We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected”
Review of Hotel Maxim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maxim
Ranked #231 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel is located in 2 minutes walking distance of Duomo. Nevertheless it was only 2-star hotel, but in fact it was better - the room was quite big with very high ceiling. the room was cleaned evry day. The personnel is really friendly.
the only disadvantage - miserable breakfast. Also in the breakfast hall there were 2 women -a bit older and a bit younger, so the first one was like sergeant-major - she always was agry with all of us and during the breakfast she was standing and watching if everything is in order in the hall, if the guests are seated on the appropriate (as she believes) places. But it was short breakfast time and it didn't change the whole impression of the hotel - more than 2 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traum15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 755 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

If you are looking for a reasonable comfortable place to sleep in the center of it all in Florence - this is the place to stay. The hotel is comfortable, clean and friendly. The hostess spoke good english and gave great recommendations. Don't forget to get your discount if paying by cash.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ergot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hotel is located just steps from the Piazza della Signoria and also the Duomo. From here we walked to all the sites - Uffizi and Accademia. You are in the heart of all the fabulous shopping that Firenze is famous for! Gellato shops on every corner - not an exaggeration! The hotel is older. We stayed in a larger room with one double bed and two twin beds - so we also had a very large bathroom...tub too! Breakfast is included. The rooms have AC. The staff is not the friendliest...but the location is the best! There is a computer in the common area. They said they had Wi-Fi - for 10 euro, but, we never got it to work, so they did not charge us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at hotel maxim for four nights. The location is amazing...two blocks away from Giotto's tower/Duomo and right on a main shopping drag. Easy walk across Arno river and up to Accademia, quick taxi ride to train station. The room is fairly basic and the cleanliness is okay. The size of the shower is huge compared to others in Italy and the bed was pretty comfortable. What we enjoyed most was the dinner recommendations and helpfulness from the hostess up front, the decent breakfast spread, and free email access on a shared computer. Our room was on the backside of the hotel which is somewhat quiet as the road below is an alley way for motorcycles, however the piazza two blocks away was having a musical event each night that was very loud, but only lasted for an hour and a half.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpreugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This hotel was perfect for us and really served our needs well! We arrived early in the morning and left very late the next evening and the hotel had a wonderfully large luggage room and bathroom that we could use during the time we were checked out of our hotel. Really made our limited time in Florence hassle free!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Although the staff were not very friendly the reception area itself appeared ok, so when we entered the room we were extremely disappointed. The shower arches over the toilet which seems very unhygienic. The floors obviously hadn’t been cleaned properly as we discovered various hair strands and the bed sheets did not smell pleasant. Although the room was not one of the most expensive we researched we feel it was overpriced. Fortunately we only had to stay one night.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeli_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Maxim for three days in early September and had an enjoyable stay. The hotel was a 15-20 minute walk from the train station which was fine with big bags, and was ideally located in Florence- it is on the main pedestrianised street, and was a couple of minutes walk from most attractions (including Duomo and Uffizi gallery). We felt safe walking around the hotel, and there was no external noise (although we were at the back of the hotel). There was some internal noise but we slept fine with earplugs, and the noise was no worse than the other budget hotels we stayed at during our trip in Italy. The room was an adequate size, ensuite and had air conditioning. The bed could have been better, as it consisted of two twins made into a double (a third bed was also in the room), it was fairly comfortable, but wouldn't be a good choice for older travellers as the beds were on a metal frame that resembled a camp bed. Breakfast was good, with rolls, jams, spreadable cheese, toast, biscuits, kiwi fruits (there was no other fruit), tea & coffee. We would have appreciated some cold meats or eggs though, and the woman sorting out breakfast was a bit intimidating and wouldn't let two people sit on a four person table, even when there were plenty free. Our bathroom was a bit dodgy at times- the toilet seat almost fell off and the shower tray filled up with water really quickly, but it wasn't much of a problem for three nights. The staff were friendly (and gave us some excellent restaurant recommendations), they had two computers with free internet access and the hotel reception/corridors were nicely decorated. We would recommend this hotel as it was good value for Florence, the facilities met our needs and it was ideally located.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline_223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#178 of 410 in Florence
774 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#204 of 410 in Florence
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#189 of 410 in Florence
425 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#302 of 410 in Florence
306 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#211 of 410 in Florence
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $84 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maxim 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maxim is located in Florence historical city centre, between the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery.All major sights and monuments are a few steps from our hotel.The Maxim has, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all have bathroom; all equipped with airconditioning in summer, telephone; satellite tv, Wi-Fi internet connection, safe and hairdryers.The hotel staff will be at your disposal to advise you and make your stay unforgettable.L'hotel Maxim, categoria 2 stelle, si trova a 50 metri dal Duomo e dal Museo degli Ufizzi. L'hotel all'apparenza introvabile, si trova invece al terzo piano dell'immobile dove sta il Disney Store.La reception è al terzo piano con ascensore. L'albergo offre il trattamnento della prima colazione incluso nel prezzo ed ha solo camere con bagno.Singole, doppie, triple e quadruple con aria condizionata d'estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maxim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing