We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Looked weird but was great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maxim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maxim
Ranked #194 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looked weird but was great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just needed a hotel for an overnight in Florence to see the Ufitzi and other sights. Friends stayed in the Axion on the floors below. Its right next to the Duomo and above a Disney Store. The opening seemed creepy and dirty but once you reached the reception you were greeted by the most upbeat and happy staff. I saw them work out tours for people before us. The drew us maps to where we wanted to go. The room was VERY tiny but we were just sleeping there. Bathroom was adequate and gurgled but was very clean. Very quiet for being in the middle of things. We were a group of six and the hotel held our luggage and called a taxi to pick us up to take us to our next destination. They even waved goodby to us from the window of the hotel. This was the Happiest Hotel in Italy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 618MikeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    330
    126
    34
    14
See reviews for
176
242
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Maxim for purely instrumental reasons. I booked at the last minute, and this was an inexpensive and convenient option.
Plusses: Very central, clean, adequate. Inexpensive. Breakfast very basic but adequate.
Minuses: Very plain, very basic bathrooms, entire hotel is covered with amateur artwork by what I would imagine are friends of the owners. (There isn't anything wrong with this, and the paintings are anything but offensive -- still lifes and landscapes -- but are just excessively busy.
Details, if you care:
Breakfast is coffee, juices, croissants (not special), bread, butter and jam, yogurts, what appeared to be canned fruit salad, some sad apples as fruit. But it was fine.
Bathrooms have an adequate (not better) shower, no tub. The shampoo comes in little single-serving packs: they give you TWO. The towels are those thin European dishcloths, not real towels.
That said, my room at least (which had a window onto the air shaft, and hence no "view", although no room in this hotel would have one since it is in the heart of the pedestrian zone, was quiet. There is a nutty band of hari krishnas chanting endlessly in central Florence, not to mention various bands and drunken tourists, and nevertheless I slept well.
This hotel is to be recommended if you want nothing from a hotel beyond a night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid_historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a very surprising 2 star hotel. The reception staff are beyond helpful. They can not do enough for you. Every single member of reception went out of their way to help. The best service I have ever had in a hotel on my travels around the world. The room was basic but met all of our needs. The hotel is very well positioned in town for sightseeing and restaurants etc. As a city centre hotel it was a little noisy at night but all within reason. I mention as if you are seeking 100% tranquility then this is not for you. But if you are looking for an incredibly priced jewel in a crown of four and five star hotels this is it. Thank you all so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Econolodgesurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We weren’t sure about staying in a two-star, but Maxim pleasantly surprised us. It is located on the 3rd floor of a building just steps from the Duomo and a few blocks from the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio. It was a bit like going to grandma’s house; everything was neat and clean with an assortment of beautiful furniture and artwork in the lobby and hallways and less exciting, functional furniture in the rooms. Some of the furniture and fixtures in our room had obviously been broken and repaired with love—why throw something out if it is still functional? The towels were large like beach towels which is not often the case when travelling. There was a small, older TV in the room which we didn’t have time to watch during our stay, but we did return to the hotel to watch the World Cup on the big-screen TV in the lobby with other guests. There are no refrigerators in the rooms but a large honour-bar in the lobby where you can find cold water and soft-drinks 24/7. The hotel offers wi-fi but also has 3 stand-alone computers in the lobby for guests to use with a 15-minute limit. The breakfast was your standard buffet with warm croissants, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and juice (the only thing missing was a little protein: eggs, meat, cheese, etc.). A machine was available for you to make your own coffee, cappuccino, or hot chocolate. There are also umbrellas in the lobby for guests to borrow. Lorella at the reception desk is just lovely and extremely helpful (we heard her speak French, Italian and English very well!)

It was walking distance from the train station. Your best bet is to follow a map towards the Duomo. Once you are standing in front of (and facing) the Duomo, turn to your right and walk down Calzaiuoli. It will be #11 on your right just before the Disney store. Ring the buzzer to enter. There is a small elevator that will take you to the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a room on the same floor as the lobby to avoid climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for three nights so it wasn't too bad but wouldn't recommend for an extended stay. Florence is really small so anywhere in town you're only a few minutes walk from the major sights. That makes the only positive about this hotel a little less appealing. Room felt dirty, crumbs in the armoire, college dormitory feel to the bath room. Staff was very nice and breakfast was good. Nice cappuccino/ coffee machine but slow and got backed up with ppl waiting every morning. About 8 flights of stairs or a tiny little elevator lift ride up to the lobby, followed by tiny little hallways that you could barely move through and more stairs to climb. Underwhelmed, wouldn't stay here again now that we know the location wasn't that big of a help.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilleygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

-Location is amazing although a bit difficult to find. Right on the main road, close to the duomo and inside the shopping district. You cannot beat that.
-There is a lift to carry your luggage to the Reception but NOT to your room. You will have to do that yourself and if you are the lucky one (pun intended) to get a room on a higher floor, like we did,you have to walk all the way and then carry your bags through a flight of stairs and then reach your room.We laughed stating we need a map to find our room first and then of the city.
-Staff was very friendly and helpful.
-Breakfast selection was good.They play old music in the radio which is nice.
-Station is about 10minutes walking distance.
-Room and bathroom was tiny but clean. Very very small in size.We just had enough space to store our luggage and no space to move at all.
-Wi fi was good.
-Get your own adapter, if possible. They do not have any to rent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyankaMaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

You can drive here but be aware you will get looks when you drive down the pedestrian only area. The room was nice, but the AC was not yet turned on so we left the window open. This is not recommended for light sleepers as it will keep you awake all night.

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#164 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#189 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#259 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#183 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#179 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#250 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim

Property: Hotel Maxim
Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maxim 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maxim is located in Florence historical city centre, between the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery.All major sights and monuments are a few steps from our hotel.The Maxim has, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all have bathroom; all equipped with airconditioning in summer, telephone; satellite tv, Wi-Fi internet connection, safe and hairdryers.The hotel staff will be at your disposal to advise you and make your stay unforgettable.L'hotel Maxim, categoria 2 stelle, si trova a 50 metri dal Duomo e dal Museo degli Ufizzi. L'hotel all'apparenza introvabile, si trova invece al terzo piano dell'immobile dove sta il Disney Store.La reception è al terzo piano con ascensore. L'albergo offre il trattamnento della prima colazione incluso nel prezzo ed ha solo camere con bagno.Singole, doppie, triple e quadruple con aria condizionata d'estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maxim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing