We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Outstanding Experience”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #36 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had the delightful experience of spending several days in the Hotel Casci. If I were to create a hotel it could not have been more perfect than Hotel Casci. Our taxi driver had absolutely no trouble finding the hotel. None of the businesses on the street have obvious signage so you do have to look at the walls for the name of the business.

The hotel is located on the second floor of an ancient building, but there is a very reliable elevator so there are no stairs to climb. We arrived well before check-in time, but our room was quickly made ready and our luggage delivered to our room.

There were four of us and we opted to stay in the room with two twin beds and one king-sized bed. The twin beds were set off in an arched alcove giving the impression of two rooms. There was lots of room for all of our luggage, and a good sized closet unit. The bathroom was simply heavenly. There was a stylish vanity, an abundance of towels and a deep soaking tub with a shower.

The room was immaculate. The beds were comfortable. The water was hot, and the room was warm and cozy. It also featured double-pained windows so we heard no noise from the street.

Breakfast is served in a charming room off of the lobby. The ceiling is painted in delightful scenes. The breakfast is supervised by one staff member and the lady I believe is the mother of the entire operation. They immediately bring you your choice of coffee from espresso to latte', and they keep those beverages coming as long as you wish. There is a large assortment of food including croissants, breakfast breads, coffee cake, lunch meats, cereals, an assortment of fruit juices, and a clever little device that allows you to cook your own egg to your own specifications. If you are not fussy you can just take a hard-boiled egg or two. We were certainly satisfied by the breakfast selections.

They have the breakfast available from early morning until 9:30am. On one day my husband and I slept in and did not go down to breakfast. When we finally appeared at 11am, breakfast appeared and we were fed. We left very early in the morning, and again, the owner of the hotel was up and had breakfast waiting for us. She could not have been more helpful or hospitable.

Luggage is managed by several strong young men. We never touched a suitcase. Directions are offered along with a helpful map. We asked for advanced reservations to a couple of museums and when we arrived our tickets were waiting for us. There were also several recommendations for outstanding places to eat. Certainly the best food we had in Italy was at the little restaurants in Florence recommended by the owners of our hotel. The owners are clearly familiar with the best places in the city, and always managed to secure reservations for us.

Paolo was quick to respond to my emails and made sure that we had made arrangements for everything we would do in Florence. We rented a car to drive in Tuscany, and the hotel arranged for valet parking for the car.

There is a small bar at one end of the reception area where guests may enjoy an evening beverage, bottle of water or soft drink. Cappucinos are offered through out the day. There is a huge library of tour books you can borrow to make plans once you are in Florence. They were a good supplement to the guidebooks we brought with us.

This is not a fancy, luxury hotel. It is simple, but it provides everything we would want. We really enjoyed the "family" feel of the entire hotel. It is more like visiting your grandmother than staying in a hotel, and I think the owners are just as concerned for the comfort of a guest as my grandmother ever was.

The hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance to the Duomo and the major museums. There are many great restaurants within a few blocks, and there are also lots of great stores. Some of us did a bit of shoe shopping in Florence.

My only regret is that we were not able to stay longer in this lovely hotel. We would love to return to Florence and stay again in the Hotel Casci, and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, quiet, charming hotel with all the necessary amenities. It was also the best bargain of our entire trip to Italy.

Room Tip: If you are using a wheelchair you should ask for a room near the reception desk. There are a few up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busy-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,860
    668
    84
    25
    8
See reviews for
782
1,034
170
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Fantastic locations, easy walking distance to all the main attractions. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Can not fault it at all... Will definitely stay there again... Just love it...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julietaylor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was very easy to find from the train station (SMN) and all of a block from the Duomo and even closer to the Central Market if you like to shop :). The staff were super friendly and were happy to answer our questions. The breakfast was great and the rooms were neat and clean. They even had chargers for cell phones and cameras! The bed was more comfortable than most and the room had a good amount of space.

We were surprised at how large of a hotel this was. They had 20+ rooms!

Great place to stay! We would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We had a garden view which was pretty. I would assume there are also rooms with a view of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Casci (Feb 21 – 22, 2012). The hotel is a great value and in a perfect location (within walking distance to all of Florence’s tourist attractions and the train station). I found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer. The hotel has a real family feel and you can tell they really care about their guests. I would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We came here for my Dads wedding, he booked the hotel for us all and we each had our own rooms! We stayed in number 6, very cute room, small, but cosey! The room was right next to the kitchen so in the morning it was a little noisy. The people that work there are friendliest staff I've ever come across! They spoke all different languages and were very efficient. They had a great same day laundry service to!! The location was perfect, so close to the Duomo and all the squares! LOVED IT! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexiakuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Hotel Casci is a real gold mine located within easy walking distance to everything we could possibly see in the 10 days we stayed in Florence February 17-27. We had a clean, lovely room with spacious bathroom, breakfasts each morning served from 7:30-!0:00, and a very helpful family atmosphere. We couldn't believe that the prices are so reasonable for the location and the quality of the accommodation. The people who run the place are exceptionally friendly and helpful - providing any assistance possible and excellent recommendations for trips and sight seeing. The clientele are also very international, including Italians, which makes the breakfasts so interesting. I think that they can cover most languages in dealing with customers.

We loved it so much that we would certainly stay there again when we return to Florence. In fact, we decided to use Hotel Casci as our base and to visit other cities and towns from there. It was so nice to get "home".

Bart & Tricia

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartweyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I spent a very comfortable 4 nights at Hotel Casci. The service was very good And friendly. The breakfast was also good and I appreciated the reasonably priced laundry service.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrSisyphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We are always grateful for clients' comments, even if they are not totally positive, as they help us a lot. Our hotel is located on the second floor of an ancient palace of Florence and of course the renewal in the past years has not always been easy. In any case, ALL of our rooms have big windows for natural light - some rooms is true overlook inside courtyards and may be a little dark, but in turn they are usually quieter - and yes, it is true that many of our bathrooms do not have windows (as in very many other hotels of all categories all around the world) - however they have all been renewd in the last few years and usually work well.
As far as the photos are concerned, they have all been taken in the hotel, around various rooms - we are defintely not a standard hotel and not a fancy one, we have never ever claimed to be that.
We are happy to learn that these clients enjoyed most aspects of their stay (location, cleanliness, helful and welcoming staff, breakfast, free wi-fi, etc) and hope that they will stay with us again - as mentioned many and many times, we are a small family hotel and we enhance providing good service and welcoming friendly atmosphere, so that our guests feel more friends than customers and in fact many of of them keep coming and staying with us more times.
Paolo Lomardi - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Property: Hotel Casci
Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing