We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bella!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
407 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Bella!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything was wonderful. The staff ere incredibly helpful and gracious. We probably looked at ten rooms looking for the "perfect" spot, which of course we found. The manager showing us around kept saying that it was no problem, her pleasure to help us locate a room. Everyone working there is like that, going the extra mile to ensure we were having a fabulous time. Gracious, lovely, and memorable, we can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopstick224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    324
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
298
689
45
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
middle of nowhere
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I don't often write reviews and generally only do so when compelled to either praise or admonish. Unfortunately, it's the latter. A formal complaint has been lodged with SPG but in short, these were the problems we encountered:

1. Submitted online room upgrade but hotel had no record of it (not a big deal, mistakes happen)
2. After over an hour of waiting hotel finally agreed to honour the online upgrade package. Originally gave us a story of how he would give us a 'special' basic room that had a view of the square and some of the river even though our non-upgraded room booking was a river view room! (deceit x 1)
3. Due to upgrade we were only allowed to check in after 5pm (again, not usually a problem but read point 4)
4. Confirmed with two separate staff (original person that upgraded us and the person that gave us the keycard access) that our room was the upgraded one when but when we arrived the room was NOT the upgraded one we paid for. Original check-in person apologised stating he 'forgot to tell us he booked the wrong room.' Not very convincing! (deceit x 2)
5. Two bags were missing when we arrived in the non-upgraded room but luckily concierge was able to find them with some encouragement

Having said this, the manager did upgrade us to the junior suite due to all the problems they caused. At this point, we would have returned to the hotel in future until the below happened.

6. On check-out we were charged for a laundry service we did not authorise (we wanted an iron but none available due to fire regulations so they offered to press the shirt but did not inform we would be charged) and got into an argument with a very rude man by the name of Massimo who later revealed he was the front office manager!!! Again, small charge for laundry not normally a problem but we were not informed we would be charged and the yelling and repeated shouts from Massimo of 'I'm a human being' even though we were not rude/abusive to him at any point was terrible. Furthermore, his sarcastic implication that we were lying about the charge was totally unprofessional.
7. Multiple incorrect charges on our initial account when checking out (eg, internet access and breakfast charges that were included in our upgrade package)

In summary, a beautiful hotel at a fantastic location completely spoiled by service that operates on a foundation of deceit further ruined by the completely abhorrent behaviour of an unworthy manager. We will not be returning ever again.

Room Tip: Arno River Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shoryukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Direttore at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear shoryukan,
First of all I would like to thank you for the time take to provide us with your comments, which enable us to constantly improve our service quality.
We are sincerely sorry for the inconveniences that affected your impression and memories of your stay at our property as our Hotel is renowned all over the world not only for its history and tradition but most of all for the highest quality of service we are used to provide. Moreover, our main goal is to completely meet with Guests' expectations and knowing that, despite our efforts, our goal has not been achieved is for us reason of disappointment. In fact this time it is clear that we have failed and we do apologize.
Please, let us tell you that we do hope to have again a chance of welcoming you back to The Westin Excelsior, and we invite you not to hesitate to contact us when arranging your next stay in Florence, when we will be more than pleased to look after your reservation.

Sincerely,

Valentino Bertolini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have enjoyed the hospitality and service at the Westin Excelsior over many years and it remains my favorite property in Florence. The staff is top rate, particularly the concierge team, who have filled some rather difficult requests of mine over the years with a smile. I highly recommend the Excelsior to either stay or at least to enjoy their recently-opened rooftop bar and restaurant with the best view of the beautiful city of Florence!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Duomo-side of the 5th floor all have incredible balconies - especially beautiful at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gullivertravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is hard to argue with the beautiful sourroundings at Wistin Excelsior Florence--the lobby, the rooms, the views are exquisite, as one would expect from a hotel with this one's history and reputation.

In addition: the dining room and bar serve wonderful food and drink. And the staff are friendly, even sweet.

So what is wrong?

The actual service, at least in our experience, was completely clueless, *totally* out of keeping with the rest of the ambience here--and bad enough to make what should have been a splendid stay a rather diappointing one instead.

Our own little litany of service failures:

--the staff forgot to bring our bags to our room after we checked in; 30 minutes later, when I realized nothng was going to happen, I went downstairs to pick them up myself. The bags and the staff by the way were just hanging around the front lobby.

--no coffee in the coffee dispenser for guests in the lobby in the morning

--internet not working

--when we wanted to go to Mass on Sunday morning, the concierge sent us to a church for an 830am service--but the church didn't have any services until 1030am! Wouldn't you think a concierge in one of Florence's finest hotels might know the mass times in his own city?

--concierge assured us he could get us tickets for the Uffizzi galleries--but when we took him up on that, he could not deliver. Only lots of excuses. (I went over after that and booked them myself: it was not really that hard, even for an out-of-towner who speaks no Italian!) Wouldn't you think this is the sort of thing a concierge in a well-rated hotel is upposed to be competent to do?

Bottom line: if you are happy with the beautiful surroundings per se, th
gis place will be great for you.

If you think you are paying for service too, stay away--at least until you hear these sorts of problems are fixed.

Room Tip: River view to die for;balconies avail in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3511Eber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear 3511Eber,
First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you liked Florence and the hotel in general. We also hope you've had a safe trip back home!
However, we are deeply sorry to read about all the issues occurred during your stay and we assure you that all comments are taken very seriously and we share them with all our staff for a quick resolution.
Therefore we would like to inform you that we have already had an extraordinary staffmeeting to look into each detail to avoid problems like this in the future.
In fact, the luggage issue was correctly reported and we assure it will not happen again.
Regarding the internet, we have double-checked and no particular error was reported so we honestly would have loved to do something while you were still here.
The coffee in the breakfast area is frequently refilled because of a very frequent usage and our staff is always at your disposal, but we certainly will be more attentive.
The mass hours are published online and our Concierge double-checked upon your request however for some reason the mass was cancelled. We are sorry but some things are out of our control.
We certainly hope there will be another occasion to visit our hotel and Florence so please do not hesitate to contact us at caroline.deckx@starwoodhotels.com or Frontoffice.00043@starwoodhotels.com.

Best regards,

Caroline Deckx
Assistant Front Office Manager
The Westin Excelsior, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in the Westin our last evening in Florence. We have mixed feelings about this hotel. The building is beautiful, the location is great, the front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but they stored our luggage and we were upgraded to a larger room, which was beautiful. The concierge sent us to Giovanni's for dinner and it was fabulous. On the negative side, the brochure in our room stated that the restaurant located on the top floor of the hotel was open until 3pm. When we arrived at 2:35 we were informed that it closed at 2:30 and regardless of what the information in our room said, they would not serve us. Instead, the hostess suggested that we try the bar in the lobby. So, instead of a long leisurely lunch overooking the city, we tried the bar for a snack.. when no one there wanted to serve us after 10 minutes of waiting, we left. Our other issue was having to pay 5 euros to use the computer to print off our boarding passes. We just paid 380 euros for a room, surely to goodness, we could use the computer for 10 minutes. Overall, we would go back, but we wouldn't worry about ever patronizing the restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickyandlucy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear rickyandlucy12,
We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at The Westin Excelsior. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.
We do apologize for the miscommunication regarding the restaurant opening hours and internet connection in the lobby and we hope you addressed it with the front desk, so we could have the opportunity to make it right.
As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We are already looking into both issues with our Food and Beverage Department regarding the Se.Sto restaurant and with IT regarding the internet connection in the lobby.
Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Please, feel free to answer to my email: caroline.deckx@starwoodhotels.com and consider myself as well as my team at your disposal for any future needs.

Sincerely,

Caroline Deckx
Assistant Front Office Manager
The Westin Excelsior, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and stayed at the westin Excelsior in Florence the first week of October....I was using my SPG points to secure our room. When booking our stay in April I requested a room overlooking the Arno river..When we arrived the young lady at the front desk stated that I could be upgraded to
a suite which was not overlooking the Arno...She asked me if I wanted to see the room before going through the paperwork..To our surprise the room was the penthose overlooking the beautiful city of Florence. We glady accepted her offer and proceeded to enjoy the Bottle of champagne that was delivered to us within the next hour..Imagine sitting on your verranda sipping the bubbly hearing the church bells of Florence...just amazing
The service of the hotel did not end there from the concierge recommending restaurants for lunch and dinner to getting us tickets to the main attractions of Florence, they were first class...Even Danielle,I cant believe I remember his name, who manned the front door, was attentive to our needs..
This truly was a hotel we would recommend to anybody who wants to feel that the customer really matters...
Thank you for making our stay in Florence a good one

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Westin Excelior is a former residence of the Medici Family The rooms are just as elegant as you can imagine, It is worth takeing the stairway and imagine how it was hundreds of years ago. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect walking distance to many of the top sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#28 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing