We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with great rooftop garden”
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #66 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Location was perfect - could not get better, right next to the entrance to the Ponte Vecchio. The rooftop garden was a great place to relax and watch the sunset over this beautiful city. We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed a drink there almost every afternoon.
The breakfast room was lovely and overlooked the surrounding historical buildings. Would recommend a room not facing the road, as Florence can be a bit of a party town and the locals on the small main road were very loud at night until early mornings.
The only negative being the beds were extremely hard and the pillows were equally as hard and very thin.
The decor was a little dated and reminiscent of nanna's house. but comfortable and roomy enough for our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the alleyway and ask for extra pillows upon check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roddy_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 622 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

Everything about this hotel was perfect! The view from their roof garden overlooking the Ponte Vecchio is one of the best views in all of Florence. At the end of a long day, watching the sun set on the PV and enjoying a drink here, is heavenly.. The hotel is steps, literally, from the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Gallery. All other major sites are within an easy walk. Our room was spotless and by European standard,s quite roomy. Service on every level was exemplary. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper levels, 3+, with a view of the Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ex-airfaircrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Great hotel in a terrific location. Beautiful rooftop garden overlooking the Ponte Vecchio and the Arno River. Lovely sitting room available as well. Good breakfast in a cheery well-decorated room. Our rooms were cute, and the bathrooms seem to have been recently redone. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We loved our stay there - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank db7154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Overlooking the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio, the Hermitage boasts a rooftop garden - perfect place for evening cocktails and morning breakfast! There is an elevator; reception is on the 5th floor. Staff was friendly and helpful; room was clean and a good size (for Europe). It was a perfect location for walking to the major attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the river get the afternoon sun; quieter rooms face alleys and courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellygreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights here at the end of our 17 day Italy trip. The hotel is very nice. The room was a nice size, great bed, and nice bathroom. Breakfast was good and the hotel has a rooftop terrace that allowed us to enjoy eating outside. We also spent late evenings on the terrace sharing a bottle of wine far above the noise and crowds. The location is perfect to get to all the main attractions that are within a few blocks. Next to the Ponte Vecchio Bridge allowed us to cross the river for other dining options and riverside cafes. We enjoyed sitting with a glass of wine watching people along the river. All the desk staff speak very good English and are helpful getting reservations to crowded attractions allowing us to beat the crowds and not stand in 2 hour lines. Our only complaint was with the late afternoon desk person who appeared reluctant to help us with early check-out (required by the hotel if you are checking out before 5:00 AM). Fortunately, the late night desk was much more accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel for the location, convenience to everything, and accommodations.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear overlooking a courtyard in front of a church. Very quiet at night but duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CurtisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel is a gem and the location puts it in walking distance of all major attractions in Florence. There is a small flight of stairs you have to go up to get to the elevator but that is the only drawback. It has a great rooftop area to relax and have a glass of wine in the evening. It is also next door to the best gelatto in Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Hermitage Hotel is in many ways lovely. The rooms are decorated in an interesting way that suits the Florence locale. The views from some rooms, the breakfast room and the rooftop lounge are gorgeous. It is incredibly easy to walk to every major attraction from this hotel as well. However, if you are looking for any sort of pampering or luxury in your room, look elsewhere. The rooms are small (some are really too small), the beds are plain and one of our rooms did not even have a blanket, just the coverlet. One pillow per person, kind of scratchy towels. One of our rooms had a leaky bathroom. On the other hand, the breakfast was lovely, and we weren't there to spend time in our rooms. And, it was definitely more affordably priced. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is willing to give up luxury for location and to save a little money.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanblue900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,539 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 410 in Florence
1,781 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#57 of 410 in Florence
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#43 of 410 in Florence
460 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 410 in Florence
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Address: Vicolo Marzio 1 | Piazza del Pesce, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#81 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $104 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing