We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautifully hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautifully hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed for two nights in "Villa cora" - a sweet room, beautifully decorated. It was quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff were good; acknowledged us on every occasion and were very courteous. Definitely can stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristoffer_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
How to thank you a client who feels like writing such a nice review while still staying at the Hotel? This had never happened before and , of course, we'll be very glad to share your beautiful comment about the Hotel with the whole Hotel's Staff which were said to be professional and helpful.
We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you again soon at our Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    78
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
165
429
10
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birch vale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Well it's not often I'm lost for words.....it's our last day but felt I had to write whilst still here . It's probably the best hotel I've ever stayed at ... The staff cannot do enough to please without being over the top....location is amazing. It isn't cheap but you are staying at a 5 star hotel. So if you are visiting Florence and your not on a budget this is a must stay venue !!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetmroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to find your precious time to write this beautiful and positive review about our Hotel Villa Cora. We are very glad to know that everything went according to your expectations and that your stay was so pleasant and enjoyable. We always feel very proud when receiving such beatiful reviews and can't wait to forward your words with the whole Hotel's Staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to our Hotel as our valued guests.
Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at this beautiful property. The interior, especially the restaurant and adjoining halls, was nicer than some of the chateaus I've stayed in France, which says a lot. The staff were also helpful especially Marco and Michel. The suggested 30 min running route was wonderful leading to a stunning view over Florence. The restaurant served really good food too, especially for dinner. It's located in a quiet residential neighbourhood and it took me about 30 minutes to walk to Ponte Vecchio.

Why 4 stars? The incredibly small bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,
we have read your review and we thank you very much for your beautiful words about the Hotel and our staff. We are very glad and proud to know that you got so impressed about the beauty of the Property, its facilities and services such as the restaurant which you mentioned to serve good food. Happy, too , that you could enjoy the amazing view of Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo after a 30 minute run thanks to the wonderful location of the Hotel next to "Bobolino" park in the green hill of Viale Machiavelli.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests !
Our very best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was treated to a three night stay in this wonderful hotel by my husband. We stayed in the Junior Suite, room 401 which had a lovely light and airy bedroom with beautiful views over the winding road and landscape beyond, large bathroom, separate shower and a walk-in dressing room! There is so much attention to detail from the moment you step inside this beautiful mansion. Would love to come back again one day. A big thank you to all the staff and especially to Antonio, the Concierge, for helping us with our transport to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

My sincerely thank you for your wonderful review regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora and for sharing it on tripadvisor.

The Junior Suite where you stayed on the fourth floor is unique in style with violet velvet schemes, white and gold hand painted decors, big windows with beautiful view on the
garden, and it's own private lift.

Also I wish to thank you for the positive comment regarding our staff and this, believe me, is the best compliment a General Manager can receive and I will be happy to share it with the entire team and with our Concierge Antonio.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

My warmest regards
Claudio Delli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Beautiful opulent building about a mile up in the hills outside the city gate. Attentive service from all of the staff. No problem with changing rooms when we hadn't booked a twin. Every restaurant recommendation a winner. Everything was perfect, shuttle bus service to drop you down into town. A shower would have been good - but maybe that's just picky. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review about our Grand Hotel Villa Cora. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have done our best to make your stay as much as comfortable switching you to a twin room which wasn't booked.
We thank you again for being our precious guests and look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel soon in the future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

On arriving our cab was greeted by a small army of staff ready to take our luggage and usher us to the stunning reception.The hotel was once the home of a German Baron and it showed in every way possible. It is about 1 kilometre walk to the old city gate ( South) walking past some lovely private homes two of which are now Embassies.From the old city entrance ( next to Boboli park) it is a further kilometre to the Pontevechia bridge and the start of the the city centre. I can't say enough good things about villa Cora from the amazing decor to the lovely grounds and quiet location, if you can afford it and love the person you're taking treat you and them to a truly lovely oasis in the Florence hills. To all the staff we thankyou . Mr & Mrs Hall.

Room Tip: we stayed on second floor facing the city room 206 and view was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Hall,

thank you so very much for this beautiful review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular that our team made your stay unforgettable.
We really hope to see you soon again at Villa Cora!

Best Regards,

Claudio Delli - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

What a beautiful hotel and experience our three day stay for our anniversary was. Indulgently staying in a Duplex Room with two bathrooms, the decor, attentiveness to detail and size of space was amazing. From the minute we arrived, the Staff friendliness and attentiveness was excellent, and we agree it was more like staying in someone's home (stately home!).
Breakfast was superb in the poolside restaurant which we understand is also the dining area in warmer months (the dining room at the moment is within the main hotel and if there was any criticism it was this is lacking in atmosphere).
Quite frankly we could not fault the hotel, thank you for a memorable experience of Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 742john79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review, it's always a pleasure to read such beautiful words.
The Duplex rooms on our first floor are very spacious and very well decorated. A perfect place to enjoy a stay in total relax.
Our pool restaurant "Le Bistrot" is now open, one more reason for you to come back.

With my warmest regards,

Claudio Delli - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing