We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
Ranked #9 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I don't often write reviews but our last experience was so good we had to let the world know! It is regarding the staff at the Lungarno Hotel and in particular Lorenzo and Simone who are our heroes! After a long flight from DC to Rome and then an immediate drive to the Hotel, we discovered my husband had the wrong bag which is not the way to begin a 2 week trip! A woman had initially taken ours which was identical to hers and she was in Rome. We flew United and since they have a very small presence in Rome she left our bag with Al Italia. Note: always add your cell phone # and email address to your luggage tag since those are likely to be with you. Fortunately our housekeeper got the message on our home phone as to where the bag was and where the women was so the Hotel could return hers. Lorenzo and Simone went into action and it wasn't easy. No response from Al Italia baggage claim so they arranged for a bag chaser in Rome to go to the airport with copies of my husband's passport and baggage claim #; forwarded it to their sister hotel in Rome and had a friend drive it to Florence. It took over a day but we've heard stories that it could take 2-3 weeks and some are never are returned. The Lungarno Hotel is also wonderful. Great room with a balcony overlooking the Arno River and the Ponte Vecchio with really fine service, food and entire staff as charming and helpful as Lorenzo and Simone. A must stay when in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location. Although it is located just a few steps from Ponte Vecchio, the hotel is not in the confusion. The hotel is overlooking the Arno River, with rooms facing the river e Ponte Vecchio. There are also rooms overlooking internal and street Borgo San Jacopo. In this case, it is possible to be in the living rooms of the hotel and enjoy the view intensely. The services are of good quality and the restaurant is incredible. An excellent choice in Firenze!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are more expensive, of course. But even in others rooms you can stay in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

overlooking the river and a minutes walk to the famous bridge with shops and houses built on it, crossing over into the heart of busy Florence with all its splendid buildings, cathedral and fabulous shops

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the river... wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarej2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for two nights and we had an excellent stay. It is a very comfortable hotel in a great location right on the River Arno. If you are driving, there is a parking garage right next door and the employees are usually waiting to help with your bags. It can get a little tricky trying to unload your bags on the sidewalk on a one-way, single-lane street so they are good at accommodating you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

When we opened the curtains of our window, we saw the Florence skyline across the Arno River and the magnificent bridges that span it. (See picture.) This pleasant hotel is only a few blocks from the famed Ponte Vecchio -- and at night you can see glowing reflections of the the lights of the city shimmering on the water. The rooms are not as luxurious as some others in Florence, but you can't argue with the location, nor with the courtesy and service of the staff. Fine restaurants line the street in front of the hotel and you can turn in almost any direction and walk in the shadows of Michelangelo and da Vinci. The only problem with the beauty of Florence is that everyone in the world is aware of it and the crowds can be daunting. Be aware: No one really "lives" in Florence, except tourists -- (Even the Medici family has long since left). This may well give you the impression of visiting a theme park, rather than a charming town. The Lungarno is helpful in that regard, because you can walk anywhere and navigate yourself to palaces, museums, churches -- between the crowds or sometimes on top of them. Here are some survival tips: Eat early and make reservations. Because of the general tourist chaos, restaurants will simply close the doors when they are full, whether you have a reservation or not. That's not because the owners are impolite, it is because so many people cancel or change their minds, that the proprietors don't like to turn customers away when seats are empty (which they seldom are.) Make sure you get a Lungarno room with a view of the river and city. They are quiet, if somewhat spartan. Also opening and closing times of the restaurants are capricious. Make sure the restaurant of your dreams is not closed on an odd Wednesday. Try to go "off-season," which now seems to extend only a few weeks in the middle of the winter. Beware, this is not the place for a "relaxed stay," but yes, it is an incomparable attraction. One further tip for the food conscious: The famous Florentine steak is served rare -- not rare as in a little pink, rare as in barely cooked. If this is what you want, fine, but if it is not, you will need some delicate diplomacy to coax the owner into allowing your steak just a little more "fire." Just keep in mind, the food here is sublime and there are a hundred other more user friendly options. Also, try your best in the fall to get the "fresh picked" olive oil. It is greenish and thick and is carefully doled out to customers who have an eye for delicious and fresh picked ingredients. Nothing quite like it exists in the United States.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThomasNesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Do not miss the chance to stay at this spectacular hotel! The location, right along the Arno and steps from the Ponte Vecchio, cannot be beat. The public area of the hotel is soothingly designed, and provides a wonderful respite amid the bustle of tourist-crowded Florence. Our room was incredible - on the 7th floor with a breathtaking view of the river, duomo, and bridge. We could have just sat in the room and watched the activity on the river for hours. The staff were wonderfully helpful with museum and dining reservations in advance of our stay, and providing us valuable information to make the most of our time in Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river - the rooms on the 6th floor have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveljoyfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

When traveling to Florence, make your reservation with Hotel Lungarno. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the customer service is outstanding and its location is perfect. My wife & I were celebrating our anniversary so I wanted to book a luxury boutique hotel. The hotel definitely met our expectations. Our room was spacious and had a nice terrace view (thanks to the hotel management) -- it was perfect for drinking wine after walking all day. The overall hotel atmosphere is cozy and the staff is genuinely friendly. It made our visit to Florence memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
580 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,884 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,337 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $328 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lungarno 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance. The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bonan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. The hotels spans an extensive modern art collection of over 400 artworks including Picasso, Bueno and Cocteau. Guests will be tempted by the thousands of delicacies of the Arno view restaurant Borgo San Jacopo (1 Michelin Star). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing