We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go go go, but make a reservation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brac

Brac
Ranked #117 of 2,509 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Uffizi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go go go, but make a reservation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First of all make a reservation as it's not a very big restaurant, but it is worth the effort. I went with my parents and none of us are vegetarian (both my parents are avid meat eaters). It was fantastic, a calm relaxed atmosphere, great wine, fantastic food, huge portions and the price is not high. If you ever wanted to try a vegetarian restaurant but never have, then make this your first!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blockone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    266
    57
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Alternative and cosy setting with great veggie food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

You won't find it by just wandering around, but it is worth going there. Be sure to make a reservation

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Veggie Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Brac had been recommended to us and once we found it, we were not deceived!
We loved the veggie food (although we are not vegetarians) and can only recommend it. The service was very friendly and price/value absolutely top. My husband had some cramps during the night but I think this might be due to not being used to the oil/herbs etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheepfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My word, how wondrous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I are visiting from California. Brac was recommended to us by a local, who is not vegetarian and loves the establishment. Suffice to say we were lucky to have been squeezed in early without a res (necessary!) and we were enraptured by the creative, fresh (literally and figuratively) extraordinary cuisine. I would like to marry the cook! Simple, yet inventive. The ambiance is fun too. Books abound. I could eat pasta every day, but it was so refreshing after doing so for two weeks as a vegetarian in Italy, to have something new and fresh. Highly recommend this spot. Really special. We made a reservation for two days later!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BreezeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a vegetarian restaurant I recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ate dinner at Brac last evening. We were fortunate to get a table because it was early. Reservations are recommended. The person at the bar spoke fluent English and was able to explain the menu to us. You order a plate with 3 items on it , choosing from about 6 different items in each category. A salad, main dish composed of pasta or rice, and a bread similar to a calzone or pizza. We are vegans and they pointed out the vegan choices for us. The cost was 12 euros for each plate , very reasonable with large portions. More than I could finish. Each items was tasty and individually prepared. The service was good, setting was in a library, difficult to find - we had to ask locals to help us. We did not eat dessert but it looked very good. We intend to go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtj51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brac also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Brac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing