We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO info on Gelielo at all!”

Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.31*
and up
Galileo Galilei Private Science Tour
Ranked #36 of 443 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in an old palace that was restored in the mid-1800s, this science museum houses an impressive collection of scientific instruments dating from the 13th century.
Hants
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NO info on Gelielo at all!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a big disappointment. NO info about Galileo himself, his life, nor how he came to discover that the planet Earth is not the centre of the universe. Very well done what WAS there, good range of old instruments, but very poor on the stories behind them. Not worth seeing at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathedralvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    503
    177
    42
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not about Galileo Galilei's work. Jut his name”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A lot of interesting instruments in science and astronomy from the last few centuries. I was looking for a museum about Galileo Galilei. His work and accomplishments. In this case a personal disappointment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Level Contributor
166 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Truly unique!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This was truly a unique museum. My husband and I spent hours scouring through the treasures. The old globes and scientific instruments are worth the stop.
We loved it but I would not suggest for children under 13 because not enough activity to keep their interest...from my perspective!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisalisala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous for enquiring minds!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

An underpatronised but fabulous collection of scientific objects (and fascinating videos). The collection included Galileo's telescope through which he identified Jupiter's moons, globes of the known world at the time, navigational and meteorological instruments, measuring devices and many other displays of interest. Our 7 year old was really interested and we could have lingered longer but time was against us. Very impressive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hatfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very interesting and educational museum”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have to agree with other reviewers. After 1000's of paintings and frescos of the same thing over and over again it was very nice to see something different. Like the archeological museum this was different.
It is amazing on how "advanced" some of the thinkers and inventors were back then. Many of he things you saw are still being used today or what we have today is based on their inventions.
It should be on every ones must see list, especially if you have been "churched" to death.

BObK

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank B0bK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing