We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It starts with a great staff.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #26 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It starts with a great staff.....”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent two short nights here July 18 and 19 using my SPG Platinum points. When I made the reservation I failed to note our travel party size of 3 and the room selected for us was too small in a sold out, high season period. The delightful desk staff worked diligently and first found us a much larger room and as we entered, received a call that they identified a junior suite that worked beautifully for the three of us. This made our stay and the staff was under no obligation to fix my mistake.

Our room was very comfortable and well appointed and the hotel's location fantastic. There is a charm and elegance to this wonderfully restored building that takes you back a couple of hundred years, yet provides all of today's creature comforts. The roof deck restaurant provides not only stunning views but the drinks were generous and the food we enjoyed for dinner first rate, albeit on the expensive side. The included breakfast buffet was the best we experienced on our 10 day Italian portion of our European adventure and my wife's eggs benedict simple delicious.

I rarely write reviews but the service was so consistently outstanding and friendly that I felt compelled to let readers know that while this is a major brand hotel it has the feel of a small boutique service oriented facility.

Thanks for making our stay special when it could have been cramped and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: While we did not get a river view because of my reservation mistake, this is the desired location to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Greg K,
please let us thank you for your kind words and for your precious feedback. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the wonderful experience we have created just for you.
We are delighted also to hear your words of appreciation for the Staff and please rest assured we will share your precious comments with all of them.
We sincerely wish we will have the chance to welcome you back to Florence and to the Westin Excelsior in the soonest future. Thank you and best regards, The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    337
    68
    23
    17
See reviews for
312
715
47
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My daughter and I were given a Westin work out room.. How fun. It had a treadmill, weights and a work out ball. If we did not walk 20 miles a day we may have been more inclined to use it!. We enjoyed the large size bedroom, King bed, smoke free property and a large bathroom with all the amenities anyone could ask for.

The room was spacious, the staff was incredible, friendly, knowledgable, accommodating and just a pleasure to work with.

We used valet for our car and basically walked everywhere. The Westin is right near the Ponte Vecchio and a 5 minute walk to the Santa Maria de Fiore Church.

Breakfast was a bit pricy, but amazing. You can order any thing you like off the menu as well. Look for deals that include breakfast or a discount- otherwise grab a croissant and espresso from outside.

I love that Starwood has complimentary apples- we grabbed three- one for me, one for my daughter and one for the adorable horses near the Santa Maria Fiore Piazza. I would never encourage the Horse drawn carriage rides- but do pet the horses and give them a treat (ask the owner first of course).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flymetothemoon_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here late June 2013. The location is perfect. You are right next to the river Arno and just a few blocks from the Ponte Vecchio. The main areas to visit are all near by. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food at the bar is delicious and it was a casual and relaxed spot to have a meal when we were too tired from sight seeing to get dressed up for a proper dinner. The decor is a lovely but very traditional Firenze style. My children joked about expecting to see ghosts in the hallways. The rooms are fairly small. There is wifi available in the rooms for an hourly fee but it is too slow. The free wi-fi in the lobby was much faster if not as convenient. I only have one complaint about this hotel: the king size bed is actually two twin sized mattresses pushed together but not held together with anything, even a sheet. That is fine for some but not so comfortable for a couple. However, this seems to be the norm in all of Italy. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Florence. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear MicheleEK,
Thank you for the time taken to share your kind comments with us. We sincerely appreciate your precious feedback about the staff and we will share it with pleasure with all of them.
It is wonderful to learn that your stay was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Moreover, thank you for your comment about the wifi and the mattresses, we will take them in great consideration.
Looking forward to your next visit to the Westin Excelsior, please contact us anytime you will plan to come back to Florence. Sincerely, the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Westin Florence is located on the bank of the river, 5 minuted from Florence central station in front of St. Regis and features absolutely brilliant 360 overview and definitely one of the best in Europe. My last breathtaking view of this sort was in Sydney Shangri-La overlooking Victoria harbour. The personnel is very friendly, the hotel is located in old glorious palace and features great interiors,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Very very nice property. Great location with easy walk to everything, even short walk to train station for day trips! Great rooms, nice space updated and very comfortable. Concierge is great and staff very attentive and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jedda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were on a tour and stayed at Westin Hotels in Rome, Florence and Venice. They were all very nice and comfortable. Large rooms, nice bathrooms and great beds.

The bar on the rooftop of the hotel has the best view in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear MartyHuntsville, please let me thank you very much for your kind feedback, also on behalf of our sister properties in Venice and Rome. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in Florence. Moreover, we would like to thank you for your kind comment about our SESTO on Arno, which is sincerely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Florence and to the Westin Excelsior. Best regards, The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Located right at the banks of the river Arno, this faces the St Regis with a nice clay court in between the two.

The views around are fantastic and the hotel has an old world charm to itself.

Just a few blocks away from the Ponte Vecchio and a couple of other heritage sites, it allows you to conveniently walk around and enjoy.

Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samit-Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Samit-Garg,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are glad that you appreciated our very central location. Moreover, indeed the Westin Excelsior, being a historical building, keeps its original charme and, along with the florentine style furniture, reflects the essence and the inner soul of the city of Renaissance.
It is also a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed and appreciated your stay with us and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,271 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,007 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 412 in Florence
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#17 of 412 in Florence
637 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 412 in Florence
981 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 412 in Florence
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing