We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Excelsior Florence: BEAUTIFUL and INCREDIBLE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #28 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Another remarkable Westin experience!
Tremensous breakfast!
Incredible staff! Knowledgable, friendly, helpful and courteous. Very pleasurable Team
Wonderful views from rooms and rooftop! Sunset dinner experience was incredible!
(expensive laundry bill)
I love Westin properties, and The Westin Excelsior Florence "takes the cake!"
We also experienced a 1st Class dinner overlooking the city. (service was a bit slow, but worth it)
I would definitely return and stay here along the Arno River.

Room Tip: High Floor a must View of The Arno River a MUST Dine Rooftop at sunset ( a must do) Enjoy the Bre...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Excelsior Florence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

one of the nicest things about this hotel is the lobby. its like a european hang out place with a piano bar at night. it was really relaxing to sit there and use your free wifi in the lobby. (you have to pay 15 euros a day in your room) the breakfast buffet was one of the best that we have had in Italy with a chef to make your egg requests. by the way, on the breakfast buffet, I found these poached apples in white wine, raisins and pine nuts and they were so incredibly delicious...also, the rooms are quite spacious and elegant. the location on the arno makes it really easy to get around to all of the tourist sites by walking and its is about 15 min by cab from the train station. we did not eat dinner at the hotel but the snacks and breakfast were fantastic. The concierges went above and beyond and were just so attentive and helpful with our trip. Also, they have a "pillow menu" which is great. after many sleepless nights in other hotels on what felt like air filled pillows, I saw that that they had a menu and after I got over feeling like a spoiled roman emperor,. I ordered some and I was quite happy that I had indulged. Just a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I imagine these buildings were originally either a hotel in the "Grand Tour" days of the 19th century, or apartment buildings, because the rooms are generously sized and the windows/or French doors facing the Arno are huge. Those are the rooms you want - the river side - and if possible on the top floor so you have a little balcony, though you'll have to ask the bellman to come open the lock as I suppose it's considered unsafe.

The concierge was unstintingly cheerful and helpful with dinner reservation requests, tickets to the Galleria dell'Accademia, etc. The breakfast buffet was terrific (there's a waiter who looks just like Bill Hader as the Italian talk show guy) and the newly-remodeled gym is very good. Overall, loved this place - so convenient to the pleasures of the old city but also a bit apart, with a nice airy piazza in front and the whole river to dream on.

Room Tip: Facing the river, if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamydood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room. On the water. Excellent service but best of all is the hands down best roof top view and bar. The sunsets can not be beat. We did not eat there but heard a number of folks raving about the food. It is worth staying there just for the view.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCHerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Tauck tour. The hotel is located on an open piazza alongside the Arno River. It makes quite a first impression. Happily, the rest of our experience was at the same high level. Our room was very large, bathroom was good with a double sink. I had some laundry done, and it was very expensive (no surprise there). The breakfast buffet was included in our package, and the selections were quite nice. They have a coffee station at the front of the restaurant, in case you want a cup to go. The view from the 6th floor bar is stunning, day or night. My daughter and I walked everywhere, including the world-famous Santa Maria Novella pharmacy (high-end cosmetics) and the Ponte Vecchio for gold jewelry. I recommend crossing the river to the Piazzale Michaelangelo for the very best view of Florence, especially at night. The location is great, and the hotel was a great home base for exploring Florence.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Westportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is majestic situated in a plaza with Arno riverfront views. The staff is helpful and friendly and maintains a welcoming service oriented tradition. This was formerly a Ciga hotel and Westin has preserved this European ambience. Rooms are spacious ; bathrooms marble; food good as is italitan cuisine& there is a lovey new roof bar and restaurant. You are near all of Florence ; an easy walk to the Duomo: the museum ; Rialto Bridge & the great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECAMERONSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

When staying at the Westin you know what to expect, I really enjoyed my stay in Firenze, firstly because the hotel is very well located and all sightseeings and attractions are within walking distance. We could actually see the Ponte Vecchio from our room.

Very high standard service, very somptuous classic design rooms - Everyone was very helpful and helped us the most they could.

We had lunch in the restaurant on the roof top, it really has a superb view of all Firenze, I was impressed and the menu is really well elaborated, giving you a real feel of Toscany flavors - a very good Chef runs the kitchen.

we had an amazing time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorkaMoscou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#13 of 411 in Florence
1,286 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
1,024 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#15 of 411 in Florence
641 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 411 in Florence
1,266 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#12 of 411 in Florence
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $395 - $2,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing