We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Great nights in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #64 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two Great nights in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hotel Hermitage is centrally located and easy to walk to surrounding sights. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had requested a river view and the room was as expected with a nice view. Breakfast was included and was very good with a nice variety. Rooftop deck was a nice place to relax after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    220
    40
    13
    4
See reviews for
130
290
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We loved the roof top, you can get great pictures up there. One of our rooms could have used some updating in the bathroom but other than that it was a great place. Everyone working there was very helpful. The rooms weren't ready when we got there but they held our bags for us and tried to get them ready as soon as possible. We also accidently clicked on fruit basket in room when we were making reservations so there was one in one of our rooms. It was delicious and cheap.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in August and found it to be the perfect location. It is a little difficult to find the first time. Fortunately our taxi driver dropped us off in front of the entrance. (It is less than 10 euros for a taxi to/ from the train station, except late at night). Once you know where the entrance is, it is very easy to find, right above a Cafe and Gelato shop!
The views from the terrace are amazing! The rooms are nice with updated bathrooms, just make sure you request one with a new A/C unit when you make your reservation. Our first room (415) had an old unit that barely put out cool air and had an extremely warm bathroom. After one miserable night we requested a room change and were moved to 205. What a difference!
The location is great and we were easily able to walk to everything.
It is in the city, so expect city noises no matter what side of the hotel you are on.

Room Tip: Request a room with a newer A/C unit if going in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bren n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here in July and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated with painted furniture and fabric covered walls that were just perfect for the location. We had two rooms in our own little corner with windows overlooking the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio.

Breakfast was delicious, and served either on the rooftop garden ( which was really too hot in July), or a sunny, air conditioned room below.

Communication was excellent before our stay and they were very helpful making dinner reservations and reserving museum visits. Warm, friendly staff from the front desk to the restaurant-- we loved this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joidevivre29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fantastic location literally beside the Ponte Vecchio along with fantastic views from a beautiful roof terrace and incredibly warm and helpful staff make this the best choice for exploring Florence. Bridgette and her staff were nice and even printed out all my museum vouchers and had them ready when I arrived. I messed up and was late checking out my last day and she still couldn't have been nicer and more understanding. This is a real gem in Firenze for sure!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms that open directly onto the terrace are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_NYC_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed at the Hermitage while visiting Florence on holiday. It was a little difficult to find at first (tucked away on a side street just off Ponte Veccheo), and once inside you have to take a lift up to the main reception area. However, the hotel itself was lovely. The rooms were very clean and the whole building was very traditional. The breakfast area was lovely, and the staff at reception were very helpful and friendly. My favourite part of the hotel was the roof terrace - it afforded a great view of Florence and of the bridge, and was a great spot to sit and relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nb12345318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

A really neat hotel with a great location within 50 feet of Pont Vecchio. A rather nondescript entrance but once inside a very nice with a friendly staff and a filling and good breakfast.
A top floor deck/patio with great views of the Arno river and views to the south.
Close to all shopping and historic sites as well as Uffizi Palace.
David M

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#68 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Property: Hotel Hermitage
Address: Vicolo Marzio 1 | Piazza del Pesce, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#81 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing