We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21 days with great hospitality”
Review of Hotel Maxim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maxim
Ranked #232 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is a great bargain for budget travel to Florence. Incredible location, great breakfast, front desk service. Ask for interior rooms to avoid inevitable early morning garbage pickups and restaurant deliveries, late evening street noise of Florence. Enjoy the bells wherever you are!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 755 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

the location is wonderful, 15 mins from the train station right on the main tourist street between the cathedral and Piazza Signoria. This being said, it can be a bit noisy outside and the windows don't do much for blocking the noise. Our room seemed old and outdated with dark paneling and furniture, like something from my grandmother's house. The shower had low water pressure and the towels had been bleached way too many times. The room had two windows, one with an old ratty curtain that kept most of the light out, and the other with a lace curtain and blinds that looked like it had been attacked by a cat too many times and did nothing to keep the light out. The internet was mediocre at best but the breakfast was decent with a selection of pastries, yogurt, cereals (tasted terrible) delicious hot chocolate and coffees. They charge a city tax of 2€/person/night which isn't included in the total price you find online.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012 for two nights during our honeymoon. The room was large (for Italy) and the bathroom was clean. Breakfast was very good. Our toilet ran often and was difficult to flush. The noise from the street (or maybe it was just Florence itself!) was very loud and made it difficult for my wife to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street or alley. Very, very loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANIEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

As others have said the location of this hotel is it's greatest asset. Our room was the largest we had during our holiday in Italy with a big bathroom. It was let down by the fact that the air conditioning was not working and it was needed! The staff were not able to help by either getting it fixed or changing our room which led to a lack of sleep and an uncomfortable stay Overall we found the staff unhelpful and although polite not welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threekiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good points:The hotel is in a perfect location and has a good price, you can walk to many turistic points. Bad points:The staff are not cordial and to arrive at the hotel by car was not easy because so many streets were blocked, so we lost many time to find a way to arrive at the hotel. The room was not that clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel helped to keep my lugguage for two days before my checking. Its location is very convenient to duomo and shopping center. I will choose to stay the hotel again when I am back to Florence. The breakfast is quite simple, anyway it is not a continental one

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ua123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The other reviews pretty sum up what you need to know about this place. Don't be put off by the fact that the entrance is more like going into a condo or B&B and not an actual big city hotel. The staff are very helpful and accommodating and you won't find a more central location at such a good price. Note, because this hotel is so central, it gets very loud at night with street performers going on late into the night. The breakfast is excellent. Don't bring a car into central Florence, it's more of a pain that a help -- take the train. We asked the Hotel staff to make our reservations at the Uffizi and Accademia and they did so at no charge. We really appreciated that. It is a 10 min walk to both locations from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zipz503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#187 of 410 in Florence
774 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#347 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#209 of 410 in Florence
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#177 of 410 in Florence
427 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#302 of 410 in Florence
306 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#208 of 410 in Florence
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $84 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maxim 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maxim is located in Florence historical city centre, between the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery.All major sights and monuments are a few steps from our hotel.The Maxim has, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all have bathroom; all equipped with airconditioning in summer, telephone; satellite tv, Wi-Fi internet connection, safe and hairdryers.The hotel staff will be at your disposal to advise you and make your stay unforgettable.L'hotel Maxim, categoria 2 stelle, si trova a 50 metri dal Duomo e dal Museo degli Ufizzi. L'hotel all'apparenza introvabile, si trova invece al terzo piano dell'immobile dove sta il Disney Store.La reception è al terzo piano con ascensore. L'albergo offre il trattamnento della prima colazione incluso nel prezzo ed ha solo camere con bagno.Singole, doppie, triple e quadruple con aria condizionata d'estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maxim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing