We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlooking Ponte Vecchio!”
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #76 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2012

talk about location, location, location, this unpresumptious (from the outside) looking hotel, is awesome on the inside. make sure you look out the window on the second floor, as a beautiful little window frames the Duomo. the rooftop patio overlooks the Ponte Vecchio. Ask for a room that overlooks the bridge, no extra charge if it's available. delicious breakfast, very helpful staff, they booked all our museums for us. Secure, locked at 10 pm. Make sure you have your exterior key. oh yes, and all the rooms are furnished with antiques.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gigicleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 625 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated- the bedroom had a fantastic view over the river . Staff could not be more helpful, and the breakfast was really good.
Bedrooms and bathroom were small but well appointed.
A real discovery- would recommend this hotel without question.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aac2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

All these positive reviews from experienced Tripadvisors can't be wrong. Hotel Hermitage has a fantastic location, but it doesn't disappoint on its service either!

For the location alone - literally less than 100 yards from the Ponte Vecchio - I'd suggest you give it some serious consideration for your first visit to Florence. It was my fifth visit to Florence and I wondered why I hadn't stayed there before. The hotel makes it so easy to access the Uffuzi, the great restaurants and shopping both north and south of the Arno (check out the women's boutique Marcel just before Piazza Pitti and La Badia shoe store just east of Piazza Signora).

From the late hour we checked in at the hotel - the service was always prompt and courteous. Do keep in mind, however, that this is not a 5 star hotel -- this is more similar to a bed & breakfast. So in some ways the service is more personal (such as asking for a late night drink from the honor bar after arrival) and in other ways, less "full" service (they won't be able to arrange a taxi pickup FROM the airport, though no problem on a taxi TO the airport). There's is always one person at reception and a porter during the day time.

Note that there is a set of steps both into the building of the hotel and then a larger set of steps from the building entrance up to the lift. Lift is very small just fits 3 persons without luggage - so if arriving with large luggage, best to ask for the porter.

We arrived at a slightly peculiar time for Florence. There was a big winter freeze (down to 10 degrees below freezing at night) and this did affect our stay and experience at the hotel.

Perhaps like many other older buildings in Europe, the insulation of the building left us cold during the big chill. Despite leaving the room heater on full-blast, we felt a constant cold draft in both the room and the always freezing bathroom. We ended up asking for extra blankets the second night, which helped.

It was way too cold during our stay to use the terrace, though we really enjoyed the decor of the reception room. Made us feel like we were in the living room of a local home, which is part of the charm of this hotel.

The decor of the rooms are also slightly older - not necessarily lush furniture or bedding, though there are modern TV's and a safe in the room. No mini-bar or fridge though. Everything was very clean and it showed that someone's paying attention -- the hotel is being well looked after.

We stayed on the 2nd floor and although we didn't experience any noise from other rooms, we did get woken up early Saturday morning by the emptying/dumping of glass bottles from facing the 'courtyard' -- really the back of several establishments and some car parking. No noise problems fortunately on Sunday.

The included breakfast is from 7am to 10am, though the hotel made allowances for us to stay and linger over breakfast after 10am. Good spread of breads, cheeses, yogurts and fruits. Coffee, teas, and cappuccinos made to order and again always served with courteous smiles. Hot items can be ordered separately for an extra charge.

For the price of EUR100/night, highly recommend this hotel based on the location and service for a short sightseeing/shopping/romantic trip to Florence.

Room Tip: higher floor - perhaps facing the duomo side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neconoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hermitage. We cannot stress enough about it's location....SUPERB!. Walking distance to most of the sights in Florence...The Duomo, the Basilica Santa Croce, Boboli Gardens and even Piazzale Michelangiolo. A stone's throw from Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizzi. We would like to express our thanks to Jolanda for making our stay a delight. The breakfast spread was great. The rooms are very clean. It's a very quaint and cosy hotel. This will be our hotel of choice the next time we find ourselves in this beautiful city and we highly recommend this establishment to anyone visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Our room # 307 was excellent. We also noticed a family of four ( a couple and two kids) had a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skaramoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We have stayed in this lovely, wonderfully loaded hotel right not he Arno very near the Ponta Vechio several times in the past 30 years. The staff are wonderful; breakfast is included and varied and large, the living room makes it a cosy place in cold weather and the roof garden makes it divine in the warmer weather - and the views from the roof top are superb. We have had jr high age children with us there as well as 40 year old children with us there - they all LOVE it. Our most recent stay was late November 2011

Room Tip: ask for one away from the road along the Arno if quiet is especially desired
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Hermitage at the beginning of January 2012 for 3 nights. We took two rooms, one for my wife and myself, the other for our teenage sons just across the corridor. We weren't lucky enough to get rooms with a view of the river but they were well-furnished with good firm beds, an excellent bathroom (the jacuzzi bath a nice touch) and plenty of space.

The oddness of having the reception at the top of the building could make it awkward for those with a lot of luggage as the lift is very small, but it's a minor issue. For those with difficulty walking there is a short flight of steps to the lift.

The welcome was excellent with all of the staff friendly and polite. I'd recommend taking an aperitif in the bar to unwind if you've had a long journey getting to Florence, as we had. The hotel is excellently situated, the Ponte Vecchio is just outside the front door, Uffizi a 2 minute walk, 5 minutes to the Duomo.

Breakfast (included with the room) was functional and would set you up for a day's gallery-going. You could get a more extensive selection for a few euros more. Restaurants immediately in the area were a bit touristy but it's hard to get a bad meal in Italy.

On the whole I would say this is a well-run hotel and was worth going slightly over our usual budget to be in such an ideal location for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffLevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Hermitage in October 2011. Overall it was a good hotel, mostly due to the location, it was easy walking distance to everything in Florence and I felt very safe as a single female traveller. The room was very spacious, with a good shower - it worked well and hot water was always available. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good, fresh fruit, and thankfully Twinings tea - hard to find in a coffee-loving country.

There were 2 things I didn't like about this hotel: First, the bed was super uncomfortable. It was more like a hard half mattress. Not soft and not cozy comfortable. It did motivate me to get up and get going early. And the second thing is that if I wanted eggs for breakfast I had to pay extra. The fruit, pastries, ham and cheese were all included but for some reason eggs were not. Not a huge deal as they weren't expensive, just kind of weird. I guess the cold breakfast was free and the hot was paid for since it required more work.

Overall a good hotel, staff were friendly and all spoke English.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ontario74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,835 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#34 of 409 in Florence
1,554 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 409 in Florence
1,940 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 409 in Florence
1,789 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Address: Vicolo Marzio 1 | Piazza del Pesce, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#81 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $100 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing