We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.81*
and up
Galileo Galilei Private Science Tour
Ranked #32 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in an old palace that was restored in the mid-1800s, this science museum houses an impressive collection of scientific instruments dating from the 13th century.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very well laid out displays, the animations really brought the science to life.

Photos are allowed, just no flash photos. If you are into science or history, I can't imagine you being bored by the experience.

Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    494
    173
    41
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I found this museum to be rather lacking. It's not that it was terrible, just not really worth the nine euros to get into.

Good:
Their interactive displays were top notch. I think they were very cool, well done and even great for kids.
Signage is in well translated English and they have Galileo's fingers if you are into that kind of thing.

Bad:
Nothing was really "wow". As much as I love science it really is just a museum of old scientific instruments. There is nothing that makes this place stand out and it comparable to a museum of half its admission price. Indeed had I spent half the price to get in I might be more OK with this place.
Also they don't allow photos? I actually don't remember that as no one said anything to me and I got several... but if they don't that is lame.

Bottom line:
Too expensive for what it is. Not enough astronomy and time could be better spent in a city as awesome as Florence

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful interactive museum - great for kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the Museo Galileo in August 2012. We spent about 3 hours there, more time than at ANY other attraction, including the Vatican. This museum has so many interactive displays that teach scientific principles in such an entertaining fashion. We watched almost all of the videos which were terrific. And, it was completely uncrowded (we went mid-morning). It has lots of old machines, collections of old barometers, thermometers, telescopes and navigation tools. The special display in August was optical illusions which I really liked. There were celestial and terrestrial globes, clocks, tools of measurement, anatomical and pharmaceutical displays and perspective aberrations. Super museum!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Do not miss this museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

How many rainy days are there in summer in Florence? If it had not rained one day of our visit, we would not have found this place! WONDERFUL! Plenty of helpful animations and help to understand the science. Allow plenty of time for your visit. There is a lift for those who find stairs diffiult. It was quite mind-blowing to be close to Galileo's telescope and Santucci's Ptolemaic Model of the Universe took my breath away. The 'teaching' models of babies in the womb were truly amazing...it was difficult to keep in my head that these exhibits were made so long ago.
There was a room where you could 'play' with science too.
Even if you do not have a scientific bone in your body, this museum is well worth a visit, even for the sheer beauty of some of the exhibits!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank redcar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive, Not enough explanation in english, Not much to see”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Expensive, Not enough explanation in english, Not much to see...

Was very disapointed as it is boring to see things without proper explanations...

Interactive part wasn't so impressive aswell.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing