We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Clean Rooms, & Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #34 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Service, Clean Rooms, & Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2006

Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Casci - the family staff was friendly and attentive. Too bad on the first night prior to check-in we had to move to another hotel down the block due plumbing problems. Once in, our remaining two nights were very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The the laundry service was great so was free internet service in the lobby. Walking distance to everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence, especially for the first time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,819
    647
    82
    24
    8
See reviews for
758
1,008
166
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, CA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2006

I gave it the highest rating. While it is only rated 2 stars, the location, extreme cleanliness and quality of the staff/owners make it a great buy. My wife fell in love with the air conditioning (personal controls) and the huge tub. The breakfasts are over the top for quality and quantity. Great value considering they are included in the price of the room.

NOTE: If you are physically handicapped, make that known to the mangement before booking a room. Some of the rooms are up and down small flights of stairs (two or three) which was no problem for us but might affect others.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Epags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Casci for 2 nights, May 2-4. I was very pleased with the hotel. The room was a little small by American standards, but very clean. I had a balcony and a small refrigerator for drinks and snacks. Staff was very friendly and spoke very good English. Good location -- you can walk to just about any sight in Florence that a tourist would want to see. I would recommend the Hotel Casci to visitors to Florence.

Helpful?
2 Thank stdonatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2006

Our group of 3 couples spent 3 nights at the Casci and were overjoyed at the welcome and hospitality of the entire Lombardi family. They helped us with dinner reservations in Florence and a hotel reservation in another Italian city.
Breakfast was typical of Italian cuisine, served abundantly and always with a smile. The hotel has wireless internet, so whether you bring your laptop or use the one in the breakfast room to check e-mail, it is very convenient.
We especially liked the fact that we could do some siteseeing during the day, walk back to the room for a rest and then walk to a great restaurant for dinner in the evening.
At this time of the year, none of the other hotels we stayed in (10 in all) had their air conditioning working, but the Casci did. My always warm husband especially appreciated that.
If we were to return to Florence, we would definitely stay again at the Hotel Casci.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ct.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2006

My husband, teen-age son and I stayed at the Hotel Casci during a ten day stay in Florence. Our room consisted of one large and one single bed with a desk, chair and updated bathroom. We found the staff extremely friendly, helpful and accomodating. It has a good location by the Duomo and close to the train station. We did two trips to Venice and Cinque Terre and both times they stored our luggage for us. The buffet breakfast was a pleasant surprise serving eggs, toast, rolls, cereal, fruit and sweets. My husband would have perferred the convenience of a bar and resturant but this is a small and simple hotel. We certainly would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndiWestport_Ct_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2006

This hotel offers something very rare today -- warm and caring service. From the moment you check in, the Lombardy family treats you as a personal friend who's come to stay a few days -- providing information on the city, excellent restaurant recommendations, help with tour reservations, etc. -- not just an anonymous source of revenue. They are in the middle of the city, just two blocks from the Duomo and no more than a 10 minute walk from most of the major museums and sites. Our room was spacious for Europe and, while not luxurious, was comfortable and well set up. Free internet access via WiFi throughout the hotel or from a terminal next to the office is a big plus, as is the small bar area where you can get wine, water and soft drinks at very reasonable prices. Their substantial continental breakfast is served in a room with a frescoed ceiling, adding to the sense of history that permeates central Florence.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xalbguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2006

Reviewer: Michael and Valerie Sullivan, Chelmsford, England
Date: 4 nights, 7 - 11 May 2006
Wonderful, central location, just 5 minutes walk and you're in front of the Duomo, another 5 minutes in the opposite direction and you're at San Marco and the Academedia. But don't think that means it will be noisy. It has a very calm and peaceful atmosphere - and we're fussy about noise!
The hotel is very clean and well looked-after. The breakfasts are very good and all the staff are very friendly without being pushy. They reccommend restaurants, book tickets for you - all you have to do is enjoy this wonderful city.
Look no further, we certainly won't when we come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Property: Hotel Casci
Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing