We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll love the experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercato Centrale

Mercato Centrale
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.44*
and up
Cooking Lesson: From The Market To The Table in Florence
Ranked #22 of 426 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open-air market that has a cast-iron structure dating back to 1874, which offers a variety of food shops catering to local residents and restaurants.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You'll love the experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Mercato Centrale is such a cool, local place to pop in and visit and it is also a place to pick up some gifts (chocolates, cheese, truffles, etc...) for those back home. The endless fresh fruits, fruit juices, vegetables, meats and cheeses are worth a stroll. While there was always a long line for the popular tripe sandwich, towards the back of the market, where the seafood is located, treat yourself to the fun experience of ordering fresh-from-the-ocean the made-to-order fried calamari, fish or shrimp baskets! Whatever they sell, they fry - just ask. The music is blasting, the gregarious cook uses some entertaining moves to flour the seafood before tossing it into the fryer, the other owner takes care of the people purchasing to go, while at the same time, offering all those who wait for their delicious fried seafood baskets a generous plastic cup of white wine! You can even ask for seconds!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank gabymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,973
    2,424
    564
    171
    73
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All time favorite place in Firenze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I could roam around this market for hours. The downstairs has many small shops selling items ranging from fresh pastas, breads and pastries, to meats, cheeses and olive oils. A great spot to pick up gifts. The upstairs has all of the fresh produce as well as a stand with nuts and dried fruit. Great to keep on hand as snacks during your stay. Be sure to get a cappuccino while you are there, as well. I also recommend having lunch at one of the restaurants downstairs. Definitely a fun experience!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank VinoGalBoston823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gastronomia Perini . . . BUYER BEWARE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I had wonderful experiences visiting the Mercato Centrale every day of our 2007 visit to Florence. It began with a cup of expresso and proceeded to a marvelous tour of the sights, sounds, aromas, and tastes of fresh vegetables and fruits, meats and cheeses being bought and sold. Unfortunately, our 2012 Mercato Centrale experience was spoiled by being a sucker at Perini's meat and cheese counter. I wish I had read the TripAdvisor "DO NOT BUY FROM Gastronomia Perini” review. Buyer Beware.

Helpful?
4 Thank A J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Visiting for years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I lived in Italy in the 70;s and we travelled to Florence frequently. The highlight of the trip was the Central Market and surrounding carts. THe food inside is so great to taste and look at. We often bought various products to take to our home in Italy, and we visit there each time we go to Italy to buy Parmigiano CHeese to take to the US and lots of leather goods. Bargain on the leather-They negotiate

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food and Great Prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Save yourself some money and eat here for lunch and then get carry-out for dinner. The food is lovingly (really!) displayed. The market smells clean and fresh -- including the areas where they sell seafood and meat. We didn't find this market until our last day there -- what a shame. Wine is very affordable here...huge selection. This is where we figured out why Italian food is so good -- they start with very fine products.
OH! Everyone will tell you that you can bring vacuum-paked meat that has a date and producer label on it back to the States with you. This is true only if you lie and don't declare it. Customs took all of our sausage, leaving us with our wine and cheese. So if you want to bring meat, be prepared to risk getting caught and paying a $300 fine or "forgetting" to declare it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato Centrale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Mercato Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing