We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden restaurant within a bookstore”
Review of Brac

Brac
Ranked #262 of 3,244 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Giovanni
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is hidden in an alley with undercover which looks like a book shop. The food is excellent, great vegetarian and vegan options, the mixed plate is of great value with appetiser, main dish and baked dish. The atmosphere is casual, modern and comfortable.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank SJiun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

At the end of Uffizi gallery tour, we found our way to the nearby Brac. Head full of renaissance paintings but our belly empty- we craved for food and arrived well before our booking time. And not at all disappointed when we arrived at the place when the host graciously showed us our table. First surprise - water is free. Hurrah - hear that other restaurants? Second- the food was beyond good. It was SUPERBO. We ordered tagliatelle and seitan. And unabashedly shares our plates. I settled for house wine as I had a cold. and my partner gulfed a Campari and then to rub it in a dessert !

It was lovely, service great. And the bonus - eating amidst books.

Will return again and highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank thiszfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another great recommendation from our Airbnb host in Florence. As pescatarians, we'd been wanting to find a restaurant that specialised in vegetarian/vegan food, as this was something we hadn't found in Rome. We'd almost walked past the place, as the interior of books had thrown us slightly, but it looked cool inside, and went out further back into a small courtyard and another indoor seating area. We hadn't reserved, but luckily, the waitress could offer us a table for an hour and a half which was plenty of time (she did so with a few other couples, too). It did get busy, so I'd recommend booking in advance, perhaps a day before. We opted for the €15 deal which was 3 dishes on one plate; basically a starter, main and side. I chose avocado, a spaghetti dish and my favourite from the plate: a slice of baked potato, topped with cheese and homemade mango chutney/seasoned with curry spices. My boyfriend chose the Mediterranean salad, a different spaghetti dish with tomatoes and flatbread, topped with aubergine and cheese. We were both delighted with our choices and thoroughly enjoyed our meals! The service was great and the bill came to €46, including drinks. This place is definitely a must when visiting Florence.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank kifeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

We both ordered the piatto unico, 3 little dishes on one plate for 15€. Food is absolutely divine, the place itself very lovely, good service.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 543emiliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

Full name 'Libreria Brac' gives the secret to its appeal. It's easy to miss this place, and we initially did, because the first time we passed, the owner hadn't yet pulled up the metal shutters. Only on our second pass did we realise where it was. But once inside this is a delightful place: part bookshop - part restaurant, serving an entirely vegetarian menu and it was all great. We had the 15€ option which gave us a plate with a portion from each of the salad/pasta/oven menus. I chose a lovely Greek/Mediterranean salad, fantastic ravioli with ricotta and spinach and tangy tomato, and a spinach and poached egg bake on a flatbread base. It was all delicious and filled the appetite. And I browsed various photojournalism books and a book on comic art while I waited for it to arrive from the kitchen. There are three areas: the first room you enter looks like a bar area, with customers eating at the bar, seated on high stools, and just a couple of lower tables against the wall. Books line the wall shelves. The other eating area - accessed by crossing a small covered courtyard - is slightly more conventional in its table layout, and again the decor is shelves lines with lots of fascinating books (available to buy). We were there early (7.10pm) just as they were opening, and were the first people to arrive, but by the time we left, the front room was full and the rear room had three other tables seated. Worth booking to be sure.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brac also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Brac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing