We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Nearby Hotels
$329
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$358
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$258
$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$426
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$522
$479
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$278
$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$358
$297
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
$189
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$654
$634
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,722)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveler rating
1,251
355
73
25
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,251
355
73
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarno riverheavenly bedrooftop barpiazza ognissantistarwood pointsbeautiful hotelconcierge staffst regisupgraded roomtop floorold worldan upgradeluxury hotelrental cartrain stationour honeymoondinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
866 - 871 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

There were a lot of nice things about the Excelsior, the service was great and the rooftop bar was absolutely incredible. Great location and nice, big, clean room. However, for the price, I did expect quite a bit more. Even from check-in, there was no one there to take our bags to our room. Really? We were walking to the elevator with our bags when the woman at the check in counter yelled after us if we would like help with the bags. I didn't say this at the time, but what i was thinking was, "for this price and quality of hotel, I shouldn't have to be asked if I want my bags brought to my room when I'm almost to the elevator, it should happen automatically." And that kinda set the tone for our stay. Another thing that annoyed me was no way to listen to music in the room, no ipod docks an the TV had music channels, but only if you paid for them. That's just stupid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamptons1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Hamptons1221,
We sincerely thank you for your comments and have to apologize for the inconvenience upon arrival. We can guarantee you it is not the usual level of service we provide, as the luggage is always sent to our guests' rooms upon arrival; it is evident we failed in doing it, this time, and fotunately we know what has to be done to correct this for the future.

We also agree that not having a dock in the rooms in order to listen to music is something we have to remedy; it is going to be so, and we are considering doing it in the short-medium term for all the hotel's rooms.

As we did not have the chance of solving the issues while here, nor to change the impressions of the stay meeting you directly in teh hotel, please consider us at your disposal and let us know whenever you will be planning another visit to Florence: we would love to dedicate you a special attention on your future stay.

You can reach me directly at massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com .

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful and luxurious. However, they need to renovate parts of it, especially the hallways including the walls, the carpeting and the lighting. The breakfast room is wonderful and splendidly decorated. Breakfast was fantastic in every way. The rooms are well decorated with large bathrooms. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Good location to visit the center of Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank French_American
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear French_American,
Thank you very much for having shared your feelings with the Trip Advisor community.
Your comments are greatly appreciated since we work really hard to make every guest’s experience special; in addition to this, we are grateful for your recognition concerning the attentive and friendly staff and please rest assured we will share it proudly with the Team.
Moreover, please let me inform you that our hotel is planning some changes, which we trust you will enjoy and we wish we will have the opportunity to have you staying again with us in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The concierge staff is so helpful! We were in Rome and forgot to make reservations for attractions that we wanted to see. My husband called from Rome and explained the situation. When we arrived, the reservations were taken care of. Also they called ahead to Vernazza and made reservations for us.

The hotel is located in a good location. We had the choice of a bigger room but opted for the river view room. It had a small balcony in which you could enjoy the view.

The rooftop bar offers great views. We had some excellent wine and food there.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wabeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Front Office Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Wabeancounter,
thank you for your words, which made our concierge very proud!
We hope you had a safe trip back home and that Rome was a great experience too...!

We look forward to welcoming you back with us and wish you all the best for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location-very good, close to train station, old bridge and piazza
Room-I was upgraded to the suite, amazing!!! huge balcony with the view of old bridge
Service-fantastic, from the receptionist to bartender, everyone was so friendly and warm. Recieved a bottle of Prosecco on my wife's birthday

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear TW222,
Please let us thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful view of the Arno and the service we provided during your stay with us. Moreover, it is a pleasure to learn that you also enjoyed the suprise for the special event you were celebrating! We wish we will have the chance to welcome you back in the soonest future. Sincerely, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very nice location for this historic old hotel building. The lobby and atrium alone are worth a visit. Short walk down the river to the main tourist sites. Room was very nice and the Westin Heavenly Bed is as good as it gets for hotels.

The only knock on this hotel is connectivity. Starwood Hotels all insist on charging for WIFI but at this hotel it just didn't work. Could not connect my iPad with the free service anywhere in the lobby or paid service in my room. The rooms all have Ethernet connections for laptops but we now live in a tablet world. To make things worse, I found it impossible to get a cell connection inside the hotel. Step out the door or anywhere else in Florence and no problem getting a connection on my iPhone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PstarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking time to post your feedback!
We are so happy to learn that you appreciated the location of the hotel and the property as well. Moreover, please let me thank you for your positive comments on the comfort of our wonderful signature heavenly beds. While, as far as wifi is concerned, we are sincerely sorry to learn that you had some problem with connectivity; however, thanks to comments like yours, we will be able to intervene and improve our service.
Hopefully, we will have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Westin Excelsior in Florence.
With our best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews