We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #29 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed at the Westin Excelsior Florence for two nights for an anniversary trip. We had just come from the Westin in Rome, and Venice, which we loved, and were not disappointed with Excelsior Florence by any means. We loved every single thing about this hotel. The Lobby is gorgeous, staff and service wonderful and friendly. Our room was a gorgeous suite, so beautifully decorated and luxurious we felt totally spoiled and pampered. The bathroom was large and clean. The view from our room was of wonderful Florence with the Duomo front and center. I fell asleep at night looking out the window at the lights and woke to beautiful sunrises, honestly amazing. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choices in a beautiful room. We loved our time in Florence and had an incredible anniversary trip. Would highly recommend this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleSass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear LittleSass,
thank you for sharing this beautiful and romantic memory: we feel proud for having contributed to a great anniversary, and we wish you many more, as romantic and fullfilling as this last one!
I do agree with you on the view; even though most of our clientele loves the River side, which is indeed marvellous, I personally prefer to keep my eyes on the Duomo and on Florence skyine, leaving the mind to wonder about renaissance and the beautiful things mankind can generate...
We hope to have you back soon in Florence, anytime please do not hesitate to contact us!
All the best,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Excellent accomodations. Nice sized room. Beautiful woodwork. Great bathrooms. Wonderful meal at dinner. Buffet breakfast very good, except they won't cook their bacon--raw and dangerous. Clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

From the very first moment and until we left the service was amazing... we were there for the weekend and we got there a bit late for our dinner reservation, the concierge took care of everything and also for the reservation for the next day. Front desk fast and always available for any special requests. The location of the hotel is very good, a little far from the main attractions, but I think that it is all worth it, with a quick walk you can be in the Duomo in just 10 mins. Will definitely consider it when returning to Florence.

Room Tip: Go to the roof top restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler4Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The best hotel in Florence for sure. The stuff is polite and very helpful . We were lucky because we've got an upgrade for the most luxury suite of Florence with the big terrace and icredible view. Special thanks to Ilaria for showing us the Belvedere Suite.
The hotel arranged for us a excursion (which i definitely recommend) in Siena-Chianti and San Gignano , an experience to remember . Our driver Mario was the best!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irini77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I regret having to write this review about what was once one of my favorite hotels in the world While the rooms are OK , what was once a high point -- the service -- has really gone downhill. There have been many staff changes ( Mario , where are you ?) and while the view from the rooftop bar is beautiful , we waited more than half an hour for our table to be cleared in order to have the privilege of spending 28euros ( more than $40!) for two glasses of Pinot Grigio. Another night , we watched the bartender and another staff member ignore a room full of customers while they had a full blown screaming match in the middle of the bar. The restaurant is expensive , with mediocre food and an unsmiling host. All in all a real disappointment.
We have been clients for more than 15 years and I am sorry to stay we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Mr Melanie M,
We thank you for your feedback, and will join you in saying that Mario has been an iconic character at our Bar for many and many years.

We are very sorry for the fact you have not enjoyed the service at our Bar; we definitely agree that rates are on the five stars side, even though Florence has much more expensive bars: let us tell that we feel this rates are appropriate for the service we offer, which is renowned in Florence and abroad. What you have told here, really seems an episode, but we will definitely work on preventing any possible similar situation in our premises.

We mostly regret that after 15 years of loyalty, we did not have the chance of hearing these words directly from you, as we would have immediately have done something to amend the experience.

We sincerely hope you will give another chance in the future, and if this may happen, you will find us enthusiastically at your disposal to show you the good use we have done of your feedback.

Sincerely yours,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed at the Westin Excelsior in Florence last summer while on a family vacation, and it was a wonderful experience. The lobby of the hotel is quite impressive, and the rooms themselves were spacious and comfortable. There are statues and works of art throughout the hotel which ties in very nicely to the aura of Florence. We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs, which was very good but also quite pricey. The breakfast buffet was nice and had a good variety. This hotel is right next to the Arno River and only a few blocks from the Ponte Vecchio. Other attractions like the Duomo and the Uffizi are within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niconico19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. We did not get a room with the river view as we were told the hotel was very busy. The check in staff gave us a very nice and quiet room on the 4 th floor. We were very happy with it as it was indeed very quiet. The beds in the room are indeed heavenly - we had wonderful sleeps esp to get over jet lags. Location of the hotel is good and we did not mind the short walk into the city centre. The gym is very nice with new machines. Quite under- utilized. Breakfast was a good spread and staff are very accommodative. They even prepared my usual oatmeal with soy milk and my hard boiled eggs. The concierge is indeed very informative with restaurant recommendations and directions. Whilst the hotel is a very old building, the lobby, rooms and restaurants are very beautiful, charming and clean. The rooftop restaurant is an experience - lovely food and view. (SPG members get a 15% discount for dining on Mondays to Thursdays). As we stayed over a public holiday (1st May), the room on 1st May was much more expensive than usual days. But other than that, I think the hotel is really a wonderful experience.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Mosto,
we thank you for your words, which we have shared especially with the breakfast staff, and our morning chef was very proud to have satisfied your morning habits!
Yes, the Gym is practically new and definitely under utilized; we have even tried to propose personal trainer free lessons, but Florence's attractions are still winning over the desire to work out... at least for the majority of our guests! This is why we were particularly happy about your feedback!
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in Florence in the soonest future; whenever this will happy, please consider us at your disposal to set anything you might need for your stay with us,
All the best,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 411 in Florence
1,324 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Hotel Lungarno
#7 of 411 in Florence
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 411 in Florence
1,359 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,648 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#83 of 411 in Florence
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $351 - $858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing