We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #25 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always the Best!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've been staying at both the Westin Excelsior and the Grand Hotel ( Now the St. Regis) at least twice a year for over 10 years, and I cannot say enough good things about both properties. Unfortunately, since the Grand became a St. Regis, the prices have become unaffordable, so I've been staying "across the street" at the Excelsior...which ain't bad! (I still make it a point to go to the St. Regis to say hi to my friends at the desk...Aldo and Andrea....they're truly the best!!!)
Both hotels take care of their customers to the highest degree - the management should be very proud of their staff and should make it a point to acknowledge them....we often don't know their names, but they all make our stays so seamless and perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    333
    68
    22
    17
See reviews for
307
713
46
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great location. Right in the heart of the city. Very nice rooms and great service. Walking distance to all major landmarks and museums. I stayed in the Westin Excelsior in Rome as well. This hotel is much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We wavered on which hotel to select in Florence and after making the trip, we are immensely thankful that we picked the Westin Excelsior. The location was outstanding -- walking distance to all major landmarks and museums -- yet far enough away from the commotion that it was quiet and relaxing at night. The rooms are excellent and the electronic blinds block 100% of the daylight for those that are jet lagged and need to sleep. The bellmen are fantastic and will hustle to get whatever you need done. The rooftop bar offers great cocktails and views of the city at night. No problem getting around if your Italian is less than ideal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the Westin from January 27 till 30th 2013. At check in, I was offered an upgrade to a room overlooking the river side of Florence for additional cost which I accepted. The room was absolutely beautiful, and the view was fantastic. The facilities within the room were quite good but I think they need to do a bit of updating on the carpet and decoration. The hotel is located just at the center of the old town close to all site seeing attractions. The breakfast was really great and super. The hotel is a bit expensive but is really worth it especially if the view is right.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the river view. Some rooms have no view at all as they overlook an internal garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've stayed at the Westin Excelsior twice now, and I really enjoy it. The woodwork and architecture of the lobby sets a warm, welcoming tone. We had an upper-floor corner room that gave us views of both the Duomo and the river – quite a treat. In terms of sightseeing, be sure not to miss the church on the same square as the hotel (the Chiesa di Ognissanti).

The concierge and door staff did a great job of managing the car and arranging guides. We'd never hired guides before this trip, but we were pleasantly surprised at how much more we learned and appreciated in the galleries. (It also lets you skip the long entrance queues.)

The St. Regis is right across the square, and we had a drink there one evening. It's also a grand property, but a little more formal (as you might expect). We're headed back to Florence later this year, and it will be difficult to decide between the two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel. Rooms are beautiful and more importantly clean. We had the room with a balcony (river view) so the view from our room was exceptional! Staff was very helpful, they assisted us by planning our day also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great hotel choice. It is located right on the river. The bar/lounge area is great. Drinks are pricey, but very tasty and artfully created. They also do offer some complimentary snacks. It is located directly opposite the St. Regis Florence. Bathroom was very oversized. Typical comfortable Westin beds. Turndown service nightly. Very classic looking. Front desk and concierge were very helpful with any questions. Only drawback is that it's a little far from the major Florence sights, so while it's still walkable, it does take about 15-20 minutes depending on where you want to go which is tiring if you are here in the summer heat. However that's not a reason to skip on this hotel, it's an excellent choice for Florence. The walk in the evening is pleasant right along the Arno.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Arno
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,257 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
999 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#31 of 411 in Florence
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,479 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 411 in Florence
972 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing