We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Duomo

Piazza del Duomo
Florence, Italy (Duomo)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$51*
and up
Florence Duomo Complex Tour Including Restoration...
Ranked #5 of 351 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large city square contains the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore, the third largest cathedral in the world after St. Peter's in Rome and St. Paul's in London.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wow, great great great! We love Florence, it was our favorite spot in Italy, but piazza duomo was just great! Not to be missed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland Dorset
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely Piazza, busy, a great way to spend some time relaxing with a beer or ice cream watching the world go by!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimandsimone1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our hotel (Duomo View B&B) was situated in the Piazza which meant we got to see these beautiful buildings several times a day and I never got tired of it!
We visited the Duomo on our first day and admired the stunning architecture but the best part is the views from the Belltower. It means a climb of 463 steps (there are no lifts) but the panoramic view from the top makes it all worthwhile!
The queues for the belltower are long and seem to stay that way the whole day so I would advise getting up early and arriving just before opening. We got there at 8:15am which was just about perfect.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gemhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our hotel was just around the corner from this piazza so we passed through it every day, but every time we had to stop and appreciate the Duomo

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overwhelming eye candy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

There is no place where you can get a camera angle that captures the whole experience so unless you go there you will never appreciate how it feels to be surrounded by the two masterpieces of the Baptistery and the Duomo. The patterns in the stonework are breath taking. The rest of the plaza is devoted to beautiful period buildings...and wall to wall gaping students and tourists of all ages an nationalities.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DPearce43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Duomo also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazza del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing