We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go see it”
Review of Palazzo Vecchio

Palazzo Vecchio
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.82*
and up
Palazzo Vecchio Tour Including the Arnolfo Tower and Underground
Ranked #15 of 631 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Florence's principal palace was begun in 1299 and built as the seat of the Signoria, the fathers of the city's republican government.
Quebec City
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go see it”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lots to see there, bring your camera and be sure to go up the tower, it's really fascinating. You'll also have a breathtaking view of the city and able to take nice shots of the Duomo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,277
    1,776
    313
    43
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Like history see great views from upper terrace”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The plaza is awesome and the museum very interesting. The art on floor and walls wonderful not a lot of furniture and quite the maze to manage all rooms. Didn't do tower w bad knees only museum, could not find any gift shop to get postcards or book, not all that well organized in that way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great View, Not Overcrowded, Excellent History”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The view from the top of the tower rivals that of the Duomo, it is all stairs up and there is a maximum number of people allowed up the tower at any time (25, I was told by the usher) that it is never crowded. Photos are best from the battlement area rather than the top as the walls are high - it was afterall a fortress tower.

The family history of the Medici's is here and the Palazzo is surprisingly huge, it took many hours to go through and the back rooms with plenty of artifacts. The paintings are amazing and the rooms are beautiful...the Salone dei Cinquecento is a massive 52metres x 23metres and there are original artworks from some of the most famous artisens - this is where Michaelangelo was working prior to being summoned to the Sistine Chapel.

We didn't do the 'secrets tour' however it would have been interesting to do so. Everyone from our 9yo to the adults enjoyed this experience, so would recommend highly recommend the small charge to enter (ensure you get the tower pass too).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MyView2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great views of the city especially from the tower but the building itself is rather empty except from the exceptional ceilings so you don't really get a sense of what it was like to live there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just as they said!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was traveling alone at this point, and I am thrilled that I was able to see this area. My trusty map was on point and Very easy to follow. With the tips about the potiential pickpockets--which I had NO attempts made or problems whatsoever--I was not afraid nor nervous and I even found the ATM I needed for more euros!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulOne124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Vecchio also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Palazzo Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing