We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cavour
Ranked #114 of 421 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel is slap bang in the center of historic Florence and you can easily walk to all the major attractions. That in itself is a huge plus.
My bedroom was very nice with tea and coffee making facilities, robe/slippers etc, bed was fab. The bathroom however was dated in comparision with no bathtub and no rooms available with one - so I made do.
The breakfast is OK. If you like your coffee in the morning they have pots of filter stewing which is disappointing considering you're in Italy. They made me a fresh one though when I asked - it's a hassle though.
Angels winebar/restaurant is quite mod and very popular with local revellers at the weekends. You'd be doing well to even get into the place on Saturday pm; not good if you want a quiet glass of whatever in your hotel. Intended to eat here on Sunday evening but it was closed. Nice hotel with no restaurant - not good.
The hotel advertises that it has a spa - no information available on this in the room.
Sarky dame on reception as well.
All in all though a good option in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FELICIAFELICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your positive review and we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay especially for the central position of our hotel which enables our guests to visit all the main attractions of Florence. We are very sorry for the inconvenience at Angel’s restaurant and we assure you we are doing our best to find a solution to this problem. We apologize that you haven’t found any information about our mini Spa so for this reason we are glad to offer you a free entrance for the spa on your next stay at Grand Hotel Cavour.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    588
    223
    90
    58
See reviews for
244
773
62
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

I was suspicious with the price and location and not knowing anything about Florence. But this hotel was superb! The only thing missing was in-room wifi. The included breakfast was bountiful and delicious. The front desk help was wonderful. The room was clean and stylish, although the bathroom was dark, the shower was a tub and a hose, but the water pressure was good and it wasn't too difficult to shower.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodiek100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the opinion about our services, I shared your review with our entire staff and we hope to have you soon as our guest again.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel was nice and in a FANTASTIC location. Florence is very walkable, but the hotel's location put us right in the middle of everything. The views from the rooftop deck were wonderful - especially at night. The bathroom was nice and the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very accomodating - helping with a power converter and internet access in another part of the hotel when the lobby kiosk was taken. We would stay here again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bps75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad that yours accommodation has been comfortable and pleasant.We hope to have you back soon; meanwhile subscribe our newsletter and visit our website to enjoy our best offers in every season.

Best regardsThe Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It's easy to walk to any of the major attractions of Florence from here. The rooftop lounge is lovely with a FANTASTIC view. Our room was sufficient. A few places on the wall (mostly near the suitcase holder) can use a bit of paint touch up. The bathroom would benefit greatly from better lighting as it was a bit dark.
The breakfast was large and more than sufficient with a huge variety of foods-eggs, meats, cereal etc...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed here Oct 2-4. Two women, long-time friends, traveling together. Booked hotel via Expedia, and great rate. (Believe we did get "Expedia" room, in that it was quite small. Desk staff said it was the "superior", vs their "standard", so can't imagine how small the standard must be - but then the rooms run small in Europe in general. They had a large group in hotel that night and were going to look for a better room for us on 2nd day, but we decided to stay vs relocate rooms mid-stay). While a bit tight, overall the room was very clean, comfortable beds, nice sized and modern bathroom. The small room was more than offset by the outstanding location of the hotel, the rooftop deck with view of city, and the terrific complimentary breakfast each morning. Hotel is a short walk to virtually all the great sights, and great restaurants right near by as well - Yellow Bar for great pizza and other casual dining; Acqua al 2 for more of a full menu and mid-range good food. Bar in the hotel is nice for a drink as well. Did not eat in Angels, the hotel's restaurant, but wish we had - it's supposed to be good. Right in the middle of great shopping as well. If you're looking for a leather jacket, stop in to see Marco at M.C. Bello about a block down to the right of the hotel on same side of street. He's also a great source of info on where to eat and what to do, and speaks English fluently. The hotel front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in the heart of the city, and there is street noise in AM and at night, which adds to or takes away from the experience, depending on your preferences.

I would definitely stay here again on next trip Florence. Wouldn't even look for another option.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband and 18 month old daughter. The location was fantastic, the room was spectacular and very modern in furnishing. The breakfast was good and if you chose could go up to the rooftop to eat it, which had a wonderful view of the city. The staff were friendly and very accomodating. They gave us a excellent restaurant recommendation our last night in Italy called Boccanegra. It was the best meal we had in our 2 week stay and all of Italy and ended our trip the perfect way.

The only issues we had with this hotel were that the air conditioning in our room was not working and when we called to complain the staff relayed that it was illegal to keep air conditioning on during this time of year. I hope this was just something lost in translation but you do not travel and pay good money to stay in a hotel with air conditioning to be told something like that. I had trouble sleeping because of it and definitely would not stay here again even with all of the positives I mentioned if I know they will continue to have problems with their air conditioning. We were also told that many guests were calling and complaining about the same issue. I also noticed afterward when I read reviews for this hotel that there have been numerous complaints about this issue. I highly recommend the management who I know reads this review to make that a top priority for them to fix. Lastly, there was a very strong sewary odor especially in the hallways and near the elevator. A four start hotel should not have that kind of smell anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Loved this hotel, very clean and great breakfast. Centrally located to all of florence. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants( Mamma Mia and Yellow Bar- both great!!). Would stay here again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirenGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Dear Guest,

it is a pleasure for us having you as our guest and knowing that you had a wonderful stay.
Thank you for recommending our hotel

Best regards
The Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cavour

Property: Grand Hotel Cavour
Address: Via del Proconsolo, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#133 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#143 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cavour 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cavour is a 4 star hotel located in a historic building of 1300 belonged to the Medici family. The structure is characterized by a majestic hall with colonnades and stucco of the time, on the same floor there is our Restaurant with American bar decorated in a cosmopolitan and lounge style where you can admire the frescoes by the artist Galileo Chini. Our rooms, recently renovated, designed in boutique style with fine furnishings, hardwood floors and frescoes that recall the age Renaissance are located on 6 floors and are ideal for a romantic weekend or for those traveling for business. The upstairs rooms have breathtaking views where you can admire the Palazzo Vecchio, the ancient Torre del Bargello and the Brunelleschi's Dome. Each room has a set with a kettle with coffee and tea, minibar, LCD TV, free WiFi, safe and hairdryer. Our suites are very spacious and can easily accommodate a family group or your honeymoon. On the sixth floor you will find our wonderful Divine Terrace where you can enjoy our cocktails and treat yourself to the most beautiful view of Florence. We offer our guests a small fitness center with turkish bath and 3 meeting rooms. We are in the district 1 in limited traffic between Dome and Piazza della Signoria 5 minutes walking from the Santa Maria Novella train station and close to the major shopping centers and cafes. In front of the hotel there is a loading and unloading area where you can live your car and park it with valet service in nearby garages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing