We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where could be better?”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #46 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having stayed at the Hotel Casci in April, there was "no contest" as to where we'd stay for a second visit to Florence this year. The welcome was as warm as before and all the staff generous-hearted and helpful: nothing is ever too much trouble.
This is a 2-star hotel of course so no-one should expect it to be "plush" but the beds are comfortable, the housekeeping impeccable, the breakfast plentiful and the location cannot be bettered - being able to walk to the Duomo in five minutes and to the Piazza della Signoria in ten is a real joy.
The Hotel Casci is a special place run by special people in very special city!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 2,793 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our flight was cancelled due due a labour strike in Italy and we were delayed 3 days, so having just visited Bologna we decided to go to Florence for the extra time. It was very last minute but we found Hotel Casci on tripadvisor and they had just had a cancellation due to the strike. Everywhere in Florence and Bologna is expensive so prices seem dear for what is delivered ( to me anyway!). But Hotel Casci is in a fantastic position for all the sights, it is family run and the staff are lovely. The room was modest but bigger than our more expensive hotel in Bologna and most of all it was clean and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Been in much plusher hotels, so first impressions were not that great .... however staff were friendly and the location couldn't have been any more central to all the main attractions. A family run hotel by the looks of it ... perhaps some rooms better than others .... Ours had wood to dado height that looked like it had been coated with green creosote ... with matching wadrobe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent four nights at the Hotel Casci and were very, very pleased. First, of the three places we stayed while in Italy, the staff at the Hotel Casci were the best. And that's saying something, because we found the staff everywhere to be wonderful. Second, the location is hard to beat, easy walking to all the major attractions, restaurants, etc. Third, the room was basic, but very clean (what we care most about). Fourth, the breakfast was great--the best of the three places we stayed (all served breakfast with the room rate). Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 03dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Every aspect of our stay was impressive...the owners/staff of this hotel were extremely attentive to our needs and made our stay very enjoyable, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the location was central to everything in Florence, and the breakfast was one of the best we experienced among all the hotels we stayed at in Italy. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were very fortunate to stay at this hotel September 2013. Florence is amazing and this hotel lived up to its reputation. The staff are very kind and helpful and make you feel at home. Paulo and Piero were especially helpful and the lady who oversees the breakfast area was most attentive. Our room was very clean, roomy and the bed was very comfortable. (Although there is so much to do and see in Florence there is not much time to laze about!) Breakfast was great coffee fabulous and lots of fresh fruit. Location is great we could walk everywhere and the train station is close we could walk there pulling our carry on bags. Thanks very much to all who made our trip a beautiful one with great memories. Brenda and Tom

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda_and_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel has a great location very near to the railway station and the Duomo and is very clean and well -kept. The breakfast room is very attractive and the offerings there are generally quite good, although the pastries and breads are store-bought. They have excellent coffee and the service is absolutely outstanding. Everyone there is very helpful and they really try to give you a good experience. The WiFi was easy to use and the room had a modern charging station for devices. The bed was comfortable except for the usual Italian concrete pillows.

The only demerit is that of accessibility for those with some limitations. The hotel is described as having an elevator and they do, but there is a step up before you get to it. And, even though the hotel is actually just one floor of a large old building, some rooms require further stairs (down and up), some with no handrails. The showers also require a step up.

Room Tip: If you wish to avoid stairs, make sure you specify this when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isambard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#45 of 410 in Florence
826 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,363 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
820 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,179 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $92 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing