We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Madill, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week during our Italian vacation and it was wonderful. We also upgraded, as did some other reviewers, and had a beautiful "junior" suite with two balconies and a gorgeous view of the Arno and Oltrarno. The concierge was most helpful. It was quite expensive but for a splurge, worth the money. Very comfortable bed. My only complaint was with the WiFi and television. But of course, you're not in Florence to watch TV. Lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade if you're trying to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    324
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
298
689
45
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our deluxe room was delightful. We arrived too early to get our room upon arrival and were offered a gorgeous suite for an additional 300 euros, but ended up passing on it. The location on the river is beautiful, but you won't really appreciate it unless you go to the sixth floor bar. When I heard the view was great, I was skeptical because what could the sixth floor really see? Well, obviously we're in Florence, not New York City. It was stunning.
I was first put off a bit when I read on the drink menu that no matter the cost of your drink there was a 16 euro minimum. My opinion quickly changed when we discovered that a small buffet was included in the price. The buffet featured meats, cheeses, breads, pasta salads, lasagna and fresh fruit. We quickly congratulated ourselves on "finding" this spot. If I remember correctly the happy hour was between 4-7. I'm not sure if it is a daily thing, but we went on a Friday. Be sure to dress up a little as it is a sophisticated, dressy crowd.
The hotel staff was accommodating. We needed to have our alarm clock set and a wifi code for our room. Because of the language barrier, i never did understand the wifi situation, as I thought my SPG membership would include complimentary wifi. Anyway, be sure to have that cleared up if wifi is something that you need.
The breakfast was really good. I would have liked to stay longer here, but it was the last day of a two-week trip. Maybe next time we can stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanttoGetoutMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear WanttoGetoutMore,

Thank you very much for your amazing review!
We are deeply happy to learn that you enjoyed you stay with us; our aim is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we are very pleased to know that our team has accomplished it with you. Please let us tell you that your wonderful feedback makes us proud of our work and we sincerely wish we will have the chance to welcoming you back to the Westin Excelsior and to our Se•Sto On Arno in a not too distant future.

With warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We recently stayed here and found it to be one of the most beautiful and romantic hotels we had ever stayed in. The rooms were immaculate, classically decorated and spacious. Our room had a view across the city to the hills. It was a shame that you couldn't step onto the balcony though.
Breakfast was lovely but our favorite part of the hotel was the rooftop bar!! The views were huge and it was a stunning panoramic sunset that we were able to watch as we drank champagne and snacked on the buffet that is 'free' once you have payed 16€ for a drink. Overall we loved this hotel and the rooftop bar was an incredible find and a must to visit if you are in Florence!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina16flight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Tina 16flight,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your positive feedback!
It is wonderful for us to know that you greatly appreciated our Westin Excelsior and our recently renovated rooms!
We are also happy to learn that you visited our Se•Sto On Arno and that you enjoyed the wonderful location, from which you can enjoy a unique 360° panoramic view of Florence and stunning sunsets!
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had booked an Arno view room, but the receptionist smartly and suavely got us to upgrade to a penthouse with balcony, including breakfast for two and Wi-Fi. Obviously, at those prices, breakfast and Wi-Fi should be included, but as we all know, the more expensive the hotel, the less the chance of that. The upgrade was worth it. A wonderful hotel, wonderful room (524), wonderful staff. One cautionary note: If it rains -- it did not for us -- the balcony isn't going to do you any good. And there were times when it was so windy it was uncomfortable to be out there. But most of the time, it was delightful. Sit out there with a glass of the complimentary prosecco, nibbling on the gift biscotti, and it's oh so relaxing. Marvelous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear PVWanderer,

Thank you very much for posting your kind comment.
It is a great satisfaction for us to know that you appreciated the work of our passionate staff and all the little details we created just for you, in order to make your stay with us be a most pleasant and enjoyable one.
Your wonderful comments make everyone here in Florence very proud of this acknowledgment.
We look forward welcoming you back to Florence soon!

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently stayed at the Westin for our twentieth anniversary. We are gold members so we received an upgraded room with a view of the river. The room was opulent - lush rug, chandelier,
Heavenly bed and large room. All the staff we came in contact with we're friendly and helpful.
The recommendations we received from the concierge for restaurants were outstanding.
You have to have a drink on the top floor restaurant., one of the best views in Florence.

We loved this hotel and it was a great way to celebrate our anniversary. We hope to come back for
Another one!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Anne S,

Thank you for sharing with Tripadvisor community your amazing review!
It is a true honor for us to know that you chose our Westin Excelsior to celebrate your 20th anniversary; most importantly, it is wonderful to know that in such a special occasion you entirely enjoyed your stay with us!
Thank you for your particular recognition concerning our staff, who represents the soul of our hotel, and our Se•Sto On Arno.
We sincerely wish we will have the chance to welcoming you back to Florence on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

...we recently stayed 2 nights with Tauck tour group....this hotel was superbly located along the Arno with very nice rooms (rm 422, with small balcony /exquisite view of Arno), easy walking distance to excellent nearby restaurants, Duomo, Piazza & Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi, and cross Arno to Pitti Palace and gardens. Nearby streets seemed safe for day and evening walks. Breakfast was excellent. Recommend without reservation....

Room Tip: ...Arno river views are spectacular....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear RandyT,
I am glad your stay in Florence during your Tauck tour was a great experience!
Tauck definitely organizes the best tours and we are very proud of our collaboration.
Yes, Florence is a pretty safe place, enriched by the beauty of the Renaissance and by a very fortunate location...
We do feel lucky to be here!
We absolutely look forward to have you back in town in the soonest future; whether with another Tauck experience or on a private trip, please contact us in advance so we can take an extra special care of you!
All the best,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
393 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at the Westin Excelsior Florence for five nights last May. We used Starwood points for our stay and were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the Arno River. The room was somewhat small, as is the standard in Europe, but if was very comfortable. The Westin Heavenly Bed is just that--heavenly! We received a very friendly welcome during our check-in and the concierge were extremely helpful prior to our stay with reservations for the Accademia to see Michelangelo's David and also with suggestions for visiting Tuscany and enjoying Cantine Aperte. The concierge also recommended three different restaurants during our stay and all three were exactly what we were looking for and fantastic! The Westin has a beautiful rooftop bar with a wonderful view of the City. Get there early for a table outdoors as it gets crowded. The lobby is beautiful and the bar area on the first floor looked inviting although we never had a chance to stop in. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Excelsior Florence. It is a wonderful hotel with great service and I would highly recommend it. We would love to return here some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TahitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear TahitiZ,
we thank you for your feedback and I am especially happy to read your satisfaction about our Concierges' work. I have to say that we are lucky enough to have one of the best concierge team a Manager can think of, and the best skill they can put in place is to tailor make their suggestions on the guest they will have in front and not standardized their answers.
Whenever you will be planning abother stay in Florence, please feel free to contact us so we can set anything in advance for you!
Warmest regards,
Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#28 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing