    292
    76
    29
    4
See reviews for
146
494
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This remarcable hotel is just a few steps from the Ponte Vecchio and some other interesting points in Florence. The rooms are relatively small but confortable and faultlessly clean. We were five days in Florence and we feel at home in the hotel. The staff is friendly and eager to help you in any possible way you need. The only adverse point was breakfast not included in the booking, althought at check in they offered us a reduced price of 13 euros per person and day, althought eventually we choose to have our breakfast outside as there are plenty of caffes and small bars nearby were you can seat and have a nice breakfast for small money.
The place is really quiet and for some reason we were kind of lucky as our room had some views of the Dome and the Palazzo Vecchio Tower.
We visited the Palazzo Vechio in the monumental quartier at night as this is open untill 12'00 at night and there are less people. The visit cost 6 Euro, and if you are interested in booking the "secret tour" you have to reserve it at the ticket booth for 2 more euro per person. In my oppinion this is not as interesting as the Venice secret tour for the Doge Palazzo, but it is somehow interesting specially for the visit to the upper part of the Palazzo ceiling.
If you plan to visit the Ufficci Galery, that is close to the Palazzo Vecchio, then it might be advisable to book the visit in the previous day (door number 3 in the Ufficci building) it cost 11 Euros, and there is a 4 euros fee for the reservation. You can choose the time for the visit in periods of one hour (9, 10, 11, 12..), otherwise if you book the same day you will have to queue for some time, but then you will only pay 11 Euros.
Regarding food and restaurants in Florence, we were very lucky, as all the restaurants, caffes, Pizzerias and Trattorias we used were reasonably decent and had a good quality/price relationship.
We also visited the Santa Crocce and the Cathedral Dome, not as tourists but we attended the Mass (as we are Christians), so we could feel this sacred sites not as an attraction but as a place for reflection and oration, that is more adecuate from our point of view.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMORENO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from spending several nights at the Gallery Art Hotel and I feel compelled to let others know that by far, hands down this is one of the best hotels in Florence! Even before we arrive the staff at the front desk and concierge (Sabrina and Milo) were always prompt in answering emails and confirming our itinerary.
The hotel is located steps from the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio. Upon arrival we were immediately attended to and checked into a beautiful room which was clean and spacious. We were there celebrating our one year anniversary and so awaiting us in the room was a complimentary bottle of champagne and some snacks.
The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable and helped us book reservations and gave great dinner recommendations.
Our rooms were always immaculate and clean. The look and feel of the hotel is very modern. The breakfast buffet was always a fresh assortment of fruit, baked croissants and brioches, mozzarella, tomato, juices, etc. The staff was always happy and smiling. This hotel is top notch. Located across the street is their sister property the Continentale hotel which also looked very nice and on the side the Lungarno Suites.
The hotel is within walking distance to the Uffizi (5-6 minute walk), Duomo (15minute walk) and Academia (18-20min walk).
Will definitely intend to return to this hotel in the future. We plan on doing a wine tour of Tuscany in the near future and will be using this as our base. This place is nothing short of perfection, I highly recommend it!
Thanks Gallery Hotel Art for the exceptional service and a memorable anniversary experience.

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with a view and balcony facing Arno. Wished we had done this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvl_Prncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I'll highly recommend this hotel and will return again.

I spent 3 weeks in Italy in total, including 2 in Florence; I have to say that the staff here are friendly and genuinely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgnhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The penthouse suite, thats what you want, 2 floors, private terrace with great view, we did not see the rooms so we can not judge, but pretty sure they are great, the whole hotel decor is amazing, and it does not have that tacky feel of the regular Florentine hotels, great food, lovely outdoor restaurant, its refreshing modern hotel in a city that is full of antique hotels, what can one say, it is florence at the end and it is a great hotel in a great city

Room Tip: ask for the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Loved my stay at the Gallery Hotel Art, the staff took such good care of me, perfect location, great week in this fabulous city. Looking forward the next trip to Florence and stay at the Galley Hotel Art. Thanks for the incredible service.

Room Tip: Deluxe is the way to go, 7th floor for me...the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNUDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was a bit hesitant in choosing this hotel in view of the rather mixed reviews on TripAdvisor. However, I'm quite happy to say that the overall experience was quite satisfactory, though there could be areas for improvement of course.

First, the location - perfectly situated just next to the Ponte Vecchio and within a quiet almost cul-de-sac. No parking at the hotel so if you drive, be prepared to have your car parked in a garage which you can recall for anytime. The current fee is 38 Euros per day.

The hotel is essentially a boutique hotel, created by the Ferragamo family. They also own and operate the rest of the hotels under the Lugarno brand. I visited one of the other hotels which is just across the road from the Gallery Hotel Art - Continentele. Both have similar styles and fittings and furnishings in the rooms. Essentially very modern and comfortable, with high quality materials and of course Ferragamo toiletries, beddings and towels. Flat screen TV was large. If you stay on the top floor, you may get a lovely view of the top of the Duomo or the City Hall Tower. Both are beautiful at night.

A disappointing bit is that none of the rooms have Wifi Internet access. So if you want Wifi, you need to use it in the lobby area.

Breakfast was reasonably good, though the selection of food was limited.

Room prices are generally expensive, but then most of the good hotels in Firenze are too. I previosuly stayed at the Davanzati Hotel, which is a lot cheaper but does not have the luxurious feel of the Galley Art Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#43 of 411 in Florence
856 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#13 of 411 in Florence
1,203 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,747 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel Art

Property: Gallery Hotel Art
Address: Vicolo Dell'Oro 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
#59 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are invited to vernissages of exhibitions which take place in the public areas of the hotel.Gli Ospiti sono inviati ai vernissage delle mostre allestite nelle aree comuni dell'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gallery Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Art
Gallery Hotel Florence
Gallery Hotel Art Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing