We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place in a walkable location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Budoia, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great place in a walkable location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We are Starwood Members and always love staying at their properties. The Westin is my favorite of the Starwood line. The West Excelsior did not disappoint. Housed in an old palace each room has its own personality and charm. The beds are extremely comfortable. We enjoyed great music and wine at the bottom floor bar. We visited the top level restaurant and bar but found it a little busy for our mood. The location of the Westin is perfect for walking the beautiful streets of Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    322
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
296
683
45
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Front Office of the Westin Florence is simply FANTASTIC.

I stayed there one night on 18th February. (I am writing the date down because I do not remember the name of the wonderful lady who was working there that evening around 9-10 pm)

Initially I was not supposed to stay at the Westin - we had a mess up with another hotel we were meant to stay it and decided to drive to the Westin instead. I was sick in the car on the way and when we got there - the Front Office lady saw I was not feeling well and sped up the whole process. (Amen to FAST SERVICE!) She quoted us a reasonable room (and even gave us a nicer room in one of their newly refurbished wings) and promptly called me a Doctor. Being out the whole day I was dehydrated and she sent me 2 big bottles of water to feel better. When Doctor arrived - the Westin sent one of their staff to pick up the medicine for me. At this point it was nearly midnight and they returned promptly with medication for me. All I can say is - being sick while traveling could happen to anyone. However, when one is feeling ABSOLUTELY MISERABLE - service with a smile, a Doctor and feeling better knowing someone is taking care of everything makes a world of a difference.

Our rate included breakfast which looked excellent with a live-station chef prepping eggs, pancakes etc. The staff knew I wasn't feeling well and even went to get me hot milk with honey etc.

Over all, it was a fantastic experience and to the lady who was working the check-in on the 18th February - THANK YOU for all your help.

Room Tip: Try to get room on floors which have been renovated. Much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poojie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, relatively close to the train and bus stations (10 minute walk) and to major attractions (Duomo, Uffizi) and there are a lot of nice little restaurants close as well. Easy walking to the older parts of town and shopping locales. It is on the river, although the river isn't the most scenic place in the world. Elegant lobby. My room was large by European standards and the bathroom was well appointed. WiFi worked very well in my room. The front desk and concierge were very friendly and professional and helpful. The carpets in some places looked a bit worn. Be advised that late at night and early morning the staffing can be minimal and sometimes lines can form for check-out and to get taxis. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneDoc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A group of friends and I stayed in this gorgeous property in advance of a tour of Tuscany. It was easy to find, centrally-located and the elegant lobby was the perfect welcome for our trip of a lifetime. The beds were so comfortable, I didn't want to get up in the morning and the late-night service in the lobby bar was perfect for long visits with dear friends. My friend had flown in from Atlanta and the airline lost her luggage. We were concerned, as we had an early-morning departure to meet our tour group and weren't sure that we would get the luggage delivered before we had to leave the hotel. We stepped out very early to stop at the ATM machine down the street, and one of the bellman literally caught us on the street to tell us that K's luggage had arrived, and not to worry! Wow. He'd known of our concerns and remembered us, so he didn't want any time to pass without reassuring us that the luggage had arrived at the hotel safely. Above and beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joano777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Joano777,
thank you for your comments, I will make sure the guys at Concierge will receive them!
They are indeed very attentive and able to transmit a spirit of hospitality that goes beyond procedures and duties: we always try to focus on people's needs and emotions more than anything else, and we are so happy we reached you in doing this!

Please let us know if any stage you might be coming back to Florence, or consider us at your disposal if you might need any assistance for friends or family over here!
My personal email: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

Warmest regards,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We initially booked for a 2 night stay here but we had to extend our stay because we were so impressed with our stay at the Westin. Everything is perfect at this hotel. We were given a very professional and warm welcome by Massimo, the Front Office staff who made us feel that we have made the right choice to stay at this hotel once we arrive. The service from the front office, concierge to F&B were all very good. We had dinner at the sister property, St Regis just opposite the Westin - food & service there were fantastic too. The hotel is big, charming and very well-located. The view of the Arno river from the room was breathtaking. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the nicest hotels I ever stayed but what do you expect when it was a palace for the Medici family. The rooms are large with tasteful florentine design and beautiful marble bathrooms.
Our room overlooked the Arno.
Loved the rooftop bar! The wifi worked in the lobby and the rooftop.
I joined the starwood program just for this hotel!!
So good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TangleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great Location ,professional service and elegant atmosphere make this one of our top 3 hotels of Florence. We stayed in a Junior suit overlooking the river with a impressive view of the city. Parking was a tad expensive but who cares when its Florence. The roof top restaurant was breathtaking and full of class and if your there over the weekend you must stay for the Sunday brunch which is a brunch unlike any we have experienced except maybe for the one at the Waldorf Astoria in Rome which is also to die for. We live in Rome and its nice to have these quick last min getaways so we recommend it for anyone who can.

Room Tip: Rooftop brunch at this hotel on Sundays is a must and cant be missed also be sure to secure a reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#26 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing