We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black 5 Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black 5 Florence
Ranked #269 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Bradford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is an excellent base for a stay in Florence, rooms were clean and despite what other reviews say you can hardly hear the noise outside, it's in a very good location and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordBabs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    78
    47
    23
    20
See reviews for
39
147
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this hotel 3 months prior to our visit and Therefore got a great rate. By chance our flight from London meant we arrived at the hotel 10 mins before someone arrived for any check ins. Be warned there are quite a few steps before you get to a floor with a lift and there is no porter service. Checking in staff were not overly friendly. Our room (no 10) was around the corner from the reception which looked out over internal courtyard, therefore quite quiet. We were given the receptions wifi pass code. The rooms was a decent size with safe, wadrobe and mini bar (which didn't work). The bathroom was clean although it smelt of urine.
Breakfast was simple and all that we needed.
The location. Is great for Santa Croce and hop on hop off sightseeing stop no 7 is around the corner. We had dinner at francesco Vini which was great and the best ice cream called vivoli is also only 5 mins walk.
This is great hotel if you get a good rate and intend to be out of the hotel all day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therealthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Black 5 was a great place to stay for out visit to Florence. In a wonderful location, the rooms were all comfortable and interesting. Great breakfast too! The staff were very helpful and let us keep our bags there after check out so we could explore Florence. I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

No front desk, access only 2-6 pm if you want help after this time the charge start from 30 euro!! .no flexible time ..Plus you have to wait 40 min To be able to get in .. Strictly check out at 10 and if you want to leave the luggage u have to wait to get it back after 2!! I believed hotel biz serves guests needs and wants not the way a round- if you decide to spend 115 up u can do much better. Really !! If you are running B&B and operate for 4 hours a day it's worse than 1 star hotel. Not worth the money ..staff have attitude that if you do not like it , fell free to change the hotel!! Of course , the hotel already charge full 2 night up front my arrival... Worse ever since I travel around Italy for a year with this price point...The room I got was not similar like the picture the hotel shown me

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noniebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Found this location on tripadvisor search - i work for a large hotel company and my properties were sold out over the dates i was in florence. Black 5 had great rates and the locations was very central. We arrived early and our room was ready... the room was very nice, simple and had the basics.
to back track a moment - this location has about 25 steps to climb before you reach an elevator and at times it is DARK.. so beware if that doesnt work for you- and there is no one to help you are on your own! the rooms were nice, service was friendly. the rate did not incl a 4Euro per person per night tax which is only accepted in cash. The towels in the room are minimal - i would definitly ask for more towels - we have 2 shower, 1 floor which was all wet due to the shower placement and 2 face which were like linen napkins and not useful at all. the blowdryer was the worst i had ever seen - it is like a vacuum - this was the only hotel on my trip i was dissapointed - they definitly need to invest in handheld blowdryers -that is a huge travel must for me. the location is central - we walked about 15minutes from the train station with our luggage - then walked all over the city - never needed a cab or bus. keep in mind our room was in the front and the noise is loud one night i was up all night - it was garbage trucks, bottles, pedestrians - but i think any location would have this issue if in a central area. the breakfast was decent a little pricey for what it is but it worked. the wifi is in the hallway only - odd that it doesnt work in the rooms considering they are a step away! .. overall i would visit again but now i have more info, ask for more towels, buy or pack a hairdryer, pack light to climb the steps, and maybe some night ear plugs.

Room Tip: i would ask for a back room but since i didnt stay there now sure about the noise level there!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is newly renovated in a great location! It was a short taxi ride from the train station (I believe it was less than 20 Euros) and a short ride to the airport as well. It was walking distance to everything. The only complaint I would have is the noise at night if you stay on the weekends, since it is on a street with popular bars and lounges. My friend and I didn't mind as we were staying out late anyways but you do see people out drinking and hanging around the entrance of Black 5 Florence Suite. So I would probably recommend this place to young adults rather than families or business trips.

The rooms are adorable. I loved the decor! The lady that checked us in was super nice!

Free wifi in near the front office, ask for the super long password.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Black 5 in February for 2 days. There are a lot of good reviews for this hotel, but I thought it was only average. The room we were in looked nothing like the pictures. The pictures look 10 times more modern. Our room was pretty old and shabby looking. It was spacious with a big bed but that's about it. Our shower drained super slow, so you are pretty much showering with your feet immersed in 3 inches of water the whole time.
We did not pay extra for the breakfast.
It is quite an odd set up as you need to first open the building door with a key, go through a gate, go up 2 flights of stairs, insert a key into the elevator to take it up another 2 floors, use a key to open the door to the hotel and then use another key to open your room door. And there's a key to the safe too.
As other people have mentioned there's no one around, so not that convenient. Never saw anyone working there the whole time we were there.
Also, there is no wifi which was disappointing. Businesses closed around 6 or 7 so going back to the hotel around 9 with only a TV with no English channels was a bit boring. Most cafes and restaurants have wifi though if you need it.
Thought the hotel was okay, pretty basic and clean but otherwise not that exciting.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbles000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#116 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000
Santa Croce
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
#29 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Santa Croce
A Teatro B&B
A Teatro B&B
#234 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black 5 Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black 5 Florence

Property: Black 5 Florence
Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 5, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black 5 Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black 5 Florence Suite is a Charming Bed and Breakfast located in the Santa Croce Area of Florence's historical centre. It offers, Free WiFi, Free Minibar with Mineral Water, Air-Conditioned rooms, hairdryer and private Bathroom. Breakfast is settled in Your Room complimentary. Rooms are decorated in different styles and colours to provide a cosy atmosphere and different experiences. The Black 5 Florence Suite is located less than 5 minutes walking away the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Wellness Center is at 500 mt walking distance from Black 5 Florence and is available if you book it in advance. All Rooms are, with ensuite bathroom, whirlpool bath or shower, hairdryer, large and bright windows. They all look onto the central Via Verdi. They are equipped with Free WiFi, air conditioning, Free Minibar with Mineral Water, TV, Safe, Antiallergic Mattresses, Double pillows and bed linen in pure Egyptian cotton.Breakfast settled in Your Room consist of: Coffee or Tea, Milk, Brioches, Muesli,Crisp Bread, Butter, Jam, Honey, Yogurt, Orange Juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black 5 Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black 5 Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing