We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More luxury but needs some refreshing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #26 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“More luxury but needs some refreshing!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful and luxurious. However, they need to renovate parts of it, especially the hallways including the walls, the carpeting and the lighting. The breakfast room is wonderful and splendidly decorated. Breakfast was fantastic in every way. The rooms are well decorated with large bathrooms. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Good location to visit the center of Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French_American
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear French_American,
Thank you very much for having shared your feelings with the Trip Advisor community.
Your comments are greatly appreciated since we work really hard to make every guest’s experience special; in addition to this, we are grateful for your recognition concerning the attentive and friendly staff and please rest assured we will share it proudly with the Team.
Moreover, please let me inform you that our hotel is planning some changes, which we trust you will enjoy and we wish we will have the opportunity to have you staying again with us in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    336
    68
    23
    17
See reviews for
312
715
47
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The concierge staff is so helpful! We were in Rome and forgot to make reservations for attractions that we wanted to see. My husband called from Rome and explained the situation. When we arrived, the reservations were taken care of. Also they called ahead to Vernazza and made reservations for us.

The hotel is located in a good location. We had the choice of a bigger room but opted for the river view room. It had a small balcony in which you could enjoy the view.

The rooftop bar offers great views. We had some excellent wine and food there.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Front Office Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Wabeancounter,
thank you for your words, which made our concierge very proud!
We hope you had a safe trip back home and that Rome was a great experience too...!

We look forward to welcoming you back with us and wish you all the best for now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location-very good, close to train station, old bridge and piazza
Room-I was upgraded to the suite, amazing!!! huge balcony with the view of old bridge
Service-fantastic, from the receptionist to bartender, everyone was so friendly and warm. Recieved a bottle of Prosecco on my wife's birthday

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear TW222,
Please let us thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful view of the Arno and the service we provided during your stay with us. Moreover, it is a pleasure to learn that you also enjoyed the suprise for the special event you were celebrating! We wish we will have the chance to welcome you back in the soonest future. Sincerely, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very nice location for this historic old hotel building. The lobby and atrium alone are worth a visit. Short walk down the river to the main tourist sites. Room was very nice and the Westin Heavenly Bed is as good as it gets for hotels.

The only knock on this hotel is connectivity. Starwood Hotels all insist on charging for WIFI but at this hotel it just didn't work. Could not connect my iPad with the free service anywhere in the lobby or paid service in my room. The rooms all have Ethernet connections for laptops but we now live in a tablet world. To make things worse, I found it impossible to get a cell connection inside the hotel. Step out the door or anywhere else in Florence and no problem getting a connection on my iPhone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PstarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking time to post your feedback!
We are so happy to learn that you appreciated the location of the hotel and the property as well. Moreover, please let me thank you for your positive comments on the comfort of our wonderful signature heavenly beds. While, as far as wifi is concerned, we are sincerely sorry to learn that you had some problem with connectivity; however, thanks to comments like yours, we will be able to intervene and improve our service.
Hopefully, we will have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Westin Excelsior in Florence.
With our best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights At the Westin Excelsior Florence and all we can say is what a beautiful hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the piazza and the Arno. It was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in Europe. The bathroom was a great size and the room was decorated tastefully. They have free wifi in the lobby and penthouse restaurant/bar. Wifi in your room costs $15 per day. We were fine with the free wifi for checking our daily emails. We enjoyed cocktails in the lobby and penthouse bar on both days. The location of the hotel is very close to the main train station and you can easily walk to all the major tourist sites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sincerely happy to learn that you have appreciated the location of our Hotel and that you enjoyed the room we secured for you. It is a real pleasure also to hear you enjoyed our both bars and we wish we will have the opportunity to see you again in the near future.

With our best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the westin and must say the staff were very nice...the cleaning staff that is!they were very helpful and kind!!concierge made it seem you were doing them a favor by staying there!!otherwise rooms were clean and the view of the Arno river was fantabulous....I loved the sights and sounds and the shopping was amazing...go to the tented stall coz you can always ask for discounts!it was lovely and I would definitely go back there again....!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor facing the river or 4th floor...certain rooms allow you a view of the city an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkumar2763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Rkumar2763,
Thank you for the wonderful comments that you posted.
We are delighted to hear that during your stay with us we were able to entirely meet with your expectation, which is our best goal and bthe reason why we are working so hard. Your comments have been shared with the Staff and much appreciated.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to Florence in the not too distant future.
With kindest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here using SPG points, which was good, because it is super expensive otherwise. We got an upgrade since we are gold members and received a nice room with a balcony with a view of the Duomo. The hotel is right on the Arno river and well located for easy access to top sites. The staff was really helpful, and we used the concierge several times for reservations and assistance with directions. The restaurant/bar on the top floor has an amazing panoramic view of the city. The prices are steep... 14 euro for a glass of wine, but they have great free appetizers from 7 to 9 every night. So go for a drink, some food, live music, and a breathtaking view! We ate dinner one night at Sostanza, which is right around the corner. I highly recommend for a moderately priced, local experience with great food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,269 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,008 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 412 in Florence
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#17 of 412 in Florence
637 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 412 in Florence
981 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 412 in Florence
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing