We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and informative!”
Review of Florence Free Tour

Florence Free Tour
Ranked #71 of 339 Tours in Florence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend taking both tours your first day in city. We enjoyed both tours although preferred the morning one- probably because it was a shorter distance but seemed to contain a lot more information and history. The afternoon seemed more focused on art throughout the city (we are just not huge appreciators of art, personal preference) - would be interesting if that was your cup of tea. Would have been much more interesting to us if we hadn't already walked circles around city on our own.

Daniel is a very knowledgeable, interesting guide. He is friendly and easy to understand. Can't beat the price!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lissa2868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    116
    46
    26
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Guide was a no show”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

About 13 of us waited for 40 minutes for a guide to show up for the 2:00 tour. At least send a messenger to let folks know. There is a pay toilet in the plaza near where we all gathered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank justajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the best free tour :(”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have dne a lot of walking tour all round Europe which have been fantastic so I suppose we had high expectations of this one. The tour guide that took us obviously had a lot of knowledge about the history of Florence but it was not delivered to you in the best way. The group was fairly big and so hard to keep up through the streets of Florence and then by the time you reached the tour guide he was half way through what he was saying. Compared to the other tours we have been on this was a bit like a school trip with your teacher overloading you with boring information. I would recommend exploring the city yourself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
1 review
“Good Tour”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband, our daughters (in their 20's), and I took both tours in one day in late May. Our guide was Stephen (I think!), and he was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of information as well as sprinklings of humor concerning the history of Florence. He was waiting where the internet information said he would be, and he was very pleasant to talk to and patient with our questions. The tours give a really good overview and help to get to know your way around the city. We would definitely recommend them to others, especially since Florence isn't particularly easy to find your way around on your own.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank skchood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tour”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did the Medici tour, and throughly enjoyed it. Very informative guide with a gentle sense of humour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy187849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florence Free Tour also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Florence Free Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing