We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Piazza”

Piazza della Repubblica
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.49*
and up
Aperitivo Tour of Florence
Ranked #47 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This square marks the ancient heart of Florence and is the site of the Giubbe Rosse café where intellectuals and artists met in the early years of the 20th century.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Piazza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Piazza della Repubblica is one of the main piazzas of Florence. It is situated between the piazza containing the Duomo and Piazza Della Signoria, home of the Palazzo Vecchio.

It is flanked by boutiques and touristy restaurants. For a more traditional Florentine feel, head to the Oltrarno.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank capnplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    356
    141
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
World
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sit back and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite Piazza in Florence. There is always something interesting going on and there are many quaint cafés surrounding it. The café at the Savoy is my favorite, with a nice menu and a variety of drinks ( served with unbelievably large and delicious olives, freshly roasted almonds and chips ( or capers). Our first night, we were enchanted by a woman singing from La Traviata, by Verdi. She sang for over an hour. Listening to a talented Opera singer sipping wine in such a beautiful setting was a moment that will forever be etched in my mind. Another night, a group of young musicians were performing and students, couples even children began dancing. I've seen jugglers, lots of people selling their goods, musicians etc. but the point is, there's always something going on and I love it! Today is the first Saturday of March and there is a Farmer's Market. It is held the first Saturday of every month except in summer. Runs approx. 8:30-8:00 and sells local produce, wines etc. There are many places to eat, grab a coffee, gelato in the area as well as upper end shopping. It is a central location, close to all of the places of interest. Not to be missed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chefintraining4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milawa, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“The Heart of Florence.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

You always seem to walk through this Piazza on your way to another Florence treasure. Overall just an open space but i'll always remember this area because every day it was the start of our next adventure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Farmers Market!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

There is an excellent Farmers Market here a few times a month with assorted veggies, baked goods, meats, cheese, wine, crafts and much more! The market has a website (you can always google "mercatale di firenze" incase this review removes the link) but like all Italian websites, don't be shocked to get there and find it holds different hours!

There are a few coffee shops and restaurants around the Piazza as well, which are nice for people watching in warm weather.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ozkrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
304 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Busy piazza yet nice to visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I did not spend much time here but enjoyed the time I did. Sitting back and people watching is enjoyable yet, as others mentioned, is hampered by all of the street vendors. If you can look past this and enjoy everything else, it is a fun place to be.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza della Repubblica also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazza della Repubblica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing