We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.81*
and up
Galileo Galilei Private Science Tour
Ranked #32 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in an old palace that was restored in the mid-1800s, this science museum houses an impressive collection of scientific instruments dating from the 13th century.
essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So much to learn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were seeking respite for kids from art and religion overload and spotted this museum on trip advisor. With a fairly keen interest in science found we still learnt so much in a short space o time. Kids greatly benefited from 5E rental of personal video guides which were very easy to use and gave general or detailed overview of each room or exhibit. What did 14 and 9 year old love h most out of all the wondrous humanity enhancing exhibits....Galileo's body parts in a jar of course. Boys will be boys!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    494
    173
    41
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful displays of fascinating exhibits, well explained, well lit and well put together. A great museum and very interesting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahajtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little break from art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic museum! So much to see and learn about. I'm a big art lover, but this museum just proves that Florence has more than Renaissance art to offer. Fascinating couple of hours we spent here and absolutely loved the fun games at the end.

I'm not sure how interesting it is for young children. I actually saw a toddler thwack a Galileo original because it wasn't protected and was at hand height for active little people. Just something to beware of.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahecowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
172 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“This man was incredible!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We kind of stumble upon the museum as we were headed for the river, and I'm glad we did. We spent a couple of hours exploring all the displays, historical scientific instruments that were used through-out the centuries to advance the sciences. A vast array of sciences are displayed - from the human body to astronomy. There was a special display of bicycles through the years that we really enjoyed being cyclists ourselves. The gift shop folks were not the friendliest people we encountered in our travels, but maybe they were having and day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ReidArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
“A museum for young kids and old ones too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

It's hard to imagine how much there is to see in such a small building. The curators are to be commended for the collection and their organization of it. The explanations of the scientific antiques are excellent, as are the modern videos.

Wherever we go, I try to combine a little scientific and cultural learning with a lot of good meals. This museum was definitely worth several meals and extra desserts! Other reviewers have mentioned the interactive section near the exit of the museum. I'm still chuckling over the exhibits and games there. A Must See.

The view of the Arno River is pretty spectacular too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigis_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing