We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Taste of Italian hospitality..”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #43 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We read about this hotel in the newspaper and, hoping it wouldn't be booked up, we contacted the hotel. Luckily there was room and we found it just as described, in perfect position for exploring all of Florence, within easy walking distance of the central bus and train stations. The staff were friendly and generous, and the young man on reception gave us a tip about a guided tour around the Uffizi which frankly was the pinnacle of our holiday. There is a huge selection of city guides in reception and a lovely touch was a rack full of Hotel umbrellas whch not only kept the rain off but also helped us fend off the hundreds of wandering salesmen who thronged the streets with their cheap umbrellas and ponchos. Thanks for that!! One other thing- the room contained a charger dock which connected to every single electrical device we had with us, a great bonus when you are travelling with cabin baggage only.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,758)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casci
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 2,758 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

A nice place to stay in the center of town, walking distance to everything. Florence is a compact city and most people walk everywhere. Having a hotel just a couple of blocks to the duomo and the shops and restaurants saved us having to hire a taxi.
The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much. We traveled with a small group and the area near the front desk provided a great place to meet before each outing.
Breakfast every morning was a real treat. The area is kept tidy and moving so there are no delays in getting your day under way. A nice selection of pastry, cereal, other breads, fruit, cold meats, cheeses and hard or soft boiled eggs made breakfast enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveS19046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The reviews for the hotel are very accurate. Friendly staff, good service, clean rooms, great location, and average breakfast. Although there are two steps into the hotel from the street level, there is a small elevator that will whisk you to the hotel on the upper floors. I cannot speak highly enough of the thoughtfulness and helpfulness of Pierre and the other front desk staff. My husband has a bad knee injury that was aggravated by the cobblestone streets and steps in Florence. Originally in room 28, at the end of a long hallway with multiple small stairways, we requested another room and Pierre immediately moved us to a closer room (number 7). When we requested ice for my husband's knee to reduce the swelling (we brought ziploc bags for this purpose), not only did they provide ice, Pierre even offered us his personal ice bag. Kudos! We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GardeningFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The owners of this hotel were SO nice and made us feel so at home! It isn't fancy, but it is VERY quiet, comfortable and clean. We got great nights' sleep here. The location couldn't be better. It's a block or two from the Duomo and walking distance everywhere. At the corner down from the hotel begins the pedestrian only zone which adds to the quiet feel of the hotel. Be sure to go into Palazzo Riccardi Medici right next door and see the beautiful Procession of the Magi(?) fresco. Lots of books scattered around the hotel along with a great supply of travel books you can borrow. Wireless worked well, breakfast was good! You can pull up in front of the hotel and they will valet park your car in a nearby lot.I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Room 24 was a very spacious room with a king size bed plus two twin beds. It was very quiet; with wi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

wonderful friendly staff, breakfast excellant, rooms clean, fantastic location
lovely touch of a 2013 calender when leaving and a warm goodbye from he staff
I would return there tomorrow
room very quiet lots of space for 3 people
sky tv news and all the chargers and adapters u need in the room
lots of books to pick up ad read on the corridors
staff can book u on site seeing bus tours also
staff have lots of local knowledge of great restaurants nearby check out ZA Za's
we walked to the train station and walked all around florence as this hotel was very central and nearby all the major attractions

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked this small family-run hotel for four nights based on Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel is located on the second floor of a stately historic building, steps away from the Palazzo Riccardi Medici (the hotel building itself belonged to members of that famous family centuries ago). In the early 1850's the famous opera composer Rossini used to own it for a short while. At the back of the building the hotel extends to a former convent of nuns. Besides the fantastic location, the hotel is very well managed by the Lombardi family. Their warmth and attention was very touching. The mornings started with a nice complementary breakfast. I especially enjoyed the cappuccinos, sometimes two or three cups per breakfast! The room had high ceilings, basic but nice furnishings. The beddings/towels were immaculately clean. What else could you ask from a hotel claiming a modest two star rating. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Casci, a few weeks ago, and we were both so impressed with the warmth of the staff, as well as the cleanliness of our hotel room. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the train station, as well as the major tourist attractions, and we couldn't have been more pleased. I chose Hotel Casci based on Trip Advisor reviews and our stay there was one of the highlights of our trip to Florence.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jandj2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 411 in Florence
2,336 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#46 of 411 in Florence
817 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,766 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $96 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing