We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but let down by one or two issues”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #6 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are professional and attentive without being overly present and are helpful. The transport into town means that you can enjoy the busy sites of Florence whilst returning to an oasis of calm and luxury. The building itself is beautiful and in tip top condition. Our room was expansive and had both a shower and a bedroom. Its a wonderful place to stay. I managed to fit in a swim in the outdoor pool which is available all year round and I imagine int the summer, that must be a fabulous place to while away some time. We also got some great recommendations on palces to eat, no duds, all good places that were a bit off the beaten track and run by people who clearly love food.
However...
the smaller bathroom faced the outside wall and was therefore chilly (it being February)and bizarrely did not have any towels in it for the shower. The water in the bathroom had a very weird taste that was not present elsewhere in the City either. We booked tickets for the Uffizi from the hotel and the price was double what we could have paid having gone straight there. Given that it was winter and relatively quiet in Florence, there was no discernable benefit to booking the Uffizi at the hotel and I would recommend other guests mindful of their hard-earned to think carefully before taking this very convenient option. Finally, the restaurant was a bit of a disaster area. We had the local specialities on the first night which were not great (though offal is a personal taste) and pretty expensive. Dinner on the second night was expensive and also very very forgettable. The waiting staff did a good job and its a lovely location but the food was tepid and lacked technical expertise. The lady at the next door table was going nuts about problems with the food too. Generally poor and expensive. Guests could do a lot better by eating elsewhere.
Overall, we would love to go back (if they'll have us after this!) - a fantastic hotel and good model for visiting Florence that must be even better in the summer. The rooms and the building are wonderful, well staffed and well maintained but the restaurant is in urgent need of sorting out and with that, the other niggles are easily fixed and forgotten.

Room Tip: 111 was fantastic but the water tasted weird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much to spend your precious time to write a review about our Hotel. Apparently there was something during your stay that didn't meet with your expectations and we feel deeply sorry about this . We only wish we could have known that at the moment and , for sure , we could have done our best to fix everything up. Your overall opinion of your stay and of the Hotel is, anyway, good but we certainly accept any kind of criticism that can help us to make things work out even better.
WITH NO DOUBT, It would be a real pleasure to welcome you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora !
Our Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

It seems pointless to write another raving review of Villa Cora as there are already so many, but it is a pleasure to be able to say something positive now and then too.
If you like Downton Abbey, you will love this hotel. You can go and get a feel for what it would have been like to live in such luxury for a few days. It is beautiful and tastefully restored, not overdone. With the ornate walls and ceilings, the furniture in the main rooms is kept on the minimal side, an example of great Italian taste, from then and now.
You also don’t really have the feeling that you are staying in a hotel, more like you are at home. Maybe because of its small size and the discreet staff. Though the staff are always there when you need them, just not invasive or overly present.
There isn’t much point to staying in the centre of Florence in my opinion. Visit the city during the day and return to this quiet, green luxury in the late afternoon and relax poolside or in the spa in the winter. In the evening after you are refreshed you can take a leisurely walk back into town for dinner. Even if you are there for work, it is the perfect place to relax after a busy day.
We didn’t have dinner in the hotel but their breakfast buffet was lovely (fruit could have been more ripe)
The views of Florence from Villa Cora’s hillside location are breathtaking, you can begin to imagine how it was to live in Florence all those years ago.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Client,

thank you very much for the wonderful words that you have spent to describe your stay with us and also for posting those beautiful pictures of the Property. It seems that you have fully enjoyed the unique and charming feeling of staying at our Home and this really makes us feel as having achieved our goal. We will share your compliments to the whole staff and look forward to welcoming you again to Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a great hotel, probably the most I've ever paid for a hotel and wow, the ornate ceilings are exceptional, the rooms are great, we had a mini suite, five rooms in total including two bathrooms. The best bit by far was the concierge team, they were super, some great recommendations and we did not have a bad meal or experience the whole weekend anywhere in Florence. If you are thinking of Marriott or Westin but want that little something special, Villa Cora is it. No regrets or issues, a fab weekend from start to finish

Room Tip: The double height room was incredible, very 1800's in a grand manor house but the junior suite w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smully63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for writing such a beautiful review.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the words spent on our Concierge team job.
The rooms here at Villa Cora are all different from every point of view, size, colors, ornaments, style. I'm happy to read that you liked your Suite.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mr. Claudio Delli - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Words cannot really express how opulent, beautiful and magnificent the Grand Hotel Villa Cora is. We stayed for 4 nights in the Grace Kelly Room and it was like living in another world! The high quality furnishings, the intricate room décor and the attention to detail was stunning. Our two boys had their own private loft space with their own television, beautiful sleigh beds and their teddies placed perfectly on their pillow everyday. With 2 bathrooms in our room it was comfortable, spacious and more than a little extravagant! It was so refreshing to stay in a luxurious hotel who catered for our children too. The breakfast was delicious, and the surroundings were second to none. The staff were always extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The grounds are just so beautiful, and you can easily walk to the Boboli gardens. The shuttle into the centre of Florence was a little gem, and to be picked up after your dinner and a few wines was wonderful. A trip we will never forget. Thank-you so much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaBlown1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Mrs. Jessica,

thank you very much for your review.
Our Duplex rooms in the noble floor are very spacious and comfortable and I agree with you when you say that they are a perfect accomodation for a family.
I'm sure my staff will be very happy to read your positive comment on TA and we all hope to see you again soon at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.

Best Regards,
Claudio Delli - Managing director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is very exclusiv, it has it all. We didn't stay better anywhere, everything is very impressioning,
Entering the hotel,the majordome guided us,to see and explain all the possibilities we got.This hotel is unbelievable beautiful and even more than unique...
It is true, it is a litlle bit outside the citycenter but near the Pittypalace., We didn't had to wait 30 seconds for the schuttle bus bringing us to the city, a phonecall was enough to come to pick us up..Breakfast was included and You got everything You asked
We stayed three days there and we wont forget them...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bacchus1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

I a m so glad to see your beautiful rewiev!! I will be share Your kind words with all the staff and i would like to thank you for take your time.

I really hope to welcoming you back, i will welcome you personally,

My warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed five days in August and really enjoyed it. The hotel is located about a mile out of town but they run shuttles 7-8 hours a day. We like to tour 6 hours a day so the Villa Cora real fit our style. We would get up to a very grand breakfast, catch the shuttle into town, explore Florence and take it easy around the pool. The service was great and the on campus restaurant was very good.

There is one thing you should know. On the web site and with travel agents the hotel describes the deluxe rooms as having a balcony with a view. When we arrived they took us to a very nice room but it was on the first floor of the annex with no view. We told them it was not what we ordered and they said we had to specify that we wanted the deluxe balcony room with a view (we could not find a place to do that on the web). After two days they did move us to a balcony room and the view was fantastic.

The staff was great and helpful. The shuttle went out of their way for us and of course Florence...was grand.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are smaller but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crowslex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really thank you for choosing theGrand Hotel Villa Cora for your stay in Florence and it was a pleasure to welcoming you among our clients.

A sincere Thank you for your nice comments regarding the hotel, the location and the Staff Service .

We do apologize for the missing information regarding your desire to have a room with balcony, and we are very pleased to know that once we change you room we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming back to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora!


Best regards
Claudio Delli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Imagine your dream home....those elusive, whimsical, and tantalizing images concocted in your subconscious, the unattainable perfection (and the endearing imperfection) mocking you as you sigh in defeat to reality's cruelties, resigned to the conclusion that such things do not exist. Then imagine the unbridled joy you'd experience when, one day, you drive through strangely familiar iron gates, to a courtyard with a fountain that you are sure had welcomed you for a hundred years, and into a precisely yet abstractly sculpted and painted mansion that had somehow come into existence out of the ether of your dreams....a reunion with a pleasant and lovely past life.

Now, let's get back to reality. My wife and I stayed at Villa Cora during Christmas week, on the third floor, in one of the Deluxe Moresco rooms. The room was charming but small and relatively dark. The room's french door opened onto the shared terrace area with a breathtaking view of Florence that you could gaze at for hours on end without tiring. The Hall of Mirrors on the main floor, as well as its terrace and grounds are and intoxicating and magical mix of grandiosity and subtle beauty that will make you feel....fulfilled. As for the staff, the concierge staff was excellent and always helpful, and I used them to book tours and train tickets. The shuttle is fairly limited in availability, and the driver was adequate but not particularly helpful nor friendly - but I suppose it's not really his job to be so. The breakfast buffet was excellent, as was the staff there - we did tire of the same Christmas songs (Michael Buble, I think) being played during the meal that entire week though; I think classical music or opera would have better suited the environment...and out stomach. We also had dinner there one of the nights, and it was very good but I can't say it was memorable. Late night room service should be avoided - as is the case almost everywhere else, room service food here were of relatively poorer quality and taste. To nitpick even further - one thing that I think most people expect from five star hotels is generous attention to details in the guestrooms that are maintenance related - things that show that its staff are on their toes and not ignoring obvious issues. It's a sure sign of the General Manager's seriousness and his/her relationship with the staff. For example, making sure that lights are working, fixtures are not rattling, everything is clean, etc. On that front, Villa Cora does an excellent job, and the only thing approaching a complaint that I might have is that the in-room safe had a peeling label on its door.

In conclusion, Villa Cora truly is a "dream" (as one of the other reviewers noted) and should be visited.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your beautiful rewiev!! I am so proud to hear you have appreciated the decor of the rooms on the ground floor and how we have restored them. The staff will be informed about your positive comments on their job, in the meantime we will work to play different kind of music and we will take our mesures to get stronger lights in the room. The room service will be improved as you noted.
I will be grateful to welcome you back to Villa Cora, you will see our improvements,

My warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,341 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Hotel Lungarno
#7 of 411 in Florence
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#8 of 411 in Florence
620 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,655 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 411 in Florence
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#5 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $355 - $1,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing