We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ambience of calm and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An ambience of calm and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything about this hotel is just right. Florence is stunning but in honesty, can be overwhelming and very hot. Villa Cora is the perfect retreat at the end of the day.

There is a beautiful and peaceful feel to the place. The hotel is stunning with some very ornate and grand rooms but also some understated but elegant rooms - I'd had slight concerns that it might be "overdone" but no, this has been carefully considered. There is nothing tacky here. (I'd found a ridiculous and "vampy" promotional video on-line that almost put me off - but thankfully, it didn't represent the atmosphere at all).

The restaurant and food are perfect with the staff being polite and helpful but still "human."
During the hotter months, the pool is a godsend and the pool area has been done beautifully.

We'll definately be returning..

Room Tip: I'm sure all the bedrooms are fabulous but let's face it, you don't spend much time look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayMum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write a review about the hotel. We are very glad and proud that you enjoyed your stay at our Property and got impressed about the Hotel's facilities, Staff and grand rooms. We agree with you and believe that , especially during summer time, our beautiful swimming pool area is the perfect place to stay in and relax. Also we are very happy to know that you experienced a different atmosphere from the one you were expecting to find because our first goal is to make our customers feel as they were at a special home attended by professional yet friendly and polite staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora .
Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    81
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
172
447
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved the room decor though they were small. Pool was amazing. Gorgeous yummy breakfast. Nice to be outside city hustle but not too far away. Very happy with this choice! Helpful staff. Slow service poolside and small gym but neither were big complaints.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CACinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear clients ,

Thank you very much to take your time to write a review about our Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Property and we will share this good feedback with the whole hotel's staff . We really look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel as our precious guests.

Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Villa Cora and the hotel was spectacular, the hotel grounds were amazing especially the beautiful pool area. The hotel itself is only a 5/10 minute cab ride (25 minute walk) from the heart of Florence but worth it after dealing with the crowds and heat in downtown Florence. The staff we dealt with were all very nice and accommodating. The food in the hotel was good but we never managed to make it to breakfast which was a shame as we were told that it was great. We did book a table for the BBQ on the Sunday night which was great and well worth the 55 euro's per head with wine included. I can honestly say that this hotel has to be one of my favorite hotel and my wife’s new favourite! We both loved it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenT1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your positive review about the Hotel. We are very glad that you have enjoyed so much the hotel's facilities such as the pool where , especially during the summer, many events and special evenings are taking place to create a magic atmosphere. We are so happy, too, that you have tried our barbecue and that you say it was great.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests.
Our Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

A beautiful building, sympathetically decorated, wonderful pool area (the only outdoor one in Florence I understand), great service, fabulous spa. What more do I need to say?

We had just the most lovely and relaxing week at Villa Cora celebrating our wedding anniversary. We had the most comfortable bed and a terrace overlooking Florence. A short walk (about 20 minutes) into town or use the shuttle bus. To explain this just does a run about drop off service so you may have to wait for 20 minutes if it is out on a run - it does not run to set times but it does take you where you want to go. Oh and the taxi's we used did vary a bit but only by a euro or two and they were a lot cheaper than London cabs!

There is a lovely spa there where I spent a very pleasant couple of hours being massaged to get me in the holiday mood. It has a great steam room, sauna, and jacuzzi which is free to residents. They even bring you tea to drink while you relax!

The food is lovely, and I would highly recommend the BBQ nights (nothing to do with sausages and burgers I must add!). Drinks are not cheap but then it is a high quality hotel. We bought water in the local supermarket. The food was surprisingly reasonable and interesting although we did find some better places to eat in town (see my other reviews). Breakfast is 20euros but crickey it is good - my husband fell in love with the ginger poached pears!

The staff were all lovely. I read in some other reviews that they appeared sullen, but I think it is just that some of them did not speak very good english (and I speak no italian) so it sometimes became a bit of a struggle, but I did not come across anyone who was not pleasant. Oh and the concierge would book up anything you needed - and seem to have a bit of influence.

I must just respond to some of the poorer reviews on this hotel:
1. if you are not going to take advantage of a free safe in the room and leave valuables open then you take some responsibility - there will always be a bad penny
2. to the lady who's holiday was spoiled by the toilet running continually, if you pressed the flush button twice it stopped, such a shame you didn't think to try.
3. to the chap who recommended we choose the four seasons as it is superior - at an extra £3,000 for the week I would expect it to be!

Go and stay in Villa Cora - remember we live in different countries and have different ideas about what is the right way to do things. Embrace the lovely relaxed way of life and enjoy being looked after in beautiful surroundings in an amazing city. Oh and to the guy that said it was a bit tired - if you don't like a bit of wear and tear I suspect you won't enjoy Florence one bit - that is its amazing charm.

Fantastic, simply fantastic

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojitomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

It is very rewarding to hear that you felt the hotel was outstanding and that you loved your experience.
That the team were exceptionally warm, gracious and attentive and that we were able to assist with all aspect of your stay and requests.
I am pleased that you liked your room, the SPA, the location and that your overall experience was memorable.

Thank you once again!

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Warm regards,
Claudio Delli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Ma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Villa Cora. The hotel was truly beautiful, the grounds were out of a fairytale. The hotel was an easy 10 minute cab ride to the heart of florence and truly worth it. After a day of dealing with the crowds and the heat, nothing was more amazing than the beautiful pool. The staff at the bar and pool was unbelievable. They were so kind and nice and accommodating. They even opened the Cigar Bar for us after midnight, for my boyfriend to get a cigar. The hotel is small, only about 46 rooms and it never felt crowded, but seemed just right. It felt like we were at a beautiful old tuscan villa with all the modern amenities. The concierge was helpful and attentive. We stayed in a room in the main villa and one in the smaller villa. Both equally nice. My only caveat is to bring bug spray. I was bit terribly at the pool by some sort of mosquitos. The food at the hotel is good. We never made it to breakfast, but heard it was great. We had lunch one day there and it was good. The dinner looked great as well. This hotel is absolutely my favorite hotel I have ever stayed at in Europe. I loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent comments about our hotel, we are very proud when guests leave satisfied.

All the staff of the Grand Hotel Villa Cora are always at guests disposal to make stays memorable like yours.

Thank you so much for your reviews and hope to welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,
Claudio Delli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently took 34 people to Florence for 1 week at Villa Cora. It was the most amazing place to stay and my friends are experienced travellers and they all raved about the accommodation, food, location and friendly staff.
I go to Florence every year and have tried many hotels BUT this one is
Just Perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Tell Clarissa Mary-Ann sent you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora. We are pleased to learn that you and your friends appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Florence.

At the Grand Hotel Villa Cora we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Florence.

We would love to have you stay with us next time you are in town,
so don´t hesitate in contacting us!

Best Regards
Claudio Delli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A fabulous base for exploring Florence, which is within walking distance. The hotel is situated out of the hustle and bustle and is very easy to find. It also has excellent parking and plenty of it. The facilities are superb and the attention to detail excellent. The staff were wonderful, polite and friendly. I bought a group and we have 18 rooms for 3 nights - everyone adored the hotel. The food was excellent too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Classic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

From all of us here at The Grand Hotel Villa Cora, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Florence.
We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

We would love to see you again next time you are in town. So please, feel free to contact us anytime.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Claudio Delli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing