We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real value hotel in Florence”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real value hotel in Florence”
Reviewed December 2, 2009

I just stayed a week in Florence at the Hotel Casci. It is a 2 star hotel that provides special value. It is about 2 blocks from the Cathedral or Duomo on the second floor of a 16th century building. There is, of course, elevator access. There are 24-29 rooms. They are clean and well appointed. Although I was there in late autumn and didn't need it, all the rooms are aircondtiioned. My room was small but, although offered a larger room the next day, I chose to stay because it had a lovely balcony overlooking a garden. Each room has a refrigerator, which I find very useful when traveling to cool water and snacks. There is also free wifi, but if you don't bring your laptop there is a computer in the reception where you can access your email. A lovely buffet breakfast is provided with the room. The staff is outstanding, very helpful, and they all speak several languages. It is a family owned and managed hotel, and you can feel the family attention to every detail. Rates are reasonable. The rack rate for my room was 140 euros which is certainly not expensive, but because I was there in low season for several days, I paid a lot less. As always, it is useful to enquire ahead of time about a stay and what the cost would be. I woudl give this an A+/

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Publius56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,858
    667
    84
    25
    8
See reviews for
782
1,033
169
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Casci last week for the first time. We liked the reviews and also have friends that have stayed there. A 5-star hotel this is not, however, the location is great, the staff are wonderful, we had a great stay! The hotel is very close to the center, Duomo, and Uffizi gallery. You wont need a car while staying here, and you can walk to just about any historical site. Also, the shopping is great.

Taking a taxi from the bus or train station is best since it's not always easy to find the hotel otherwise. The reception will give you a map. There is an elevator, the breakfast is really good, free WIFI, a free computer with internet in the lobby to use, lots of travel books to borrow, a bar, comfy room with a nice big tub!

We just love this hotel and we will definitely be staying there again when in Florence!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msklausler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We were greeted by the very friendly and personable Pierpaulo who welcomed us with a choice of rooms. The room we chose was spacious and comfortable with a fridge and large bathroom. The very large windows were triple insulated so the traffic below was silenced. The Duomo was a five minute walk. The breakfast was abundant and the lady who served it was very lovely and kept offering more and more delicious coffees with a smile. The whole staff treated us like family. We are a gay couple and therefore never know what to expect when traveling abroad. Everyone was amazing. From the reservations made for us at different restaurants to the help with train tickets and museums, we felt pampered. There are DVD players in all the rooms with a selection of free movies at the desk. Also there is free internet.The hotel is not the fanciest, but it abounds in Italian charm and flavor. We will always return to Casci! Thanks so much to everyone there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfortenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My husband and I traveled with another couple to Florence in November 2009. We stayed in Hotel Casci about 3 years ago and decided to stay there again. The hotel staff were very attentive. The rooms were charming and clean, each with a private bathroom and hair dryer. A great buffet breakfast is served daily. The hotel also has free wi-fi and a free pubic computer on which you can use. The hotel was situated about 2 blocks from the Duomo. We walked to all of our destinations from the hotel. We were sad to leave Florence and to leave Hotel Casci. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Florence.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnelle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport, uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Fantastic service from everybody concerned withb this hotel. From Mamma to the night porter to the maids. Smiles and helpful advice. Just wanted to make our stay in the hotel and in Florence, perfect.
Rooms: free safe, ample size and storage space and most importantly kept immaculately clean. Fresh towels and bathroom floor cleaned daily.
Breakfast was plentiful, the best cappucino we had all trip, and included eggs ham salami toast breads biscuits yoghurts juice, fruit, cerials, cakes, hot chocolat freshly made to order, a great selection and as much as you desired.
Location: 250 yds from the duomo and 100 yds from the medici palace. Superb.
This hotel is all about the people who run it. For Florence stay, you will not get better and at a very reasonable price too.
Also mention the moyo bar near santa croce for apparativo at 7pm. groovy bar and the free food selection at 7pm is awesome. Just buy a beer (6euros large) and eat as much as you like.
Also the el antico vinnario. We discovered a jem and also only 3 euros for a 660ml bottle of beer, the cheapest by far and a great atmosphere and owner who trusts his regulars that much he leaves glasses and a selection of wines in the street and they help themselves at 2 euros a glass and they tell him what they owe when they leave. Florence can be very expensive but can be reasonable too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Good value and great location. You don't need much more when your on holidays.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2009

My wife & I and 7 more extended family members stayed in 5 rooms over 3 nights in this charming family run hotel.

We arrived about noon and were greeted at the enterance by hotel staff. ( our driver had called when we were a block from the hotel.) The hotel is located on the second floor, by a broad staircase, or a small lift to get you there. We sent the luggage up first. the lift can only handle 4 people at once. Paula Lombardi and his mother own and personally run this charming hotel and greeted us as long lost family. A note: The front of the hotel is under renovation, with large dumpsters out front, which give it a perfectly horrible first impression. We heard no noise during our stay. But, once inside, you find a lovely little place with charm and heaps of freindlyness. All of our rooms where on this floor, clean and with roomy and modern bathrooms. This place has free internet and provided me with my first contact with family in over 2 weeks. They also have free DVD's for the asking, with players in the rooms. The breakfast area is large, with many tables, which are set when you come in each morning. They have a very helpful woman to assist you hard boiling your eggs just right and along with Paulo's mother come by the tables and ask if you want more coffee cappuccino or juices. The self serve breakfast selection is the best I have seen in type of hotel. All kinds of fruits, breads, coffee cakes, lots of different spreads, for toast. Several juices, teas, hot and cold boiled eggs, etc. It was a welcome treat each morning and had to be worth 10 Euros on its own. It was included in the very resonable rate of 105 euros per night cash rate.

As for location, we were only 1 1/2 blocks from the Duomo and you could see the Baptistry as soon as you left the hotel. There was a great little Galato shop, run by a very nice middle aged man who is the owner, about a block, on the right as you walked to the Duomo Sq. It was called the Snack Shop I think. Give it a go. For Mc Donald lovers there is a low key one 1/2 block away, but with ALL the great places to go in Florence, why bother?!

Note; The lobby is open til about 1 am. However the night guy does sleep in the lobby on a murphy bed, and gets up at 6am. So don't go busting in on him.

Paulo has got to be one of the most helpful men I have known. He helped our grouip with knowledge, maps and ideas. He will make museum reservations for you prior to arrive as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WmTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Property: Hotel Casci
Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing