We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel Black5 Florence Suite”
Review of Black 5 Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black 5 Florence
Ranked #258 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We found this hotel very clean and comfortable. The hotel receptionist spoke excellent English and recommended many good places to eat and see. For a bed and breakfast it had everything you could need and very close to the historic area. Very good value for money and in a lovely old Florentine house. There were stairs to the first floor therefore no good for wheelchair users but that was no problem at all for us. The bathroom was spotless and overall the place was well above expectations.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the house not looking on to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassymicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 308 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

Excellent hotel, big room, very nice bathroom. Very nice staff. Breakfast was excellent !

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jotayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Exceeded my expectations. Good for couples and excellent localization. But the time of check-in and check-out are limited.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredoCPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I was initially attracted to the Black 5 Florence Suite for its location and atmosphere/interior design. This is not your typical hotel because you can only check in between 2-6pm. In addition to the minor check in inconvenience, the major issue was the noise. The walls are super thin and we had extremly noisy neighbours who were drunk singing La Bamba until 5:30 in the morning. Under a normal circumstance, we could have gone down to the concierge and asked to switch rooms, but in this case, because no one is at reception, we were stuck and the line of communication as to who to complain to is unclear (unless there is an emergency). Additionally, the condition of the bathroom was run down, water barely draining from the shower.

While the on-premis staff were plesant, we are now a month after our stay and still trying to get a refund. We ended up leaving after the first night instead of staying three, switching to a different hotel and asked for a refund. We'll see where it goes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
black5florence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Black 5 Florence, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Sarah L,
thank you for reserving Your Room in Center of Florence in Black 5 .Thank you for having post a very good value at Our Geografic Location.
Concerning your comment , Please note that , we can not be responsable for the other guests's behavior. In any case we've offered you a different room far from other guests that you've mentioned, upon your request. Please note that You did not want change room .
We are pretty sure that you've leaved in advance our property following Your own change in your travel plan.
Waiting for your new stay in Black 5 located in full of historical center of florence , Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed in this Residence 12nov.it is very hard to find the hotel even with a gps!and No one to help you in the entrance and you need to handcarry all your staff one floor up byyourself. İt took us nearly one hour to check in as the resposible staff was unprofessional without any knowledge at all , talking on his mobile with his manager to get online support although we were the only ones waiting to check in! Then in the end we were asked to pay 30 euro extra charge as we have checked in after18.00 . However, our reservation was confirmed although we made it after 18:00 . So very unprofessional service according to the price of the room which was 156 euro with extra charges.besides breakfast starts at8:30 and finishes at 9.30 which means you need to give extra effort to catch it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edafuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
black5florence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Black 5 Florence, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Dear Edafuat,
thank you for your interest in Black 5 Florence Suite.
Please note that Black 5 is a Charming Bed and Breakfast in Full of Florence Center, between Duomo and Uffizi Gallery. Just above on Teatro Verdi and just behind the Bargello Musuem the Most important Florence's Museum and it is at 900 meters Walking Distance from Main Station Santa Maria Novella. So it is Very Easy get the right way to come to Black 5. Actually We do not know how you have used your GPS.... Our Guests have never ever had any problem to find Us.

Also You have reserved our Most Beautiful Room " The Junior Suite" that is a 40 square meters Room with whirlpool , Amazing view by the Florence historical center and Lounge Space, Also you have payed 141.00 € and Not 156.00 as you have say. We think that this rate is cheaper compared to other property and compared the Level and Quality of the Room where you have been .

Also , most of other bed and breakfast does not accept Guest later that 8 pm and you have got your check in later than Midnight ! We inform you that you are be able to book your room at any time during the day and the night but your check in should be early than 6 pm.
Waiting For your next stay in Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

It was own first trip in Florence... What a beautiful place! Incredible! You have to keep opened your eyes all the day!!!
Our friends had warned that the city is beautiful.
So we decided to take a nice room ... and we filled BLACK5! Full service, discreet, gated and especially ideally located in the heart of the city.
However, watch out for evenings of performances in the theater on the ground floor of the residence ... it can be noisy when the band plays rock and roll!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room decorated in cool design and ideally situated for an acceptable price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEROME C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I was generally extremely disappointed with our stay at Black 5 having booked it 6 months before a family trip with my husband and his parents and being under the impression that it was a boutique style accommodation. When we turned up I was mortified to see graffiti on the front door to the building and then when we were buzzed in had to work our way through a security gate, two flights of stone stairs, and a lift to the top floor. My aged inlaws struggled with this and really not easy with lots of heavy luggage. The guy who met us to check in was very nice and polite but it is obvious that this place is generally non staffed once you are given your hefty bunch of keys to get in and out. The rooms themselves were small and basic albeit
with a smattering of 'designer' wallpaper and headboard fabric. The furniture was chipped and basic. The bathrooms were ok although our shower leaked horribly. The worst thing was the noise from the street late on Saturday night which went on from midnight until 4am....avoid room 6 at all costs if you like to go to bed early, we got no sleep whatsoever and I was very worried about the inlaws two rooms down.

I will say that the location is excellent only 5 to 10 mins walk from all sites and plentiful restaurants. But I would say this place is just a fancy youth hostel - don't take your wife there for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street facing guiseppe Verdi if you don't like noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
#183 of 410 in Florence
323 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 410 in Florence
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,350 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,952 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black 5 Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black 5 Florence

Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 5, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $70 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black 5 Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black 5 Florence Suite is a Charming Bed and Breakfast located in the Santa Croce Area of Florence's historical centre. It offers, Free WiFi, Free Minibar with Mineral Water, Air-Conditioned rooms, hairdryer and private Bathroom. Breakfast is settled in Your Room complimentary. Rooms are decorated in different styles and colours to provide a cosy atmosphere and different experiences. The Black 5 Florence Suite is located less than 5 minutes walking away the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Wellness Center is at 500 mt walking distance from Black 5 Florence and is available if you book it in advance. All Rooms are, with ensuite bathroom, whirlpool bath or shower, hairdryer, large and bright windows. They all look onto the central Via Verdi. They are equipped with Free WiFi, air conditioning, Free Minibar with Mineral Water, TV, Safe, Antiallergic Mattresses, Double pillows and bed linen in pure Egyptian cotton.Breakfast settled in Your Room consist of: Coffee or Tea, Milk, Brioches, Muesli,Crisp Bread, Butter, Jam, Honey, Yogurt, Orange Juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Black 5 Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black 5 Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing