We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Everything”
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
Ranked #14 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Outstanding Everything”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

First off the location was unbelievable, right on the Arno, and 2 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio. The staff was very friendly. I would suggest you check out their little bar in lobby. Breakfast was also a fantastic way to start the day. I would go back in a second.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    193
    47
    13
    8
See reviews for
243
595
49
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

First trip to Florence. Small boutique hotel. Common areas pleasant and comfortable. Buffet breakfast excellent. Room small, bathroom very small and awkward and not in keeping with room rate. Annoyance is key controls electricity so if you leave room you can't charge any electronic devices. Worst is the wifi access, included but very spotty at best and occasionally not at all. Not in keeping with a great hotel. Service very good and responsive. All in all a good choice but the price value relationship out if line given deficiencies noted above.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harcapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Hotel Lungarno is a welcome respite from the hectic and overcrowded streets. Yes, the rooms are not modern, as they are a more classic style. But comfy and serene. Spend a little extra for one of the river front rooms with a terrace or balcony. We had a post card perfect view of the very close Ponte Vecchio and over the river. So worth it!!! Once we closed our French doors at night, all the street noise was gone. Very good breakfast buffet and in the Borgo Jacopo restaurant, so if you are very lucky you can have the same Arno view during breakfast. Love being in the Oltrarno and across the river from most of the tourist spots, but so close to everything. The bar/lounge is excellent with it's plush and comfy slipcovered sofas and chairs and again, the views. The best bellini - even better then Harry's in Venice. Friendly and very helpful staff. They love working there and it shows. Wi fi is pretty spotty or non-existent, but who cares? Loved staying here - it was so nice to have a quiet and light filled room to relax in for a while when needed and hanging out on the balcony in the morning in my robe watching the rowboats do by was a highlight. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe Arno view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domrocsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
613 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was fortunate to be invited to visit with friends in Florence, one of my favourite European cities...It was suggested that I try this charming hotel, right on the river Arno in central Florence. What a find, and what service. Beautiful hotel, fantastic setting overlooking the Ponte Vecchio. Every morning sat on a terrace watching the river and Florence life flow past, absolutely stunning. Quirky hotel too, great staff, very comfortable, quiet, anything that I needed just had to be asked for...great job, I will be back when again in Florence, which bearing in mind what is around the area wont be long I am sure...

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardUpshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent one night here recently while on a Tuscan vacation. Firstly, we had some trouble getting to the hotel, as we had our own vehicle. The one way system in Florence is not the most easy to navigate and thankfully we had found out prior to leaving on our trip that we had to pre book a spot in the adjoining multi story car park at an additional cost for our car as the hotel doesn't have a parking lot. Our room although small was perfectly equipped and very clean with amazing views over the Arno river and the Ponte Vecchio. We had booked a room with balcony which was fun. Very central for walking around Florence and directly across from the Uffizzi. Not sure we would go back...some of the staff were somewhat snooty...not at all like the other places we stayed at in Italy....which soured the experience a little.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usamacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

First trip to Florence and I found this hotel on the Internet. I live in Asia and am therefore spoilt for nice hotels. For European hotel standard this is excellent, both in terms of quality and size. Perhaps not the newest hotel you can find but the location is superb, view from lobby bar is sublime and the concierge service is one of the best I have come across - and I am a regular business traveller round the world. As my wife says, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After an awful experience at one of its other Lungarno Hotels, the GM (Francesco Roccato) behaved as a true hotelier and moved us to this wonderful property. The hotel is perfect, outdated yet that's what it is all about, true and candid to Firenze, and impeccable service... The only downside is... internet. Wi-Fi coverage and bandwidth are poor at its best, and while most people keep saying disconnect! I keep saying that internet is a commodity nowadays, as basic as phone and TV and light in the hotel... For the rest, just go, try it, you will enjoy it, don't make my mistake by going trendy and cosmpolitan in Firenze, go classic chic... This is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,775 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#37 of 412 in Florence
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#38 of 412 in Florence
1,017 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Property: Hotel Lungarno
Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lungarno 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance. The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bonan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. The hotels spans an extensive modern art collection of over 400 artworks including Picasso, Bueno and Cocteau. Guests will be tempted by the thousands of delicacies of the Arno view restaurant Borgo San Jacopo (1 Michelin Star). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing