We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Warm, welcoming friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #30 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We found this hotel for our stay in Florence after reading other reviews on TA. Have to say, the location was great, owners/staff couldn't be nicer. Not modern, old but clean, good free wifi, and good breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights, left for Cinque Terre for 2 nights, then returned for one more night before heading to Rome. They let us leave 2 bags with them till our return. When we did return, our room was ready and there were our bags inside! The ladies who make breakfast couldn't be sweeter. Definitely good value and would stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a/c but you need to ask for the remote to turn it on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlixMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    614
    81
    23
    8
See reviews for
713
980
161
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is my third or fourth stay at this hotel and I have rated it really highly in the past. Whilst our stay was reasonably comfortable, the experience was ruined by the high level of stress, anxiety or whatever it was coming from the owners. We received no real welcome this time (we always have in the past). At check out I asked politely whether I could have a train ticket printed and was spoken to rudely by the son and told that it would have to be later as he was running late for church. When we came back to collect our bags, mother and son had a screaming match whilst we sat and waited to leave. I don't know whether they were incredibly busy and stressed but I am sorry this sort of behaviour is not reasonable when you have guests in a hotel. I fully understand that it is family run but please take your family quarrels away from guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

A five star review doesn't mean a 5 star hotel. It means that this hotel does what it says it does much better than its 2 star rating and that with a glut of choices of where to stay in Florence, we would definitely stay here again.

Location: Perfect. Everything is walkable. 1 minute to Da Vinci. 1 minute to Dali. 3 minutes to Duomo. 4 minutes to Accademia. Maybe 10 minutes to Uffizi and Galileo.
Staff: Family run. Very professional but very friendly.
Rooms: comfortable beds, space for hanging clothes, good pressure shower with good hot water. Very clean!
Wi-fi works really well throughout the hotel with good speed. Also a hard wired computer near reception.


Overall this hotel punches well above its weight. It's reasonably priced - not the cheapest and far from expensive, but really good value.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lorrythetruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Thanks to all TAers who recommended this place. Ultra-clean, great breakfast (including boil-yourself eggs if you like), free high-speed Internet and excellent, room-controlled air conditioning. But the best thing is the family that runs this place. From the moment you enter, you know you are welcomed as their guests. When we couldn't get a rental car, they found one for us. Recommendations, maps, help with reservations--whatever you need, they're there for you. My single (and its bathroom) was small, definitely uncomfortable for two, but it was fine for me, with a large, comfortable bed. And the place is ultra-clean and walkable to all the sites, located between the Duomo and the Accademia (where David is on display). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
148 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had been driving all over Italy but I had not planned on driving in Florence.
Somehow we ended up lost and paid a taxi driver 10 euros to lead us to the hotel. At one point I was driving in heavy traffic with 7 or 8 motorcycles surrounding me! When we arrived we took the elevator up to the entrance to the hotel and were met by very friendly staff, helpful and kind especially the mother, she is so sweet. This is a "home away from home" even though it is a "larger hotel" it retains the feeling of a small, hard working, family run operation. I can not understand why this is 2 stars, I think it should be 3. There are 3 English TV channels. The breakfasts were really good, I looked forward to the wonderful fresh fruit they served. It is an amazing location so near to the striking Duomo and all Florence has to offer. Be sure and climb to the top of the dome!! Florence is my favorite city in Italy and if you like to shop look no further! It is truly shop till you drop but also filled with gourmet food markets, museums and other cultural attractions. It is a small manageable " city" to wander around and get lost in.......It is "people watching" at it's best! My mother got her hair done at a beauty shop recommended by the hotel and was very happy with the results. You will love the folks who run this little gem in the heart of Florence!

Room Tip: We had the quad room and it was very nice, over looking a small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have been multiple times in Florence over the last 12 years. We have always stayed at Hotel Casci and have benefited from the Lombardi Family's hospitality. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Paolo, Mrs. Lombardi, Pierre Paolo and the rest of the staff have always been tremendously helpful on everything we have ever needed. Their location permits you to walk all over the city center and cover every major site in reasonable time. The breakfast is very good and efficient. We have always been extremely satisfied and look forward to continue staying at this establishment. The only thing I regret not doing some time ago is sharing my experience with others about what a wonderful hotel this is and what a fantastic value it represents.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjrod00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

For my wife and me this hotel was as near perfect as you can get. We have travelled extensively internationally on business and experienced the excesses of “luxury” hotels. How pleasant it was to be treated with genuine warmth as individuals. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet as well as well looked after by the attentive staff. The selection of fruits and cereals, breads and pastries for breakfast was excellent. The coffee was superb. The Casci location in the heart of historical Florence is wonderful, all the museums and attractions being accessible within easy walking distance. Great value!
It was a little sad to be leaving such genuinely kind and hospitable people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#31 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#41 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#25 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Property: Hotel Casci
Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing