We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #5 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and was very happy with the experience. The surroundings are quiet and the hotel is beautiful and clean. My room was in the side building, it was spacious and clean with a large bathroom. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of food and an egg station. I also had dinner one night in the same restaurant and was very pleased, food was delicious and service was very friendly. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ve8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

i took note of your kind comment and i thank you for your beautiful rewiev!

i am so glad to understand that all the services satisfied your expectations; i really hope to welcoming you back in Florence!!!

My warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    62
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
139
359
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for four days in this beautiful hotel. It was our second visit to florence and I had originally planned to stay in the centre - however due to great reviews we chose this one. A brilliant choice and we would definitely return. I had a slight problem with the unseasonal torrential ya in and thunderstorms which brought out the midgies who ate my arms up nicely! However the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or sympathetic - even though it wasn't their fault. The walk into florence was lovely and gave you a chance to walk off dinner. This wasn't a lively hotel when we stayed - more understated, quiet elegance where nothing was too much trouble. Rooms a great size, amazing views, excellent breakfast and beautiful, peaceful surroundings - a real star! Would definitely return - just worried it will get to busy from all take great reviews! The spa was also great - had the most amazing massage from a friendly Thai lady - have real problems with my back and she was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

je suis ravis de recevoir ce beau commentaire. C' est très important d' apprendre que le personnel du Villa Cora a bien travaillé et que vous avez apprécié nos services; notre objectif est celui de rejoindre la satisfaction du client et encore une fois nous sommes réussi.

J' espère vivement de vous donner la bienvenue à florence encore une fois,

meilleures salutations

meilleures salutations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Villa Cora is a beautiful hotel close to the Pitti Palace and the Boboli Gardens. The complimentary shuttle service provides easy access to Florence and all its marvellous buildings and art. The swimming pool is a good size and never crowded, and next to the resteraunt. Breakfast wasa delight with all the staff ready to please you and a chef to cook your eggs however you wanted them. All the staff were really welcoming and helpful. Our room was of a generous size, always clean and had lovely views over the pool and gardens.
A real relaxing holiday, and a hotel we look forward to returning to

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldKeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so proud to receive your rewiev and i thank you for this. It will be a pleasure for me to share with all Villa Cora Team your kind comments.

When you will be back, i will be very glad to meet you personally,

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was a real gem of a find and we will return as we had only planned a one night stop and wish we could have stayed longer. The villa was stunning and the rooms luxurious. There was also a lovely heated pool. Staff were excellent throughout. Although it's only a 15 minute walk to the centre of Florence, the hotel runs a courtesy shuttle which makes everything easier. Oh - and the breakfast was superb too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city - the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much to write this positive review about our Hotel . We really are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the hotel's services and facilities impressed you so much even if you only stayed 1 night at our Property. It is always a great reward for our big efforts to receive such a nice comment and we feel like having achieved our goal when it happens.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests.
Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are still trying to choose the best Florence hotel, stop. Villa Cora deserves to be called Grand. This property not only has gorgeous grounds but amazing service and food. Yes, it may appear far from City Centre but that is not the case at all. In fact, they have a courtesy hotel shuttle that will take you up and down the Florentine hills if you are not active. My husband and I stayed two nights for our anniversary. The property lines Boboli Gardens. We took advantage of the greenery and walked down the hill into the gardens which led us straight into City Centre. Did I mention the hotel also has a grand rooftop terrace view...we were delighted to take advantage of this while watching the sunset all while enjoying local Chianti wine. The staff was so professional and gracious. Gosh I could go on and on. The pool area was pristine and the soothing sound of the infinity pool could put any lounger to sleep. When rested, the staff will serve you food or drink of your choice poolside. No need to leave the hotel for food. The lunch and dinner at the pool restaurant is a dining event of sorts. Five star service all the way with delicious food for foodies and reasonable prices. If you are tired of Italian breakfast, then you will be happy to know their breakfast spread will also cover your egg and waffle craving. We were sad to leave but we will come back to this little palace on the hillside. Sssshhh we can't let the whole world in on it.

Room Tip: Ask for a city side view and to stay in the main quarters. Enjoy a bottle of wine on the rooftop and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCCrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Client,

We thanky you very much to write this beautiful review about the Hotel, its facilities and service . We are so happy, too, to read that the Staff was professional and corteous. Yes, it's true , the swimming pool area is the perfect place to relax anytime but even more after a busy day sightseeing in Florence. Also, we feel very proud when you point out that there was no need to go anywhere else dining or simply having breakfast but at our Le Pool's Restaurant . Thank you for being our guest!
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

absolutely stunning ! cant recommend this place highly enough .
my only regret is we only had 3 nights here .You need at least 5 days to really enjoy the beauty of this stunning hotel.
staff were really friendly along with a great restaurant , sundays is BBQ night.
great for couples or families with children .

Room Tip: you can choose to look out into pool area or city of florence .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review about our Hotel , its restaurant and service. Hopefully next time you' ll be able to stay longer even if we are so happy to know that you could enjoy your stay at our Property anyway. We really can't wait to share your compliments with all the Staff and look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests.

Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow.. We were spoilt. The accommodation was perfect, we looked out over Florence. There is a roof top where you can have drinks and the view from here was lovely. The staff were very helpful and they had a shuttle bus that dropped you off and picked you up. This was wonderful. The food was of a very high standard . A must to visit on you stay in Florence.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Client.

We really are so proud to read such a beautiful review about our Hotel. We are very glad that the property, as well as its facilities and services, impressed you so much that we truly feel like having achieved our goal which is to make our customers' stay unforgettable.
We thank you very much for your your compliments and hope that you'll be choosing us again when coming back to Florence.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#14 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Hotel David
#3 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,711 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing