We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Outstanding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #29 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Of all the hotels our Travel Advisor, Margery Hunter with Rudi Steele Travel, has sent us to over the past thirty years, the Excelsior has consistently provided the most outstanding experience. When there we feel as if we are in a luxurious private estate located in the heart of Florence. Anytime, twenty-four hours a day, the staff accommodates any request with a "what else can we do for you attitude". The subdued, elegant atmosphere and unsurpassed service continually far exceed our expectations which are always high based on previous visits. Isn't it nice there are hotels like this in the world you can disappear to knowing you will have a great experience!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear John W,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor community.
We are delighted to learn you totally enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful words of appreciation.
It is a pleasure for us to learn that you appreciated the atmosphere of our Hotel and the hard work of our professional team. Providing our Guests with the best possible hospitality has always been our main goal and we are more than pleased we have achieved it with you.

Thanking you again for your wonderful comments, we look forward to your next visit for another extraordinary experience.

All the best,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the past few years, this one stands out above the rest for (at least) two reasons. The view from the roof top restaurant is incredible, one of the better hotel views I've seen, perfect location for a couple glasses of wine (food was good as well). The staff however, made the stay stand out, not just for us, but notably for others we met as well (e.g. a couple on honeymoon got a bottle of wine for the concierge staff as a thank you). The wonderful blend of professionalism, helpfulness and genuine personal conversation, the staff here is simply top notch. The rooms are certainly nicer than many places, but that alone doesn't make the experience. We stayed two nights late October on vacation, using points. This was my last stay to become an spg platinum member. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony with a nice view of the river.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scaraveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in November. Hotel is beautifully decorated, and is in a great location, in walking distance to all main tourist sights. It's also just a 10 min was from the train station which was really convenient. Buffet breakfast was divine. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Helief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Helief,
we thank you for your nice words, and our Maitre was particularly happy to know about it, after all the work he has recently conducted to enhance even more the breakfast!
We look forward to welcoming you back in Florence in the closest future!
All the best,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here on our honeymoon to Italy. We were there for 3 nights and got an upgrade to a very large 2 room suite. While unnecessarily large for just the 2 of us, that certainly isn't something to complain about! We didn't really use the second room, but it was still very nice. The hotel in general is very nice, wonderful lobby and bar area, very helpful concierge and front desk staff. The usual very comfortable Westin beds (better than the usually firmer beds at most Italian hotels). The only complaints I have are that at this price, internet should be free and breakfast should be included (both were at every other 5* hotel we stayed at during our 2 weeks in Italy, even in Rome). Still an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The service was impeccable. The staff was very friendly. Centrally located. The food at the hotel and neighboring restaurants was also pretty good. Definitely check out the gym. I was able to get a few good work outs in during my stay. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurgessN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Excelsior over 20 times over the past 13 years. This stay was as perfect as all the others. The staff always gives a warm welcome from Andrea, Jacapo, Nicko, Massimo, Costanza and Massimo the head concierge. The restaurant suggestions from the entire concierge team are always perfect. When we return to Florence in Mat we will be once again staying at our favorite hotel in Florence The Westin Excelsior.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Arno River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

And once again thank you!
Is always a pleasure to have you here and we all can't wait to welcome you back next may!

Kindest regards and merry Christmas from all of us!
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My family and I checked in here a few nights ago after moving from a Villa that was too far out of town for us. We managed to secure an excellent last minute rate for the presidential suite with a connecting room and two other rooms for my family of 7. The view from the Presidential suite was magnificent. The furnishings a little old, but still beautiful. The staff could not have been more helpful and dedicated to their service. The breakfast was lovely and the beds, heavenly. However, upon returning to our room after breakfast, we discovered that jack hammering had commenced above us for the next three days. We explained to front desk that we were assured the renovations were only going to be soft furtnishings and that we were going to spend a lot of time in our room because of our disabled young daughter. Our entire family of 7 was upgraded to their other hotel across the square, the presidential suite of the magnificent St. Regis Hotel!!!!! In spite of the noise, we were so very happy to have found the Westin and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricija_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 411 in Florence
1,324 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Hotel Lungarno
#7 of 411 in Florence
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 411 in Florence
1,359 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,649 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#83 of 411 in Florence
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $351 - $858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing