We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but very very basic”
Review of Hotel Maxim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maxim
Ranked #220 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good Location, but the reviews on trip advisor are misleading. This is a very basic 1 to 2 star hotel. It could do with a good clean. Bathrooms are very basic. I am sure there are better hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 749 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

Friendly staff--very clean--and a great location--close to the cathedral. Air conditioned with a safe--also had a t.v. Staff even made a reservations for me at the Accademia and Uffizi.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double and it was fine. There is no restaurant but the breakfast was very nice--grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadfordLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just 50 yards from the Cathedral!!. Very quiet,clean, and a friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was a traditional European affair with something for everyone. We had a quad room with a large bathroom more then adequate for four adults. There is an elevator, room safe and air conditioning that all worked fine. All the important sights are within a ten to twenty minute walk from the hotel, including the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveEurope411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you believe the real estate axiom that the three most important things in real estate are, "Location, location, location", then this is the place for you, well either this or the Hotel Axial which shares the building. Both hotels are on the main (pedestrian) thoroughfare that runs between the Piazz della Signora and the Cathedral. While the location rocks, if stairs aren't your thing, then enjoy your stay at the Axial! I can honestly say that after a long day of walking or tower climbing, passing the door of the Axial on the way to the Maxim was discouraging. Our room was a triple, overlooking the inner courtyard. It was rather simple in terms of furnishings but it was certainly adequate for oiur needs. We had our own bathroom which was a reasonable size and was clean. Though nowhere near North American standards (thank goodness!), a fine breakfast is provided. Besides the long walk up to the room, my only beef is them bells - every hour on the hour.. Seriously Florence? we all have watches or cell phones and we don't need to know the time before 6 am - at the earliest! (Though it does add to the charm.) This ain't your fancy, schmanzy hotel (maybe the Axial is, who knows) but I'd return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great stay at the Maxim. The staff was very helpful and answered all our questions. They recommended the best gelato place! And the location can't be beat - between the Duomo and the Piazzo Vechio. And Florence, of course, is amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Rented two rooms for six (6) people June 25-27,2012. Family vacation in Italy with second leg of trip in Florence. All of the six adults had only positive assessment of our 3-day stay. Location, location, location... extremely close to Duomo, Accademia, Uffizi, & Ponte Vecchio... all no more than 10 minutes and more often 5 minute walk. Environment for an older hotel were fine and defined the quaint-ness. Hotel staff were amazing and very accomodating... One individual could speak five languages and stated she was Romanian... most of the staff was multi-liguistic... Italian-French-English, etc., Would we stay again at MAXIM Hotel...absolutely.Cost? I paid the same price for 3 nights in Florence as I did for 1 night in Rome. After our morning travel, the Hotel offered a refreshing respite during the high heat of the day before we journeyed back out in afternoon and evening hours. The food... well managed, selection was great.. tables were spotless... had to give individual managing credit..daily she did a great job. Where you read negative comments from people ... please ignore.. they are unfounded! The experience and proximity to historical elements was great!

Room Tip: Realize the Hotel is downtown... period. So you may infrequently here evening noise or early a.m. de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights, then went to Venice and returned for one more night. They let us keep some suitcases in their baggage room while we were gone, which we appreciated. They have several computers in the lobby so you can use the internet and check our emails. Breakfast was good, the rooms were nice. The location can't be beat! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahS_1243501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#181 of 410 in Florence
770 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#211 of 410 in Florence
678 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#349 of 410 in Florence
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#302 of 410 in Florence
302 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#219 of 410 in Florence
110 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#169 of 410 in Florence
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $87 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maxim 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maxim is located in Florence historical city centre, between the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery.All major sights and monuments are a few steps from our hotel.The Maxim has, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all have bathroom; all equipped with airconditioning in summer, telephone; satellite tv, Wi-Fi internet connection, safe and hairdryers.The hotel staff will be at your disposal to advise you and make your stay unforgettable.L'hotel Maxim, categoria 2 stelle, si trova a 50 metri dal Duomo e dal Museo degli Ufizzi. L'hotel all'apparenza introvabile, si trova invece al terzo piano dell'immobile dove sta il Disney Store.La reception è al terzo piano con ascensore. L'albergo offre il trattamnento della prima colazione incluso nel prezzo ed ha solo camere con bagno.Singole, doppie, triple e quadruple con aria condizionata d'estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maxim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing