We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Memorable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #26 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredibly Memorable Experience”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at The Westin Excelsior for our very first visit to Europe, more specifically to Italy. The staff was incredibly helpful, especially after we had missed the last train from Rome to Florence the night of our arrival. They were so understanding and sympathetic that they even upgraded our room when we finally arrived. Our room had the most amazing view of the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio. The hotel is in the most ideal location, only a short walk from so many points of interest including the Uffizi Museum, the Duomo, and Pitti Palace. Our experience couldn't have been more enjoyable and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipablo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear ipablo1,
thank you for your words, which we have shared within the hotel!
Whenever you will plan another trip to Florence, please feel free to contact us, we will be more than happy to be of a help again!
Here is my personal email: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com
Warmest regards!
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    336
    68
    23
    17
See reviews for
312
715
47
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

PROS: good location, nice view on the river, OK rooms, OK restaurants and service.
CONS: Very expensive for what you get :one room @ $ 550 FOR A NIGHT!!, breakfast not included...this is supposed to be a "luxury hotel" but there is no spa, the fitness room is a scary room two floors down accessible by stairs only, poorly equipped , no wipes , no ear buds, lousy TV and no one around to assist you in any way . The rooms are decent but no free paper at your door, no coffee maker, no free WI-FI , no iron/iron board...you have to ask for everything! the so called "free WI-FI "in the lobby does not work well . The food was OK but expensive as well. (however there is a nice view from the top floor restaurant) . What surprised me the most is the lack of security.. the front desk is tucked away on the side in the lobby and pretty much anyone can get in the front door..no key card swipe required in the elevator nor in the fitness room.
Overall very disappointing !

Room Tip: ask for a room w/ view on Arno River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear NadChicago,

Please let us thank you for taking the time to share your feelings with us.
We are deeply sorry to read that your experience has been so unsatisfactory. However we thank you for bringing to our attention all your concerns and your comments about the experience at our property, which, despite negative, will certainly help us to intervene and improve the quality of our services.

Referring to your comments, we are sorry if you found our rates expensive; unfortunately, due to the busy season and the high occupancy, it is difficult for us to extend cheaper rates.
As far as the Westin Workout is concerned, please allow us to inform you that the fitness room can be accessed also passing by the breakfast room, at the ground floor.
Moreover, please be informed that, beside our doorman at the entrance of the Hotel, our Concierge Desk is located just on the left of the main access of our Hotel, and is present at the desk 24h/24. In addition to this, please be informed that we also have a security service, who can not be noted as they wear plain clothes.

Thanking you for your kind feedback, we really hope we will have the chance to welcome you to Florence in the soonest future.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with elegant spaces and wonderful décor. We had a fabulous room facing the river and enjoyed it tremendously. Every detail was perfect and the staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. Sometimes walking in the public spaces, it feels like a gorgeous museum.

Room Tip: It is very nice to have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkicoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good, rather old fashioned hotel. Staff very friendly, room clean and a good size ( if a little faded). A few niggles - phones not answered very quickly, they appeared to assume that we didnt want our linen changed unless we said we did. Our double bed was two beds pushed together.

Pluses - the breakfast is really fantastic as is the view from the roof top restaurant.

But it is really really expensive - €800 a night ( mid Oct stay) - really wasn't worth it. And if every budget hotel can give free wifi why are they charging €15 a night - it also doesn't work very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear SimonMcG1,

Thank you for the time taken to post your review on Tripadvisor.

First of all, please let me tell you that we are happy to learn that you appreciated our property and the staff. In particular, it is a pleasure to learn that you found our breakfast and our Se•sto on Arno “fantastic”.
At the same time we are truly sorry to learn about your feedback concerning the phone calls, the bed linen and the wifi, for which we sincerely do apologize.
As far as the wifi is concerned, please allow us to inform you that we have free wifi in public areas, while the wifi in the rooms has a daily charge; we are also changing the actual line to a broad band line.
However, despite negative, your words gave us the opportunity to look into the issues pointed out and will be certainly addressed to the appropriate department, in order to improve the overall quality of our services and guests' experience.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our service. Please feel free to contact us during you next visit to Florence and we will be more than pleased to take care of your reservation.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. The hotel is grand and traditionally furnished. We had a great room with a small balcony overlooking the River and downstream from the Ponte de vecchio. Breakfast was a small buffet in the dining room but the best dining experience has to be the roof top SE·STO Restaurant. The food was great - mediterranean with small portions, excellent service, the views were wonderful and the sunset glorious. Booking essential! The hotel was well positioned and only a 10 min walk to the Ponte de vecchio and 10 min walk in the other direction to the train station. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iguana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear iguana_9,

Thank you for having posted your comments also for the Westin Excelsior!
We are truly happy to learn that we have been able to entirely meet your expectation!
We do all our best in order to offer high quality service and to ensure our Guests a most enjoyable and relaxing stay. It is a pleasure also to learn that you have appreciated your room, the breakfast and the location of our property. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with all the Team.

Thanking you again, we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Westin Excelsior in Florence in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Upon arrival we were upgraded and had a room with a view to the piazza. Other niceties were the fruit sent to the room and the roof top lounge to take in the view. It was very special. We enjoyed the old world decor and the staff was friendly, prompt and helpful.

One concern I had was the concierge and the ability to make arrangements as there was a mix up on a car tour cost. It was a good tour to Sienna, but the driver was dead silent and very business like. I did mention it upon departure but felt that the concierge was unwilling to understand the 200 Euro over charge and extra cost of 50 Euro for lunch that had to be paid in cash.

One other concern was the dining recommendation Trattoria Gargani the first night; it was not a good spot and we decided to leave after a glass of wine.

The hotel was great overall. But double check your arrangements with concierge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Chuckawala,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.
We are happy to learn that you have appreciated the location of the Westin,the room we chose for your and particularly the amazing vioew of our Se.sto on Arno. Moreover, we are truly pleased to learn about your recognition concerning the efficient, prompt and helpful Staff.
At the same time we are extremely sorry to learn about your concerns regarding the Concierge and we are sincerely sorry for not having fully delivered on your expectations.
Please rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration and we will certainly inform the department involved to keep improving our service.
Whenever you will plan to visit again Florence, pelase feel free to contact the executive office and we will be more than pleased to take care of your reservation directly, in order to let your stay be a most pleasant and relaxing one.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in Florence, Italy last October 2012. We were treated to a penthouse suite with the most amazing views of Florence. The price was rather high but given all that we were offered, it made sense. The room and amenities were also incredible. The staff could not have been nicer. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayrizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear kayrizzz,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on tripadvisor!

We are extremely happy to learn that you appreciated the location of our property and the breathtaking view of the city from your room. Indeed it is a perfect location for a romantic trip!

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Westin Excelsior and to Florence in the soonest future.

Best regards from sunny Florence,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,269 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,008 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 412 in Florence
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#17 of 412 in Florence
637 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 412 in Florence
981 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 412 in Florence
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Starwood EMEA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing