We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #37 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 21, 2005

Stay here. The location is great. Right down the street from the Duomo. The staff is wonderful. You won't find a nicer staff. The rooms are small, but not too small. We were there for part of our honeymoon. When we arrived there was a complimentary bottle of champagne, glasses and a sweet congratulatory card. Breakfast was good...standard Italian choices. The rooms were cleaned well every day. The bathroom was large enough. The price was right and you can get a discount if you pay in cash. We will definitely stay here again when visiting this great city.

Helpful?
8 Thank Youngblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    678
    84
    25
    8
See reviews for
794
1,040
172
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2005

I can only add to the glowing reviews this hotel has already garnered. My wife and I spent 3 days in Florence in March 2005. Upon our arrival, an unexpected pipe problem left our room without water. Rather than let us stay and be inconvenienced, the owners arranged for a transfer to another room in a hotel 2 doors down for one night. They were very apologetic, and upon our return the next day, they provided a bottle of wine for the trouble!
Our room was very clean, very quiet, and very comfortable. The staff bent over backwards to be friendly and accomodating. These points alone make this a good place to stay. Breakfast is in a beautiful frescoed room, and perfectly adequate, despite the machine-made cappuccino. The hotel is located 150 yards from the Duomo - THE main attraction in town, and 150 yards in the other direction from the Accademia and THE David. The train station is 10 minute walk away.
We've stayed in many places, and have experienced many hotels and inns. This one I recommend hands down without any doubts - I will not bother to look for any other place to stay upon my return to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LaJacaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2005

When we look back on our first trip to Italy in late February, the Lombardi family's hospitality is one of the highlights of our trip. When a train confusion prevented us from arriving the first night of our reservations, we had to go ahead and pay for the room (understandably), but when we arrived early the next morning, they held breakfast over late to accommodate us. The rooms were simple, but immaculately clean. We paid 130 euros for our triple room, but it was discounted to 115 for a cash payment. The Lombardi family was extremely gracious. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane13838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2005

We just returned from a 6 night stay in Florence visiting our son who is spending the semester there. We selected the Casci based on TripAdvisor reviews and are happy to report everything was as described, so much so that our other son and a friend followed us there the next week and spent 4 nights at the Casci as well. Our week was bitter cold, with a lot of snow and rain, yet the hotel was cozy and warm, and the heated towel racks in the bathrooms were such a treat. Interesting for us, this is a 2-star hotel, and hard to locate from the street (although the location is superb); there is no lobby per se, but a completely silent elevator that brings you upstairs to the actual hotel lobby. All the rooms are on that same floor. What we found in Florence was that other 2 and 3 star hotels were also located on the 2nd or 3rd floors, but without an elevator up from the street level. The staff is over-the-top fantastic, friendly, and enthusiastically helpful with tour advice (rental car, day trip recommendations, directions). In our case they cheerfully functioned as "central command" for all the phone calls, messages and family/friends coordination that our visit entailed. We cannot say enough wonderful things about these folks! The rooms are immaculate and some are larger than what one typically finds; the bathrooms are all newly renovated and there's ample hot water; the housekeeping staff is as friendly as the management and everyone clearly gets along well. Everyone speaks English. Breakfasts were great, with all sorts of fresh goodies, a cup warmer for the coffee/tea cups, and the biggest espresso and capuccino machine I've ever seen outside of Starbucks. With a weak US dollar and high euro prices, the Casci is an absolute find. Thank you, TripAdvisor reviewers, for turning us on to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 4foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2005

I don't believe you will find a better hotel for the money in Florence! I just got back a couple of weeks ago, and I am getting ready to book this hotel again. It is just a block or so from the Duomo, close to the SMN train station, immaculately clean with a friendly and caring staff that couldn't have been more helpful. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank artsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2005

We stayed here March 12th to the 15th and had a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the shower needed more water pressure. The hotel staff were very helpful, breakfast was good, and the free computer terminal was a plus. The location was the best feature, very close to all of Florence's sights.

Helpful?
3 Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 11, 2005

This small hotel is centrally located in Florence to all major attractions. The rooms are average sized, and modestly furnished, but absolutely spotless! You stay here for the service! The Lombardi family couldn't do enough for us! On the last day, we had an early flight (prior to breakfast hours) and they had breakfast waiting for us at the front desk. Breakfast every morning was great as well.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#43 of 422 in Florence
780 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 422 in Florence
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Property: Hotel Casci
Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing