We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A perfect romantic get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #25 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A perfect romantic get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything you expect from a Westin in a 700 year old property. An expert and attentive staff and a truly stunning property in the heart of Florence right on the river. We spent 3 days of bliss here. If you are so inclined, the concierge desk can book a private local guide for you. We found this to be very helpful in understanding the history of Florence and kept of from being overwhelmed by all there is to see and understand.

Room Tip: A room on the 5th floor will have it's own patio, but I bet there isn
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregRCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Greg(Rco),
thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in Florence; we do agree with you, Florence is a place in which a guided experience can do the difference (had the same feeling of being overwhelmed by all there is to be seen and understood...).
Your comment (also the one about the Uffizi), has given us an idea about how to propose a new service with the concierge... We'll let you know the outcome, whenever you will be coming back to Florence.
Please, feel free to contact me, should you at any stage plan to come back to Florence!
massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotel.com

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    294
    62
    21
    16
See reviews for
269
599
40
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alanya, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is a very romantic hotel. Kind and helpfull staf. Good rooms. They have a new restaurant in the top floor of the hotel. We were suprised to see that modern designed restaurant in this old and classis building.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MugeOzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear MugeOzer,
we are very happy to read we had a Cupido role for your stay!
It is true that the top floor restaurant is standing out from the hotel's design; the architect who has designed it actually went for that type of contrast and played a lot on transparency and reflexes in order to have the city coming in. We went for that solution as it was something unusual for Florence and we wanted to create a different space with a peculiar taste... We are glad you enjoyed it!
Should you wish to visit us again, please feel free to contact us!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our elevated expectations of this property were met by the Heavenly Bed, the view of the Arno, and the beauty of the lobby.

But it was the staff that exceeded our elevated expectations during our four nights in Florence.

First was the glorious welcome by Caroline and her manager at the front desk. Her greeting was joyous and truly represented hospitality and professionalism. The team at the front desk made me feel that they wanted my stay in Florence to be special.

Next was the team at the Concierge desk. They truly function as a team. They are efficient, great listeners and made several exceptional recommendations. Nico and his colleagues were exceptional in the correspondence before we arrived and during our stay.

Finally, the lobby pianist who shared her brilliant skills in the evening was a highlight after coming back from an amazing dinner in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VitoSanDiegoCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

If you can get to Florence, Italy and want to stay in total luxury book this hotel! It is located right on the river, with its own plaza and walking distance to all sights in Florence, including the train station! We didn't know and took a cab from the train station... 10$ or so, we could have walked. More importantly- this hotel! After traveling all over Italy we ended out stay at this luxury hotel! I couldn't have been happier! Excellent service, we had a room change, needed tickets to see David & a cooking class. The concierge was above and beyond helpful with maps, making reservations, giving directions and tips for the city along with having the friendliest attitude! The rooftop bar hosts the best view in Florence and great drinks! Service there also friendly and fun! This hotel is sparkling clean, American amenities (blow dryer, large shower, ...) beautiful art and decor, wireless service available in lobby free ($ in room) and you can just walk out to the main areas! In my dreams I will stay in this hotel again! Thank you all staff at Westin Excelsior - you made my Italy vacation a dream come true!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently visited Italy and stayed in 2 different hotels. The hotel number 1 that I really loved was The Westin Excelsior in Florence. For the first moment I entered, I fall in love. Beautiful music in background, decoration and especially staff. They are so punctual. I really liked them. The receptionniste that welcomed us during the check in, her name was Francesca. She was so kind with us, she did the best us to feel welcome, and even making a nice conversation with us. Thanks to the receptionnist as herself, the hotel world is better... And another staff as well... Even while asking a help or demanding something, they say thank you. They are so professional!!! And concerning to the rooms and decoration in the halls, AMAZING and Unbelievable... If You are visiting the hotel, think of what I said and if see Francesca, You will see I was serious...

Room Tip: There is a side of the river... It might be romantic and beautiful view... Though I was staying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YannParis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is extremely nice and the staff quite helpful as you would expect them to be. Ask for a room with a view. We opted for one on the corner where we could see the square and the Church on one side, and the Arno river on the other it was the best combination as both views are equally nice.
I strongly recommend you visit the restaurant on the roof if only for the 365 degree panoramic view of Florence.
Major downside though is that there is no free wireless in the rooms (you do get some package with the breakfast if you're a Starwood member) and the free in in the lobby is unreliable at best. On the technological front you would expect better.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at Westin Excelsior for our honeymoon trip. Originally, we were planning to stay at St.Regis and already made reservation there. Once we got to St.Regis hotel we found out that the hotel was underconstruction and not open. So we were in such a panic and didn't know whether we would have a place to stay. So we walked over to Westin Excelsior and since they are sister hotel with St.Regis. They transferred our reservation to Westin. We got upgraded to a nice room with the view or Arno River. The room was absolutely beautiful and spacious considering we were in Europe where space is very limited. We got complimentary dessert and a bottle of Chianti since we were on our honeymoon. The hotel staffs were very polite and helpful. The concierges gave very good recommendation on the restaurants and toures. They booked tours for us, one to Cinque Terre and another one is to Tuscany countryside. Both were lovely and I would highly recommend both tour. We had dinner at 13 Gobbi restaurant nearby the hotel. It was fantastic Florentine restaurant. The hotel is in good location, walking distance from SMN train station and every sight seeing places. The view from the hotel was fantatic. If you are planning to go to Florence, please make sure to buy ticket to Uffizi and Galleria de Academia in advance. It will really save you time. Also check out Mercato Centrale for local food and produces. We had a great time and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvlgal1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#21 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#16 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#12 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#19 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing