We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfetto”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #51 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Tutto bene! Friendly, comfortable, perfect location, WiFi that works!, cappuccino with breakfast, everything we wanted after a long day of trekking all the wonderful corners of this fabulous city.
The hotel is on the second floor of a renovated palazzo where Rossini once lived, two blocks from the Academy where Michaelangelo's "David" is exhibited and 3 blocks from the Duomo, the Cathedral of Florence and the central hub of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtK492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 2,839 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hotel Casci is in a great location just two blocks from the Duomo and easy walking distance from all the sights. The staff is very friendly and made good recommendations for restaurants and sights. The front desk staff speaks good English and helped us with reservations for museums, a must in Florence, and restaurants, all of which were very good. We had a very pleasant stay. There is good WiFi and satellite TV. There is a discount for cash.

Room Tip: Do not park at the Mercato Centrale parking garage. It is hourly only and they charged us over 100 e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbsmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel, booked after reading reviews in TA.

The location is very central, I can recommend even only for this reason. Compared to budget price, my stay was OK.
Room was not so lightful because a narrow door-window is looking towards inner courtyard, but there was no street noise.
Room size was small but the bed was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom is big enough and good. Shower and water pressure is fine. TV was fine with international channels. Free wi-fi was fast enough.
Breakfast was standard, nothing special to underline.
The most disturbing part was the sound insulation of the rooms. Because you can easily hear everything spoken in the corridor or every foot-step.

In general, I do not have big complaints but to be honest, I did not understand what makes this hotel number #2 in ranking in TA. It is good value hotel but I find nothing special to underline, except the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunraku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We thank this guest for his/her review, eventhough we wonder if it was meant to our hotel, as we are not ranked no. 2 on Tripadvisor (we are high, but not that high).
As far as room insulation is concerned, all of our bedrooms have a heavy thick door, whilst wall partitions are made of real brick / stone - the hallway has a central carpet to absorb footstep noise - rooms overlooking the street have a double or triple glaze, to avoid street noise - of course if people talk really loud or run along the hallway, this may not be enough, but in general it is not an issue, in fact many guests mention how quiet it is.
In any case, the guest admits that he/she has no real complaints for the price paid, the room and bathroom were clean, shower and water were fine, TV and WIFI, too, no street noise - therefore we are all happy and hope to welcome him/her again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great European hotel on the 2nd level in the center of the city. Rooms are quiet, clean and don't overlook the street. Owners are beyond wonderful and helpful! The best source of information, tours, sights, hours, places to each, things to see, we encountered in all of Italy. They were always, always accommodating, patient, and kind. Spacious breakfast room with traditional Italian buffet breakfast. Fairly priced for the Florence market.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank HowzitMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked this hotel based solely on the TripAdvisor reviews - not something I'd usually do - and wanted to write something balanced in case anyone else does the same, thinking that you're getting something better than a two-star hotel.

There's nothing 'wrong' with the hotel as such, but I found this to be a perfectly normal two-star hotel with above average prices.

Starting with the positive, most of the staff were courteous and polite, although the older man who greeted us on arrival was not especially garrulous (although it was late at night). The rooms, whilst basic and looking like they had seen better days, were clean. The selling point of this hotel is its excellent central location - although Florence is a small city and so any city centre hotel should be central in theory.

However, the (single) room was very small - I'm a slim guy but I could barely squeeze around my little bathroom! Also, you have to leave your keys with reception and the main door is locked at night (allegedly after 1am but in my experience much earlier - around 12ish). This surprised other guests and to be honest, it made me feel a bit observed so if - like me - you like your independence and want to stay out late, this hotel might not be for you. Finally, there were some noise problems at night from other guests (not the fault of the hotel) and also at 6am every morning, so I assume this was staff coming in!

Overall, our stay was fine, but this is a very normal two-star hotel. Contrary to other opinions on here, the hotel does not deserve any more stars and I think that - especially out of high season - you could find better in a city with as many hotels as Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We thank this client for his time in writing his comment right the day after he has left the hotel along with his mother. And it is interesting to see how opinions may differ substantially from guest to guest, even when they stay with us at the same time. We are sorry to learn that he was not so enthusiastic about our hotel and would like to include our comments.
Yes, we are a typical small family managed Italian hotel - we are proud of that and we have never ever claimed to be anything more. At the same time, we also try to offer a few pluses that usually one does not find in small hotels, like free WI-FI, multicharging station, flat screen TV's and DVD in each room, tour and museum reservation service, buffet breakfast, etc. - this guest himself wrote to us a few times prior to arrival for additional information and took advantage of our museum reservation service and also changed his reservations and we happily and readily accomodated his needs, which was not always easy as he and his mother stayed with us over Easter week, which is very high season in Florence.
As regarding the rooms, he and his mother booked two single rooms – from the very beginning they asked for two quiet rooms as they had some sleeping issue, and in fact we allocated them two rooms at the end of our hallway, so that they would not be disturbed – btw, our breakfast staff arrives at 7am but the breakfast area is literally miles away from their rooms, whilst the maids arrive at 8-9am, therefore we have no idea what noise would be at 6am – however, as they stayed for four nights, had they mentioned it we could have investigated. Our hotel spans over two ancient buildings both centuries old and therefore rooms are not standardized and vary in size - whilst we appreciate that single rooms are not very large, like in most hotels in Italy and Europe, they are fully equipped and the two these guests had have a queen size bed each – we have regular working and studying guests who come year after year for week long stays and they are always very happy. We have in plan to refurbish the rooms, and all going well this will probably start from next winter onwards.
As regarding leaving the room keys at reception, yes, this is common practice in small hotels and in fact usually guests appreciate that, as it is much safer, as there is always a control on who enters the hotel, both during the day and especially at night – there is no intention on intruding the guests’ independence, right the contrary, it is for their own safety – plus the fact it is always nice to smile at the guests coming back and asking if they are enjoying their time – that’s our main aim, establishing a nice atmosphere with our guests, who we like to consider more as visiting friends than clients. We felt sorry when on the last day this guest’s mother was not feeling well (probably too tired after the long Tuscany tour the day before) and we offered to take a hot tea to her room and have breakfast much later – in hindsight, maybe they did not like us asking ...
This guest mentions that he thinks that our prices are above the average, as they thought they had booked an out of high season period – in actual fact, he and his mother have stayed with us during Easter week (they left on Easter Saturday), which is, as I mentioned before, already high season in the art cities – and, in any case, we feel that for the standard of services we offer, our prices are perfectly in line with Florence rates. In fact, many comments also on TA say that we are good value for money and probably there is also a reason why so many of our guests state that we could have a higher rating and keep coming back years after years – at the same time, we cannot please everybody at all times and even this guest mentions that there is nothing really ‘wrong’ with us, which we are very pleased about, and still hope to be able to welcome him again in the future.
Paolo Lombardi – Hotel Casci - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice family run hotel with friendly service. Room size was big for hotels in Italy. Breakfast was sufficient and they provide an in-house laundry, which is convenient as you only need to drop it off at the front counter and is ready for you at the end of the day. Excellent location to the main attractions and only 10mins walk from Santa Maria Novella station. The only downside is that you've to buzz the bell when you return to the hotel late at night, and the night guy (which seemed pretty unfriendly) will open the main door for you to enter.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

It is nice to learn that guests still think about their stay with us even several months after their holiday !!
I would just like to point out that yes, it is true that our main door closes at 1am after midnight, as we feel it is safer - however, our reception desk is manned all night by our night porters, who are generally nice and helpful - we are surprized to hear that he seemed unfriendly, as usually all guests comment on how friendly all members of our staff are.
In any case, we are happy to learn that these guests liked our location and found our hotel to be good value for money and hope to be able to welcome them again in the future.
Paolo Lombardi - Hotel Casci - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

From the moment you arrive there is a warm and friendly welcome from staff and family alike. Nothing is too much trouble. Central location is excellent and value for money, in this expensive city, is assured. Well deserved trip advisor recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,282 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#47 of 410 in Florence
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 410 in Florence
2,418 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#81 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#26 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $62 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. Buffet breakfast is served in fresco a large decorated room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing