We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Magnificent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #28 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

As the third stop on our Italian Grand Tour, the Westin Excelsior is by far the most amazing and beautiful hotel we have been at. The building, the room, the service - all was the most spectacular. The Ponte Vecchio from our balcony was romantic & gorgeous. Thank You so much.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rose2li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Rose2li,

Thank you for taking the time to post your extraordinary review!
We are really honored to know that The Westin Excelsior is at the top of your preferences, thank you!
It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

If you looking for a place to impress your girlfriend, you have to go to this hotel with this amazing and very class terrace on the rooftop.
The view and the atmospher is very romantic.
You will be less impressed by the food.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Olivier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Oliver S,

Thank you very much for having shared your comments with us.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the amazing views of Florence from our rooftop bar and restaurant.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin Excelsior Florence.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights - very comfortable hotel with views over the Arno River. Well situated - about 10-15 walk to the Ufizzi Gallery and Duomo through some lovely narrow streets. We ate out each night but enjoyed a cocktail on the rooftop restaurant/bar and enjoyed lovely views across Florence. The breakfast was good with a wide range of food available - there were a number of tour parties there but the tables are well spaced and we did not feel crowded. One complaint is that there is no wifi in the room unless you have their loyalty card (it is free in the reception area) - for a hotel of this standing I think this marks it down. Luckily my husband is a member and we were offered a free drink or free wifi in the room and we went for wifi, but it should be available to everyone. The staff were all very attentive and helpful when we asked the concierge for help regarding restaurants, car hire etc. We checked out later in the day and they kept our luggage safe until we returned to collect it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzyb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Lizzyb28,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at our Westin Excelsior Florence.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the location of our property, the wonderful view of Florence and our “attentive and helpful” staff.
Please let us also thank you for your feedback concerning wifi; it will be taken into consideration in order to improve the quality of service we provide our guests.
We sincerely wish we will have the chance to welcome you again to the Westin Excelsior in Florence.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is breathtaking. The building is gorgeous and the rooms are stunning. The workers are very nice. Especially Davide. He gave us a great riverside room, but it was on a lower floor and we called him and asked him if he could change. He was up in our room in 5 minutes and showed us 3 more rooms and got us a room 3 floors up with an even better view.
I think the rooms with a river view with a balcony are the best, but to each their own.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank NYC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
It is great to learn that you appreciated the property, which has been recently refurbished, and mostly important it is a true honor to know that you enjoyed the service provided by our team; we assure you we will pass your amazing feedback on to the staff, especially to Davide.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Florence and to the Westin Excelsior soon!

Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

It is a tough hotel to review dispassionately.

Not a single glitch or expectation not met or exceeded. It is just such a tranquil sophisticated refuge from the hordes of tourists and vendors of Florence.

Focussing on the major highlights for us were the superb position and views, the "fine dining" breakfast complete with Prosceco, the generally wonderful warm service, the great value express lunch on the rooftop terrace and of course the exquisite rooms.

We agonised over the Westin and St Regis and left comforted with our decision.

Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Any room facing the river with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a lovely hotel with loads of charm and beauty. It faces the SR and is less the price for all that the SR offers. It's walking distance from shopping and restaurants. Very close to the train station.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room overlooking the Arno River but honestly the river is adjacent to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicolekshealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is majestically situated alongside the river and you cannot beat the view of Florence from their 6th floor rooftop terrace. Our superior deluxe room was quite large and very well appointed. The staff was fantastic, especially Davide at the front desk who knows how to deliver very personalized service and made us feel comfortable right away. He and the rest of the staff are extremely warm and professional. From the hotel, it is a short walk to all sites including the Duomo, numerous restaurants and shopping. I would absolutely recommend staying at the Westin Excelsior Florence and will return to both the city and hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Would request river view and upgrade to a superior deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 409 in Florence
1,306 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 409 in Florence
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 409 in Florence
1,269 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 409 in Florence
1,338 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#89 of 409 in Florence
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $367 - $1,479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing